Without my wisdom… teeth

2 Apr

Fourth surgery down.
Hopefully no more to go.

For all the hype and nervousness about this surgery it has so far gone much better than I ever could have expected. My wisdom teeth were not impacted so the entire experience from prepping me to waking up was about 30 minutes. Add another 20 of resting in the lovely recovery room (I wanted to take one of the leather recliners home with me) and the whole thing was done in less than an hour.

My face is not nearly as swollen as I expected; in fact I think it only looks swollen because of the lovely gauze I have shoved in my mouth.

I am not saying it’s been a pleasant experience considering the anesthesia has yet to leave my system and I’ve taken the pain pills to keep the reality of the ouchiness at bay, so I’m wandering around in a bit of a fog, slightly dazed and confused if you will.

Irish came over tonight with Dreamsicles, a cute Tiger stuffed animal and individual bouquets of flowers for myself, my mom and my dad.

The best part about this surgery is that I’m not allowed to do anything for about 48 hours so I’m watching movies, catching up on blogs and playing around on the internet. (Sadly my brain isn’t working well enough to let me read, or maybe it’s the fact that I’m in the mood to fall asleep at a moments notice. Either way.)

*******************************
Additionally, I can’t thank all of you enough for the amazing support, kind words, prayers, poems, offers and sympathy you offered up with regards to yesterday’s post. Bear is now in Dog Heaven and while the day was certainly hard for all of us, we know he’s in a better place and much, much happier. I was able to spend time with him today, feeding him my milk shake and kissing him numerous times on his head before I retreated to my room. 

Fortunately we were able to do the procedure at our home where he was most comfortable, surrounded by my parents (I chose not to be in there. Crying & gauze & wisdom tooth surgery don’t mix), the other dogs, and our love. After the vet took him away which I foolishly watched from my window inducing the crying I had hoped to avoid, my parents and I hugged, shared memories and even attempted to crack a few jokes. I really don’t think I could have reacted so sanely to the whole procedure if I didn’t have this blog as my outlet, fantastic blog friends, and the support of several of my IRL (in real life) friends. Many hugs and love to all of you.

***************************
And in the spirit of me continuing the GiST, a few happy things despite all the angst and sadness:

* A mobile vet who is literally an angel. She hugged Darling and patted my father’s hand before she left.

* Irish for being supportive, caring, and there to stroke my hair during my moments of sadness and darn jaw pain.

* Netflix streaming online movies/TV.

* Gauze. Enough said.

* Darling and my father for playing nurse to me for the next few days.

* A day off of work; I’m working from home but it’s so much cooler when you can work in your sweatpants!

12 Responses to “Without my wisdom… teeth”

  1. Amber April 2, 2009 at 11:24 pm #

    Once again, I’m SO sorry about your dog. At least he had a long, full life!

    Getting my wisdom teeth out was the only operation I ever had. My advice would be to take it really slow. I remember I got them taken out right in the middle of a semester (stupid) so I had midterms and assignments piled up, and I tried to go back to work (serving) three days after I got them taken out and had to go home halfway through my shift I was in so much pain. I would feel great for awhile and then all of a sudden the pain would set in and I’d feel super dizzy. My one tooth was really deep though and it used to give me insane migraines before I got it out so it’s definitely been a GOOD thing to have them out. The first two weeks or so afterwards really sucked though!

    Anyways, hope you’re feeling better soon! Irish is SO sweet :-)

  2. andhari April 2, 2009 at 11:32 pm #

    I think I start to grow my wisdom tooth and it’s painful and I might have to do this soon.

    Irish is sooo great for being there for you and all :) I hope you feel better soon.

  3. Cassie April 3, 2009 at 2:38 am #

    News of animal death makes me weepy. And the pregnancy hormones do NOT help. Poor Bear. He has to be in rawhide heaven now. I will be a blubbering mess when its time to let my dog go. :(

    I hope you feel better.

  4. anne April 3, 2009 at 7:19 am #

    Oh Lea I’m so sorry about Bear- sending hugs to you and your family. It’s so touching and thoughtful to give him his last day at home instead of a vet clinic. I didn’t know that was an option-

    Glad to hear your surgery went well- ice, ice, ice. Oh and “Big Love” could be an excellent way to fill your time. I am still sick and have watched more episodes than I’m willing to admit.

    Sending get well wishes your way and lots of hugs for Bear…..

  5. SoMi's Nilsa April 3, 2009 at 7:46 am #

    Let the healing (on all levels) begin.

  6. RWick April 3, 2009 at 9:11 am #

    Bear was such a great dog. He always welcomed me when I stopped by. I think he could smell Emma which put him in a doggie trance. I cannot fathom the loss and hope you and your family are coping. I also believe in doggie heaven and he is certainly a part of it. Please let me know if I can do anything (with coping or surgery) as I am only a stones throw away. I do know that you have Irish and your mom to take care of you….who could ask for more??????

  7. MissMusing April 3, 2009 at 9:24 am #

    Sending lots of healing thoughts your way <3

  8. Alesia April 3, 2009 at 10:08 am #

    I’m so glad it went well for you. And nice that you are now forced to lay back and accept being ministered to!

  9. ria April 3, 2009 at 1:55 pm #

    when i got my wisdom teeth pulled they put me under too and it was as nice as it possibly could be. i don’t remember the days following thanks to a good drug induced haze :)

  10. mandy April 3, 2009 at 3:54 pm #

    I am glad that your surgery went well. Enjoy the drug induced haze and the excuse to take naps whenever you want. Have a fantastic time watching movies and a great weekend Nora.

  11. AuburnKat April 3, 2009 at 6:28 pm #

    YUCK!

    I’ve had so many teeth pulled, 10+…thankfully they were all exposed!

  12. Larissa April 4, 2009 at 4:07 pm #

    4 surgeries? yikes. hopefully no more for a long time *knocks on wood*

    im keeping you and your family in my thoughts. I know its quite hard, but soon it will get easier. Very nice of irish to be there for you.

    working from home sounds lovely…gosh I wish my job would let me do that once in awhile ;D

    have a lovely weekend…hopefully your mouth is starting to feel better :D

Leave a Reply

