Getting to know you, getting to know all about you

31 Mar

I have a lot of new readers (hello, friends!) so I thought I’d be lazy do a fairly in-depth meme:

LAYER ONE:

  • Name: Nora
  • Birthdate: September 29th, 1983
  • Birthplace: Ridegewood, New Jersey
  • Current location: StL, MidWest
  • Eye color: Brown
  • Hair color: Black or dark brown, depending on the month
  • Height: 5’9
  • Righty or lefty: right
  • Zodiac sign: Libra

LAYER TWO:

  • Your heritage: Italian/English
  • The shoes you wore today: Chinese Laundry leopard print heels
  • Your weakness: Irish’s cologne, Jack when he’s cuddly, anything chocolate or cheese (not together) and rainy days
  • Your fears: Loneliness
  • Your perfect pizza: New York style with black & green olives, extra cheese
  • Goal you’d like to achieve: running a half-marathon in 2010

LAYER THREE:

  • Your most overused phrase on AIM: haven’t used it since college but probably “brb” or “lol.”
  • Your first waking thoughts: Must. Hit. Snooze.Button.
  • Your best physical feature: arms/abs
  • Your most missed memory: Poppy, my grandfather

LAYER FOUR:

  • Pepsi or Coke: Dr. Pepper
  • McDonald’s or Burger King: No thank you.
  • Single or group dates: Love double dates or group dates, but sometimes all you need and want is a single date
  • Adidas or Nike: Aasics but currently Adidas since I couldn’t find a good pair of Aasics
  • Lipton Ice Tea or Nestea: Peppermint Tea from Celestial Seasonings, warm, not cold
  • Chocolate or vanilla: Both
  • Cappuccino or coffee: water

LAYER FIVE:

  • Smoke: Once, after high school graduation
  • Cuss: Like a sailor when it fits
  • Sing: in the car preferably alone
  • Take a shower everyday: six days a week (after workouts)
  • Do you think you’ve been in love: I am IN love
  • Want to go to college: Did my undergrad and working on my Masters. After this, I think I’m done.
  • Liked high school: Enough
  • Want to get married: Yup
  • Believe in yourself: 90% of the time
  • Get motion sickness: Only in the backseat of cars
  • Think you’re attractive: I struggle with this one
  • Think you’re a health freak: I can be. Need to get back to it.
  • Get along with your parent(s): Most definitely. They are awesome!
  • Like thunderstorms: YES. I’m a rain freak.
  • Play an instrument: Used to play the piano, flute and piccolo. Not so much now. Would like to relearn the piano again before I’m 30.

LAYER SIX: In the past month…

  • Drank alcohol: Yup, enjoyed some wine at Trivia Night on Saturday
  • Smoked: Not a chance
  • Done a drug: Allergy meds, advil
  • Made out: Yes, of course
  • Gone on a date: Yup, Irish treats to me a good date every other week
  • Gone to the mall: On Saturday!
  • Eaten an entire box of Oreos: No, but I could if I wanted to
  • Eaten sushi: Nope, allergic. But I’ve watched people eat it
  • Been on stage: No
  • Been dumped: Thank goodness, no
  • Gone skating: No but watched people skate 
  • Made homemade cookies: Yup. Love ’em.
  • Gone skinny dipping: Way too cold in StL for that.
  • Dyed your hair: No but I need to. Roots are showing.
  • Stolen Anything: No.

LAYER SEVEN: Ever…

  • Played a game that required removal of clothing: Yes.
  • Been trashed or extremely intoxicated: Back in the college days.
  • Been caught “doing something”: I have no idea what this means, so I’m going with NO.
  • Been called a tease: Never.
  • Gotten beaten up: No.
  • Shoplifted: Nope.
  • Changed who you were to fit in: I will admit it- yes.

LAYER EIGHT:

  • Age you hope to be married: Before 28.
  • Numbers and names of children: yet to be determined.
  • Describe your dream wedding: Really? I have a few versions. So the first one: “Elope,” to NYC City Hall with the man I wish to marry, his family, my family and a best friend on both sides. A weekend celebration with the families before we ship off for a honeymoon. Upon our return a huge ceremony in the StL for all our friends and family who wasn’t at the “eloping.”
  • How do you want to die: In my sleep.
  • Where you want to go to college: Already did. Mizzou & Webster University
  • What do you want to be when you grow up: Happy and to look like Sophia Loren.
  • What country would you most like to visit: Italy

LAYER NINE:

  • Number of drugs taken illegally: never touched one.
  • Number of people I could trust with my life: I can count them on one hand
  • Number of CDs that I own: At least 120.
  • Number of piercings: Seven
  • Number of tattoos: None
  • Number of times my name has appeared in the newspaper: Four or five? As captions when I did pseduo-modeling.
  • Number of scars on my body: Three little ones from my appendix surgery
  • Number of things in my past that I regret: Giving up ballet dancing.

What is one thing I don’t know about you?

16 Responses to “Getting to know you, getting to know all about you”

  1. somewhat voluble March 31, 2009 at 7:34 am #

    I’m 5’1″ and my husband is 6’1″. Most people are taller than me (including my younger siblings). That’s something a lot of people wouldn’t know just by reading my blog. :)

  2. MissMusing March 31, 2009 at 7:37 am #

    This is a good meme :) It’s always nice to get to ‘know’ my favorite bloggers a bit better! I have the same regret. I gave up ballet in college b/c it was too much of a time commitment. I still dance on occasion, but I’m amazed at how quickly those skills were lost.

  3. mandy March 31, 2009 at 7:44 am #

    I think some people would be surprised by some the answers I would give on this meme. whats one thing that most people don’t know about me? I have a tattoo of a ladybug on some flowers between my shoulder blades. My mom helped me pick it out, I chose a ladybug because they are often symbolize good luck and I needed some of that at that point in my life.

  4. Liz March 31, 2009 at 7:55 am #

    pseudo-modeling? I didn’t know that!

  5. Lily March 31, 2009 at 8:36 am #

    oohhhh leopard print heels!

  6. Amber March 31, 2009 at 9:03 am #

    That was a fun survey! I’m a September baby too :-) I have Asics Kayano’s 14’s and I LOVE them!

  7. andhari March 31, 2009 at 9:16 am #

    This is such a fun survey..I had no idea you’re 5’9″ I must be a midget to you :p

  8. lucklys March 31, 2009 at 9:18 am #

    you’re such a cool person, i would love to meet you!

    7 piercings? really? i only have 6…i better pick up the slack, haha

  9. kristen March 31, 2009 at 9:22 am #

    Wow! You’re so tall!

  10. brookem March 31, 2009 at 9:40 am #

    fun meme! these little buggers are a good way to learn stuff we wouldn’t normally think to blog about! :)

  11. Irish March 31, 2009 at 10:11 am #

    Tall and HOT!

  12. Little Fish March 31, 2009 at 11:45 am #

    This is just more proof that all the best girls were born in Jersey :)

    Also, can you define “pseduo-modeling”

  13. Tabitha March 31, 2009 at 12:18 pm #

    First of all — Yes, you can totally steal any/all wedding ideas, since most of mine are probably stolen, anyway.

    Cheese and chocolate? Yes and yes. My two favorite things.

    And one thing you don’t know about me? I played flute/piccolo too! And I would LOVE to learn piano.

  14. butterflycharlie March 31, 2009 at 1:40 pm #

    Oohh i used to get motion/travel sickness real bad when i was younger. I was always the kid on the school trips who had to sit near the front on the coach in case i threw up everywhere. Which, ya know, occasionally i might have done…!

  15. Kelly March 31, 2009 at 8:18 pm #

    Hahaha I like Irish’s comment!

    I gave up ballet too! Mostly because I was too short and…erm…went through puberty thus making me look less swan like and more hooker-ish in the outfits. ha-ha

    I miss dancing so, so much though!

    Thanks for the words of encouragement (for e-mailing my Boss about the promotion) — I got a “relax, we will talk about it tomorrow.” We shall see. Hopefully he doesn’t just try to convince me to do it anyway…Have a good Wednesday!

  16. sleepyjane April 7, 2009 at 2:15 am #

    This is fun!!

    I like rain too. I wish it would rain here! We haven’t had nearly enough.

    Best thing ever? Waking up to a thunderstorm on a Sunday. Bliss!

Leave a Reply

