Mini Monday

13 Apr
  • I’m back on Facebook and frankly, my dears, I’m not loving it. No, I’m not talking the new layout or anything like that but I’m talking about feeling like I need to respond to people, to reconnect with folks I haven’t talked to in a long time and of course seeing info on people you just don’t want to hear/see about. It’s not that I don’t want to reconncect but it seems I’m the one always doing the reconnecting. Why can’t other people reach out to me? (I’m cleansing my friend list again). It was also, as I mentioned, a great social experiment. Some of my friends refuse to talk to me in any form BUT facebook. Others don’t email (oh, I wish they would. I know this is terrible but I am not a big phone person anymore). Others don’t do phone calls or email. I’m keeping it for now, I’m not going to obsess over it anymore, but I’m not sure I like it. It feels like another intrusion/interruption. And yes, I realize I can make it all go away with a click of a button.
  •  

  • Wedding season! Irish and I attended a lovely ceremony and reception Saturday afternoon for one of his long time buddies. The bridesmaid dresses were not pretty… at all. But the bride was amazingly gorgeous. I still don’t know why she’s not a model. It turns out I went to high school with her brother (it’s a small world after all, it’s a small, small world!). The reception was good boasting some pasta that I could indeed eat, albeit at the pace of someone with dentures, a decent DJ, yummy cake, and a full dance floor. Oh, and a photobooth! (I scanned the pictures in and they aren’t super fantastic, but thought you’d like to see anyway. In the third picture I have my head down as we thought we had gone through all four flashes already. It’s quite artistic so I’ll have to find a better way to share them with you. The fourth one is bad so I cropped it out. Editor’s rights!) Random Side Note: We only have one other reception and one other full wedding to attend for all of 2009 so far. I’m kind of excited about that… perhaps a little too excited.
  •  

  • Easter. Irish and I did a marathon day. My parents, then his. Food and dessert at both. I did manage to eat a little bit though my jaws/sockets/other teeth hate me today. I’m back on my mush diet for a few more days as per my doc’s orders.  Darling gave us both awesome, unexpected Easter baskets, my Gram only asked me twice what foods I’m allergic to (I’ve told her at least six times) and we all laughed a lot. At his folks house we watched the end of The Masters, made a fire, and then I tuned out the talk about politics (I have to keep my mouth firmly closed when there) until we called his sister who lives in Australia and talked to her for a few minutes. Now? I want to go to Australia.
  •  

  • The rest of the weekend: Wii, sleep, read. Walk Jack, grocery shop, drive to my house to pick up clothes I forgot for wedding and then on Sunday for the dessert I forgot to pick up on Saturday, questioned myself for being so forgetful lately, quality family time, quality Irish and Nora time, Tumblr time, enjoyed a day off, wished I had more days off, and stared at a few episodes of Friends Season Five before I drifted off to a blissful sleep while Mother Nature pounded StL with rain on Sunday evening.

for-my-blog-22

15 Responses to “Mini Monday”

  1. kylaroma April 13, 2009 at 3:24 pm #

    I love your tumblr – so cute! I was going to demand a link but I didn’t have to lol = )

    Your Easter sounds so lovely, I’m glad you guys had fun.

    Facebook is so interesting, isn’t it? I’m on it exactly for the same reason – I have a number of close friends who refuse to communicate any other way! It’s an interesting experiment to disconnect, but if it fills a real need in your life it’s better to be online.

    Happy Belated Easter!

  2. mandy April 13, 2009 at 5:05 pm #

    I need to do a massive facebook cleaning as well. Hahaha, I bet my grandma and great grandma would get along well with your grandma. The tumblr posts earlier today totally cheered me up!!

  3. AuburnKat April 13, 2009 at 6:27 pm #

    Love the pictures!

    Sounds like you had a wonderful Easter wknd!!!

    I have three wedding this summer, including my sisters. I’m hoping they are all fun!

  4. Kelly April 13, 2009 at 6:56 pm #

    dood! I so just added your tumblr to my dashboard. Awesomeness! I am glad you had a good Easter…it was pretty rainy here too in good old Tejas. My Grandparent’s made me wacth all 1800 hours of the Masters…golf…wow.

    I want to own a photobooth, but not just at my house – I want one out in public and then get to keep a copy of the cute ones to add to my tumblr. bahaha <– evil laugh

    Cute pics by the way :] Happy (end of) Monday!!

  5. Amber April 13, 2009 at 7:27 pm #

    Since getting into Twitter and blogging I’m really over facebook too. I hate the new look of it and all the applications. I only log on it about once or twice a day to check status updates, the only thing I still enjoy looking at, however most people I couldn’t care less about still!

    Cute pictures!

  6. andhari April 13, 2009 at 7:36 pm #

    I get like that too with facebook. So far I talk to friends im not really close with online better. I’m awkward at really callinr or making small talks when I make them.

    Happy belated easter :)

  7. oh April 13, 2009 at 8:05 pm #

    Posts like this inspire me to say you’re a damn good writer.
    Worry not. Those who know you, love you. How could they not? If you don’t communicate via FB, so what? Leave it to the Boomers who are turning it into a commercial see-and-do.
    Enjoy yourself. Eat carefully. Communicate meaningfully. Hug lots.

  8. E.P. April 13, 2009 at 10:23 pm #

    Happy belated Easter, lovely!

    Wedding season is my absolute favorite. It is SUCH a fun time, and you have a fantastic time figuring out what everyone else did and can get ideas for your future wedding. My boy always tells me that all girls are brides in training, and while I want to shake my head no, I’m definitely one. *shrugs* What can you do?

    I hope you had a wonderful weekend and that the week is going well for you!

  9. Snarl April 14, 2009 at 12:14 am #

    Fuck the doctor. Eat what you want!

  10. SSG April 14, 2009 at 3:00 am #

    I really love those photos, they are great!

  11. Liz April 14, 2009 at 8:25 am #

    You’ll have to explain Tumblr to me. I don’t get it.

    Love photo booth photos!

    And I say, leave your facebook, but just don’t mess with it. That’s what I do with Myspace. I have one, but I just never look at it.

  12. remember moments April 14, 2009 at 11:14 am #

    I’ve been feeling the same way about Facebook lately too, rarely check it anymore – just not interested right now. Also, I don’t like the new layout, but either way, just not feeling it.

  13. ria April 14, 2009 at 2:26 pm #

    i love the photobooth pics at the end, so cute!

  14. Christina April 14, 2009 at 6:39 pm #

    *sigh* I understand what you mean about always reaching out to others through Facebook/MySpace. I feel the same way and always ask why THEY can’t reach out to me first…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. GiST 29/365 « Walking through the Rain - April 14, 2009

    […] through the Rain A Happy Girl’s Blog « Mini Monday GiST 29/365 April 14, 2009 1. My joint tumblr venture with Mandy. It’s all about […]

Leave a Reply

