Still

9 Apr

(an original Nora post today. This may look like a meme but it’s straight from my brain.)

I still…

… sleep with some sort of cuddly thing when I’m alone. Sweatshirt, pillow, ugly ghost.

… worry excessively about things I can’t control even though I know I can’t control them.

… wish I had Sarah Jessica Parker’s body frame.

… cry every time I watch the last episode of Sex and the City. And yes, I’ve seen it at least ten times.

… crave popcorn and M&Ms in the same handful when I’m at the movies thanks to a learned behavior in college.

… wish on shooting stars, fallen eyelashes and 11:11 (only if I notice it’s the time).

… delete pictures I don’t think I look cute enough it.

… struggle with my personal fashion from time to time.

… have a hard time throwing away presents from my parents even if it’s old, doesn’t fit or not “me.” So I save them.

… contemplate permanently deleting my Facebook profile.

… love chocolate more than I should.

… hope to start a positive community effort/organization before I’m 40.

… struggle with certain parts of the IT world.

… need more cookbooks, kitchen supplies and spices.

… have an unparalleled love for Mexican and Italian food.

… would like to live in NYC for a period of time.

… feel unpopular or ugly. I thought that was only a high school thing?

… find a way to the silver lining in all situations.

… try to be nice to everyone I meet, no matter how hard it can be.

… get frustrated when I don’t understand.

… care about the number of hits my blog receives, comments I get and occasionally get struck with Blogger Envy.

… miss being on a college campus (at times).

… hug my parents.

… own a library card.

… read real books, you know, the ink and paper kind.

… notice the small things; not as much as I should, but I notice them.

What is do you still…?

19 Responses to “Still”

  1. mandy April 9, 2009 at 7:22 am #

    I LOVE posts like this. With the exception of the library card, I still do most of these. Other things I still do…

    talk in a baby voice to my dog.

    slightly swoon when any Barry Manilow song plays somewhere randomly.

    take self portraits with my friend when we’re doing incredibly mundane things like grocery shopping.

  2. SoMi's Nilsa April 9, 2009 at 7:55 am #

    A while ago, I stopped worrying about the number of comments I was receiving. Instead, I chose to focus on building strong ties with my favorite readers. It’s much more fulfilling to know I can have an offline conversation with one of many readers than it is to see some statistic.

  3. Alesia April 9, 2009 at 8:10 am #

    I now wish I had the pictures I threw out when I was younger because I thought I looked fat or not cute. I also contemplate deleting my facebook account (and my blog).

    I still turn off the radio on a positive word (a habit I started after seeing Spaulding Gray’s Swimming to Cambodia).

  4. caterpillar85 April 9, 2009 at 8:26 am #

    awww i love this post :) i have been crazy busy and out of town lately but wanted to say hi! i received your card and present & loved it! i’m so glad i found you too!

  5. somewhat voluble April 9, 2009 at 8:35 am #

    I love chocolate way too much.

  6. kimberly April 9, 2009 at 8:44 am #

    I still love reading children’s books, have to do my makeup before getting dressed, and love thunderstorms.

  7. lucklys April 9, 2009 at 9:12 am #

    before the time changes, i had to tell you it’s 11:11 here and i just noticed it after reading your little bit on it!

  8. Liz April 9, 2009 at 9:15 am #

    Social media keeps me employed so I won’t delete mine. I’m still afraid of the dark and scary movies.

  9. lucklys April 9, 2009 at 9:15 am #

    drat. your blog changed the time to a minute ahead. anyway, it was still 11:11 here, so i’m counting it.

    i don’t like to throw away gifts from my parents either, but i also don’t throw away birthday and christmas cards from them. i have a box full. i think i’m unhealthily obsessed with inanimate objects.

    i also would like more stuff for my kitchen. i want to make good food!

    mexican and italian food are gifts from the gods.

  10. Amber April 9, 2009 at 11:27 am #

    I love this! I completely agree with almost all of this list. I always cry during the last episode of SATC and Friends. I miss being on a college campus all the time and always want to delete pictures of myself that aren’t cute. (Confession: sometimes I do it w/out asking from friends computers. Oops.)

  11. Kelly April 9, 2009 at 12:36 pm #

    I miss being on campus, and being able to take naps after class. I still sleep with my child-hood blanket. It’s folded up in my pillow-case to try and reduce anymore wear and tear. :]

  12. andhari April 9, 2009 at 1:32 pm #

    I’m a bit obsessive with my blog hits and comments. Yikes, right? And I experience all those high school identity crisis, you’re not alone *hug*

  13. kylaroma April 9, 2009 at 3:49 pm #

    I’ve never in my life seen that last episode of Sex and the City – I need to get on that!

    Great post, you’re so heartfelt, you make me happy – as always = )

    Happy long weekend!

  14. AuburnKat April 9, 2009 at 6:42 pm #

    I do a lot of the samethings! Don’t feel bad at all=)

  15. Page April 9, 2009 at 7:37 pm #

    I still think that true love is possible. :) And that I may have found it.

  16. Amber April 9, 2009 at 9:35 pm #

    I LOVE m&ms and popcorn at the movies and crave it EVERY time I go.

    I also get blogger envy sometimes! I hate feeling that way because I know blogging is for ME, but I can’t help it!

  17. Lily April 12, 2009 at 6:09 pm #

    I also cry EVERY time I watch the SATC finale (ok, so the last few episodes in general, let’s be honest), and I also still wish on everything you’re supposed to wish on- stars, dandelions, 1111, etc…

  18. Little Fish April 13, 2009 at 9:22 am #

    I still sleep with the blanket I’ve had since I was four. I also wish on eyelashes and 11:11.

  19. E.P. April 13, 2009 at 11:00 pm #

    Oh, I love this. I still wish on shooting stars, fallen eyelashes and 11:11, too.

Leave a Reply

