Downtime

4 Apr

Since 3pm on Thursday I’ve been beautifully dressed in sweats, yoga pants and Hanes white t-shirts for men. I’ve been surrounded by bottles of water, ice packs and medicine bottles. (Post-surgery is the only time in my life that I say “yes,” to drugs.)

Since then:

* I have managed to finish the entire first season of 30 Rock, How to Steal a Million, The Deal and Enchanted all via NetFlix as well as eliminate some really crappy movies I had on my queue.

* Worked from the comfort of my bed.

* Taken three naps with Jack.

* Watched Twilight with my mom.

* Had three milkshakes, the best one from Dairy Queen.

* Attempted to eat scrambled eggs and mashed potatoes with limited success. So far the easy and safe foods are dreamsicles, pudding and Laughing Cow cheese.

* Lost two pounds in two days due to aformentioned diet.

* Played three hours of Wii, from the couch, with Irish.

* Enjoyed many free games on MSN.com

* Talked to Darling about countless things: learning how to knit, new recipes I want to try, post-apartment lease plans, cleaning and more

* Found out that I’m indeed going to New Orleans in July for work; Irish gets to come too!

* Discussing a trip to NYC with my parents and Irish to attend the Grand Opening of my Godfather’s restaurant which prompted lots of day dreaming about things I want to do in NYC

* Decided that I will take Jack for a special dog-grooming next week

* Went from taking pain killers every four hours to every six hours which means I can go to work Monday without being in a complete fog

* Day dreamed about the food I wish I could eat including things like: pizza, mozzerella cheese sticks, nachos, Turkey sandwich and even chips

* Made mental plans for a new workout plan and healthful eating plan to commence once I’m all healed, none of which include the foods I’m day dreaming about.

* Been incredibly thankful for computers, internet, my family, Irish and my friends who have kept me entertained and helped me out the last few days

13 Responses to “Downtime”

  1. andhari April 5, 2009 at 1:14 am #

    Wowww but it looks pretty relaxing with bed and movies.. Don’t worry you’ll get better in nooo time,and maybe you can squeeze in a slice of cheese pizza although you’re making all those work out plans too :)

  2. nova April 5, 2009 at 5:18 am #

    Ooohhh.. when’s the grand opening of the restaurant?

    Sending you healing hugs!

  3. Amber April 5, 2009 at 10:40 am #

    Dairy Queen does make the BEST milkshakes, don’t they!!?

    Glad to hear you’re starting to feel better :-)

  4. Snarl April 5, 2009 at 2:20 pm #

    What the hell? No one told me about a trip to New York City.

  5. AuburnKat April 5, 2009 at 4:54 pm #

    I can’t say I’ve ever had a milkshake from DQ before!

    Glad to hear that you are starting to feel better!

  6. mandy April 5, 2009 at 9:24 pm #

    Such fun trip you have to look forward to! I didn’t even know DQ had milkshakes. I’ve lost countless hours of my life to the Wii, and I don’t even own one. Sounds like a great weekend.

  7. Larissa April 5, 2009 at 9:40 pm #

    mmm…i love mens t-shirts! lol! all of this sounds lovely dear. I’m glad you’re feeling much better post surgery. milkshakes sound so good! (runs off to make one)…hope you had a lovely weekend!! <3

  8. Krys April 5, 2009 at 9:43 pm #

    Wow!! You actually make me WANT to go through with the surgery!!! This sounds like a fun few days (well, minus the pain and suffering!)

  9. SSG April 6, 2009 at 4:17 am #

    woah so positive and so many great things to look forward to! Hope you get better soon and back to enjoying life to the full!

  10. MissMusing April 6, 2009 at 11:14 am #

    I’m glad to hear that you’re recovery quickly and making the most out of your downtime. I had to laugh at the idea of playing Wii in bed because I’ve done that when I was sick and it was fun!

  11. SoMi's Nilsa April 6, 2009 at 11:18 am #

    Sounds like you’re on a healthy road to recovery. Yay.

  12. lucklys April 6, 2009 at 2:22 pm #

    i’ve been MIA all weekend due to family visiting, but you should definitely come to new york! and i’m glad you’re feeling better and are able to eat solid foods again :)

  13. E.P. April 8, 2009 at 2:19 pm #

    Post-surgery is the only time I say yes to drugs, too. It sounds like it was a good relaxing time, though I know not being able to eat real food is aggravating. (I couldn’t eat real food for a week or so after the surgery. I was SO sad. But the drugs knocked me out sufficiently…)

    I hope you’re feeling a lot better!

Leave a Reply

