Foodie Friday

10 Apr

For the last month a new recipe has been staring at me from the back of the C&H Pure Cane Sugar box just begging me to make it: Utterly Peanut Buttery Bars.

I’ll admit I’m not a huge fan of peanut butter baked goods but this one just sounded too dreamy to pass up and since this is the first time I’ve baked in awhile Irish & I took the time to document (sort of) the process and final outcome to share with the blogosphere.

Ingredients you will need

Crust:
1/2 cup soft butter (1 stick)
1/2 cup peanut butter (smooth or chunky. I chose organic smooth peanut butter; to me it tastes much better.)
1 1/2 cups Granulated Sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

Filling:
2 eggs
2 tablespoons peanut butter
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar

Preheat oven to 375 degrees

img_3259

Time to get started!

To prepare the crust:
* In medium bowl mix butter, peanut butter and sugar until well blended.

img_3251

* Stir in vanilla and mix well.
* Add flour gradually until the mixture is crumbly.

img_3252
* Reserve about 1 cup of the crust mixture for later.
* Press the remaining crust mixture into the bottom of a lightly greased 9 x 13 baking pan.

img_3255

Onto the filling:
* Beat eggs, 2 tablespoons peanut butter and both kinds of sugar together (mixture will be runny)
* Spread over unbaked crust.

img_3257
* Sprinkle with reserved crust mixture

img_3258
Bake approximately 20 minutes or until set and top is golden.
img_3260

Of course no kitchen adventure is complete without Jack sniffing around the oven for crumbs:

img_3256

Or Irish making his dinner:

img_3249

… which eventually turned into this:

img_3263(a mexican Hamburger Helper Delight. I tried a tiny bit… surprisingly not that bad!)

And now, back to the topic at hand: dessert!

img_3264
Optional/Variation: Sprinkle with milk chocolate or semi-sweet chocolate chips immediately after removing from the oven. The result? A delicious peanut butter cup bar dessert!

The recipe says to cool in pan and then cut into bars; I cooled the bars for two hours  and then refrigerated the pan overnight. They are a perfect blend of chewy/crumbly goodness.

Cut into one inch squares and serve with a large glass of ice cold milk.

Enjoy!

(Photos by Irish & Nora)

20 Responses to “Foodie Friday”

  1. SoMi's Nilsa April 10, 2009 at 7:24 am #

    I love all things peanut butter. It doesn’t count as a sweet, right? Though, I’m pretty sure that crust is all things sweet. Drat! Oh well, guess I’ll have to settle for Irish’s Hamburger Helper (Sweets adds cheese to everything, so I’m quite sure he’d like it, too!).

  2. caterpillar85 April 10, 2009 at 7:28 am #

    mmm sounds delicious! :) have a wonderful weekend hun!

  3. somewhat voluble April 10, 2009 at 7:39 am #

    Mmm, those look good. I’ll have to try them sometime.

  4. lucklys April 10, 2009 at 7:43 am #

    haha, this was great! i love the step by step with pictures. that cheesy macaroni thingy irish was making made my mouth water…and then the peanut butter…oh so yummy.

    have a great weekend with your snacks!

  5. kimberly April 10, 2009 at 7:44 am #

    Looks Yummy!

  6. Jennifer April 10, 2009 at 7:46 am #

    This looks delicious! I love peanut butter anything & everything!

  7. Kate April 10, 2009 at 8:06 am #

    you cannot go wrong w/ pb-got my attention! YUM-O.

  8. Gigi April 10, 2009 at 8:25 am #

    That looks so good! Love the pics, awesome post!

  9. Liz April 10, 2009 at 9:14 am #

    Yum! But I’m currently having a salty craving so Irish’s dinner looks divine to me right now. I heart Hamburger Helper.

  10. mandy April 10, 2009 at 9:18 am #

    I just printed this recipe out.It will be made within the next few days. Looks simply delicious (as does Irish’s dinner.)

  11. Tabitha April 10, 2009 at 10:38 am #

    Oooooh that looks good. I love peanut butter. I made pb fudge, and it’s like, the EASIEST thing ever. And delightful. And I get to use marshmallow fluff.

    Also? I think my tastebuds are MORE excited about the Hamburger Helper picture right now. Gah, I want something savory! :-P

    Happy Friday!

  12. Kelly April 10, 2009 at 12:15 pm #

    I am drooling on my keyboard. That looks super yummy! I love PB, but stupid WW practically forbids it.

  13. oh April 10, 2009 at 2:53 pm #

    This is so much fun! I love “seeing” the process. Looking forward to tasting them, cuz you’re bringing some on Easter, right?
    Irish’s dinner looks darn good, too!
    You two gonna do a cooking show?

  14. Amber April 11, 2009 at 12:29 am #

    Omg, all those food pics look SO delicious. I am now officially craving sweets thanks to you :P

  15. Larissa April 11, 2009 at 12:31 pm #

    i cant believe you posted this today! (im trying to avoid food like this…) now, i’m gonna have to go try it out…erm. hope you’re having a fabulous weekend…(ps- irish is cute! lol!)

  16. Kyla Roma April 11, 2009 at 8:35 pm #

    Aw you guys are so relentlessly cute! I love this tutorial – great work!

  17. AuburnKat April 13, 2009 at 6:26 pm #

    I saw the picture of Irish’s dinner and new it was Hamburger Helper before I saw the box! I used to make those thigns ALL the time!

    The dessert looks amazing!

  18. E.P. April 13, 2009 at 10:59 pm #

    That dessert looks and sounds amazing! I’m definitely going to have to give it a shot!

  19. sleepyjane April 15, 2009 at 2:15 am #

    I’m a fan of anything peanut butter!!

  20. ria April 15, 2009 at 6:29 am #

    mmmmmmmm i just drooled on my keyboard

Leave a Reply

