The Aftermath

6 Apr

(Thanks again to all of you for your lovely thoughts, support and get well wishes on all accounts the last several days. My family and I are still struggling but we will get through!)

I’m back to work today.

I wish I could say everything is going smoothly but in fact life without pain killers just plain sucks. Dealing with idiotic coworkers on top of pain and lack of food, which translates into lack of energy is doubly sucktastic. (The pain killers I have are so fabulous that basic social functions are near impossible so forget driving, working, being professional.)

Life without real food?  Totally stinks.

Sure the first few days of pudding, jello, dreamsicles and mashed potatoes sounds appealing but after three days? Um, someone pass the bread, or cheese or chicken. I’m Italian and I love real food. I’m not afraid to admit.

I will take the weight loss (three pounds and counting) since it gives me an edge and leg-up as to where I want to be. I’ll even take the hugs from my parents and Irish because who doesn’t love hugs?

But the rest of it I’m ready to leave. I’m an impatient patient. I want to be at the gym, I want regular dinners (I’m craving broccoloi.), I want my regular social life back, my energy to return and no more pain!

I wish I had a more exciting, upbeat, positive outlook for this snowy, cold, blustery morning. And yes, I said SNOW. It’s April and we have dustings of snow.

So in order to not be a total debbie-downer, please leave a comment with one happy thing you enjoyed over the weekend.

My top three happy things: Going to the grocery store with Irish yesterday (domestic things make me happy), starting over with Season One of Friends, the fact that Darling texts.

21 Responses to “The Aftermath”

  1. Alesia April 6, 2009 at 11:49 am #

    I’m glad Darling texts, too. I have to say my mother can barely work her microwave. (Um, confession time: I’ve never sent a text. But I have received a couple!)

    My happy thing: This weekend, Patrick told T. and me, “Rowan is my BOYfriend, and Pearl is my GIRLfriend.” Equal opportunity.

  2. kristen April 6, 2009 at 12:06 pm #

    Aw, poor thing. Happy I enjoyed this weekend? Homemade bread with herbed butter at a friend’s going away party. Also, packing for vacation…leaving tomorrow!

  3. Chère April 6, 2009 at 12:19 pm #

    My happy thing was breaking out all my spring and summer skirts and sandals and eating popsicles :)

  4. Amber April 6, 2009 at 12:22 pm #

    Oh no, I’m sorry to hear your in pain. Painkillers are pretty much a MUST for the first week or so!!

    Domestic things make me happy too, nothing feels better than having a completely spotless apartment :-) I’m still on a high over my new blackberry, seriously, I don’t know what I did before I had this thing!!

  5. SoMi's Nilsa April 6, 2009 at 12:24 pm #

    Your body needs the time to heal. Be kind to it. Don’t push it too quickly. And soon enough, you’ll be ready to plant big wet sloppy kisses on everyone you know!

  6. somewhat voluble April 6, 2009 at 12:25 pm #

    I hope you feel better soon so that you can eat some real food. Also? This weather sucks.

    Saturday was such a nice, warm day. It was great, being able to sit in the warmth of the sun. That’s my happy for the weekend. :)

  7. Tabitha April 6, 2009 at 1:08 pm #

    1. Birthday brunch at a little Pancake place in a Danish town nearby.
    2. Snuggling with my man while watching The Office and taking turns doing loads of laundry.
    3. Wearing a DRESS because it was finally warm enough this weekend.

    Three happy things for ya!

  8. mandy April 6, 2009 at 1:53 pm #

    I enjoy real food too.

    Happy things from the weekend:
    1) Being able to enjoy Saturday afternoon outside and surrounded by beautiful flowers.
    2) QVC Beauty Bash
    3) Coming home to my dog who was so excited to see me home she cried and wouldnt leave my side for the rest of the evening.

  9. butterflycharlie April 6, 2009 at 2:31 pm #

    my happy thing? Being nominated for 4 Sony Radio Awards for one of the shows I make!!

  10. lucklys April 6, 2009 at 2:50 pm #

    my dad and younger brother came to stay with j and i thursday through today. it was a lot of fun, stressful, and overall lovely to see them again. it was my dad’s first time in new york and we couldn’t fit in all he wanted to do despite being out EVERY DAY all day. we were pretty much the only ones out on friday while it was pouring. i’ve never seen new york that empty, but neither have i been walking through the city during a thunderstorm, and it was magical to hear the thunder rolling off the buildings.

    as much as i enjoy my alone-time, i miss my dad and brother already and they just left.

  11. Little Fish April 6, 2009 at 3:56 pm #

    1. Yesterday the weather in NYC was incredible
    2. Saturday my parents and I went to the new Broadway revival of West Side Story which was amazing!
    3. After the theater we went to dinner at my favorite restaurant! (When you can eat real food again I’ll tell you what I had, but right now that just seems cruel!

    BTW- you have to let me know what your Godfathers restaurant is called and where its going to be so I can check it out.

  12. AuburnKat April 6, 2009 at 7:11 pm #

    One happy thing about my wknd – was able to sleep in Saturday morning and at one point had all three of my cats sleeping with me=)

  13. Christina April 6, 2009 at 8:03 pm #

    I will sure help you out Friend:

    1) Watching Role Models – cracked me up after working through a tough weekend.

    2) Getting my car fixed by my boyfriend and his dad. No more rattling noises, new shocks, and a hole in my muffler is no longer there.

    3) Talking to mom and catching up with her. I miss her indeed.

    PS – I’m in Chicago, and we ended up with 4 feet of snow last night… This weather is killing me.

  14. sleepyjane April 7, 2009 at 2:18 am #

    Weight loss?? I need to get my wisdoms removed… ;)

    One happy thing? Mmm. Staying in on Saturday and watching movies with J and cuddling with the pups.

  15. Krys April 7, 2009 at 1:34 pm #

    Happy Things!

    1. Spent Sunday doing arts and crafts with my Goddaughter!

    2. Went to an awesome concert on Saturday night with friends!

    3. Watched the sunset over downtown San Antonio with my dog!

    Hope you get ALL BETTER REALLY SOON!

  16. Kyla Roma April 7, 2009 at 2:15 pm #

    Take your time Miss, this stuff is so hard.

    One of my family’s dogs was just euthanized last week too – and it’s just…. it’s very odd. And I can’t imagine that being all wonky from the drugs could have been helping you deal with it.

    Take your time, and give lots of loves to the other puppies in your life – and know that you guys made a compassionate, albeit terribly hard choice.

  17. brookem April 7, 2009 at 2:40 pm #

    hope that you are feeling better soon, cookie!

  18. oh April 7, 2009 at 8:52 pm #

    Your commenters are ALL so lovely and funny and taking good care of you! and have a lot of wisdom to offer, as in, take your time to heal.
    As for me, I’ll text you later!!!
    Darling

  19. ria April 8, 2009 at 6:28 am #

    hope everything is starting to go back to normal. life without real food totally does suck ;)

  20. andhari April 8, 2009 at 8:47 am #

    Lounging around with popcorn and movies, going out dancing with friends, sleep until noon, eat cookies with brother :D

  21. E.P. April 8, 2009 at 1:52 pm #

    *hugs* I hope you’re back to eating real food now because not having that is so tough. But while you’re still kind of laid up, take it easy and don’t let other people stress you out (specifically co-workers.)

Leave a Reply

