I want. I wish. I’m not.

17 Apr

(Editor’s note: This is not a meme, at least it is not intended to be. My brain works in lists/simplicity sometimes which I suppose occasionally appears as a meme)

I want it to be 5pm already. (This is more like a need. L-O-N-G week.)

I wish that when the weather is as gorgeous as it is today that I could work outside.

I’m not good at checking voicemail on my Blackberry…ever. As a result I sometimes have to listen to 10-15 messages. Odd considering I’m normally an organized person and like to have things taken care of.

I want to soak my feet in hot water. On my feet yesterday for 11.5 hours straight in heels (bad shoe choice, I know but my options are limited temporarily) has left me feeling like I have stumps for feet.

I wish that my office job didn’t rely solely on computers/internet/technology to get my job done correctly. I’ve been without MY computer for three days and it’s killing me slowly.

I’m not going to eat one of the chocolate cupcakes with funfetti icing that I made last night as soon as I walk in the door tonight. Even though I want to.

I want to have a kitchen-aid fancy mixer. Like this one.

I wish that I had sat down and hand-written some cards. I have more Blog Love/Friend Love to send out.

I’m not using my credit cards anymore. I haven’t used it in four months and it is such an awesome feeling.

I want to finish the book I’m reading. It’s really good. (Brideshead Revisited. And yes, I know I’ve been reading it for awhile but I REALLY just started getting into it last weekend.)

I wish that Missouri had a beach. I’m craving the sand-in-the-toes and sound of waves.

I’m not good at staying up past 11 lately. I’m an old woman.

I want to buy a house with Irish. Someday. Soon.

I wish that some of the big adult life decisions would be made for me.

I’m not very good at fixing my hair lately. It’s either been in a pony tale or half-up all week. How very boring.

I want a room full of built-in bookshelves with two really ridiculously comfortable reading chairs.

I wish I had a bigger place so I could adopt a friend for Jack.

I’m not sorry I gave up fast food/fried food/soda for Lent. It’s been almost a week and I haven’t had any of it yet.

What is one of your wish/want/”am not”s for the day?

19 Responses to “I want. I wish. I’m not.”

  1. Irish April 17, 2009 at 10:49 am #

    I keep telling you.
    Your hair looks awesome when you put it up or in a pony tail!
    DO IT. DO IT. Hey. Hey………..DO IT.

  2. fritz April 17, 2009 at 10:51 am #

    i wish it were time to leave just to be outside, i too, want a room full of built in bookcases and two comfy chairs and i am counting down the hours until my semester is done and then i can regain some semblance of logical, rational thinking…

  3. Larissa April 17, 2009 at 10:53 am #

    “I’m craving the sand-in-the-toes and sound of waves.” I am in need of some beach…I need to go somewhere tropical this summer or fall…I don’t care where. A weekend of sun, sand, margaritas and me in my bikini sounds oh so awesome. Lets go!

    I want…I have two…for it to be tomorrow/sunny out and for my bf to get back from italy (he’s coming back Tuesday night :D); I wish I could get over some things from the past; I am not good at getting to work on time this week…ugh.

  4. Amber April 17, 2009 at 11:03 am #

    I cannot stay up past 10 pm. I get wayyy too tired. Probably because I get up so early.

    I wish that my to-do list at work would do its self.

    I want to be back in Kamloops with my boy and my kitty!

    I’m not looking forward to the weekend, suprisingly enough. I don’t have enough friends in this town so weekends are boring…

    PS: Irish’s comment is SOOO cute :-)

  5. butterflycharlie April 17, 2009 at 11:39 am #

    ooh ive always wanted something similar to your bookcase and chairs ideas. I wish i’d win the lottery. Or that someone would gimme a proper job! And i definitely wish i had a proper grown up to make my decisions! I’m not very good at getting changed out of my pajamas this week…

  6. Kyla Roma April 17, 2009 at 1:22 pm #

    Oh I love this one!

    I wish MY RSS FEED WAS F*&$ING WORKING!!! /dies a little
    I want to be able to forget it’s not
    I’m not as good at being zen as I would like to be something. Especially when coding is involved.

  7. Little Fish April 17, 2009 at 2:28 pm #

    I wish I didn’t have to work on such a gorgeous day.

    I want my weekend to begin already.

    I’m not going to be home this weekend. I am going to visit my BFF and her husband to meet my new “nephew” (aka their new English Bulldog puppy)!

  8. mandy April 17, 2009 at 8:24 pm #

    I wish that I could get a TA postion to cover the expense of getting my masters.

    I want the weekend to not go by so fast.

    I’m not going to clean this weekend, too many other fun things to do!

    (If you’re going to buy a kitchen aid, get a professional bowl lift model. Thats what we have and I LOVE it! Its easier to get the ingredients in.)

  9. mandy April 17, 2009 at 8:25 pm #

    Can I also tell you I think its adorable that Irish loves your hair up and chooses to tell you via your comments section.

  10. uberfrau April 18, 2009 at 5:58 pm #

    I really, really love Brideshead revisited, it’s one of my favorite novels. If you like brit novels, might I suggest “Excellent Women” by barbara Pym? It’s hilarious. In a quiet, witty sort of way.

  11. caterpillar85 April 19, 2009 at 6:30 am #

    i’m following in your foot steps finally with the no fast food/fried food/soda… i’ve been trying to do it for quite a bit & i’m officially putting my foot down and kicking it today!

    i have a new book my bff sent me & i can’t wait for school to be officially over so i can start it.

    oh those grown up life decisions… i wish they could be made for me as well, well actually i wish they would just hurry up and be determined so i can get started with “adult life” already!

    good for you for not using your credit card for 4 months… i’m trying but i have a feeling with this move coming up it will be hard not too… until i get a real income!

    hugs!

  12. AuburnKat April 19, 2009 at 6:55 pm #

    I have a Kitchen Aid mixer and sadly haven’t used it very much.

    I have a bad habit about checking my voicemails on my blackberry too!!!

  13. oh April 19, 2009 at 9:24 pm #

    I’m not keeping clothes in my closet that are just sitting there. (most of them.)
    I want to go shopping. I’d like you to come along. Yes, I’ll get you something, too!
    And when I do go, I wish that the clothes I try on will fit!

  14. sleepyjane April 20, 2009 at 4:49 am #

    “I want a room full of built-in bookshelves with two really ridiculously comfortable reading chairs.”

    Me too. Me too…*sniffles*

    Damn and BLAST being poor!

    ;)

  15. SSG April 20, 2009 at 9:03 am #

    I also need to go to be early. Let me rephrase that. I like going to bed early. I like being under my duvet all snug and warm. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

  16. E.P. April 20, 2009 at 10:58 am #

    I love this! I need to go to get groceries and doggie treats for Lucy Belle. (She’s been out of bones for about a week!) And I should make a healthy dinner for tonight.

  17. ria April 20, 2009 at 1:32 pm #

    i love your posts like this. i think in lists sometimes too or just a jumble of words ;)

  18. Tabitha April 20, 2009 at 6:11 pm #

    I love this post, and I love your “meme-ish” posts that aren’t really memes. I think in lists, too, but I usually end up starting a post as a list, then kind of fleshing it out, because I’m obsessed with writing.

    Anyway, what I REALLY wanted to say was that I love love LOVE your “leave happier” tumblr thing. I never really gave tumblr much thought, but thanks to you I’ve been inspired to start my own! :)

  19. meldoesgradschool April 20, 2009 at 7:58 pm #

    So I suck at life and just sort of stopped reading blogs for a bit of time here… and I’m really sorry because I just read some of your entries and I’m SOOOOOOOOO SORRY to hear about that stuff. It really really really sucks and I’m here for you too (even if it seems like I’m usually the emotional wreckage). Hope all is getting better for you. Much love from SC via the blogosphere.

Leave a Reply

