Weekend GiST, 30-32/365

20 Apr

1. Being able to eat real food at Irish’s sister’s birthday party on Friday night. Baked potato, steak with blue cheese crumbles and a cupcake. Yum-o. And cue the wisdom tooth weight loss regain!

2. Enjoying a Saturday morning to myself. Watched Moonstruck (love it for the Italian family references, NYC skyline and old-school Nicholas Cage), ate cereal in my pjs and cuddled with Jack.

3. Beer Festival! Irish and I attended with the couple that introduced us. Despite the rainy weather and chilly temperatures we had a good time.

4. Irish, for buying me a sweatshirt at the Beer Festival because I tempted fate and wore a tank top in the hopes that the weather would have remained 70 and sunny.

5. People watching and meeting two really adorable dogs at the Beer Festival.

6. Taking a nap after the Beer Fest to the sound of rain hitting the windows.

7. Saturday night spent with Audrey Hepburn and Breakfast at Tiffany’s.

8. Sunday afternoon movie matinees.

9. Feeling incredibly accomplished for getting all of my laundry done and put away.

10. I finally finished “Brideshead Revisited.”

11. Jumping into “Angels and Demons,” by Dan Brown so that I can hopefully see the movie when it comes out in May.

12. Playing scratcher lottery tickets with Irish and winning a few bucks.

13. Enjoying a weekend disconnected from the internet, twitter, tumblr and blogland.

14. Deciding that I am indeed going to see DMB when he comes to StL in June. Now to buy tickets.

15. Reconnecting with myself, Irish, Jack and several of my IRL friends last week. It’s great to know that after weeks of not seeing my friends due to crazy schedules that nothing has changed.

11 Responses to “Weekend GiST, 30-32/365”

  1. Amber April 20, 2009 at 9:50 pm #

    Glad to hear you had such a wonderful weekend!

    Angels and Demons is a great book! I liked it better than the DaVinci code!!

  2. kali April 20, 2009 at 10:54 pm #

    Sounds like a good weekend! I was trying to figure out where I want to see Dave this summer today. I really want to fly out to the Gorge and go to all 3 shows!

  3. SSG April 21, 2009 at 2:10 am #

    Sounds like a lovely weekend! I love sleeping to the sound of rain. i’ve never seen Breakfast at Tiffany’s. What are the next few books in your book list? Are you in a book club at all?

  4. mandy April 21, 2009 at 6:59 am #

    Reconnecting is the best — whether it be with your friends, boyfriend, or youself. Your weekend sounds fabulous.I have never seen DMB, apparently I’m missing out. A lot people seem to be going to see him this year.

  5. caterpillar85 April 21, 2009 at 7:28 am #

    mmm sounds like a fantastic weekend! especially all the relaxing and movies :)

  6. Kimmers April 21, 2009 at 7:34 am #

    I too spent the weekend with no internet. Also no phone, and no TV. And it nearly killed me.

    But then again I was stuck home cleaning and unpacking, and you had fun stuff to do… so that may have something to do with it! :)

  7. Alesia April 21, 2009 at 8:22 am #

    Steak with bleu cheese — one of my favorite food combos ever.

    And, yeah, what happened to Nick Cage? He was so sweet in Moonstruck, and now he’s just kind of… creepy and old.

    I think I’ll rent Moonstruck. I love that movie.

  8. butterflycharlie April 21, 2009 at 8:31 am #

    Mmmm steak!

  9. Irish April 21, 2009 at 9:46 am #

    Agreed. What’s the deal with Nick Cage? I used to enjoy him in movies (ie The Rock) but somewhere along the way he lost me.
    I think it’s his hair. He’s like a reverse Samson. The longer his hair gets the less powerful he becomes.
    The last movie I saw him in (and his hair WAS long) was Bangkok Dangerous. Sucked big time.
    Cut the hair Nick and let’s go infiltrate Alcatraz with Sean Connery again.

  10. lucklys April 21, 2009 at 6:24 pm #

    angels and demons was a great book. i liked it better than the davinci code. i don’t think i’ll be seeing the movie though, tom hanks just doesn’t fit my idea of the main character.

    nic cage has turned into a sellout, in my opinion. the only movies i really liked him in were matchstick men, gone in 60 seconds, lord of war, the rock…that’s about all i can think of right now. i wish he would just chill out and think about his roles.

    glad to hear you’re done losing weight, i was thinking about what body part i might be able to sacrifice for a few pounds :)

  11. andhari April 22, 2009 at 1:44 pm #

    I like weekends with many yummy foods and great companies like that. Especially including having fun outside, taking long naps, and curl up and watch movies :)

Leave a Reply

