All for One & One For All

21 Apr

That’s how I view the blogging community I’ve known to love: we are all here to support each other. On a fairly regular basis I email, GChat, Tweet and even send real, old-fashioned mail to more than a handful of my close blog friends. I plan to meet a bunch of them in June. I trust them. .

Obviously I don’t expect everything people post about to be 100% true word-for-word, meaning how can we recall complete conversations we’ve had at bars while intoxicated? Or who remembers with complete accuracy what they were wearing when they were at their 5th birthday party? But the basic things like who/what/where/when/why and the whole feeling and idea behind the post I believe to be true.

Which is why when I heard about a blog that I had been reading for maybe 5 months or so was plagarized (you can read about it here), subsequently (and rightfully so) removed from the web I was in utter shock.

My first thoughts: WTF? Why would someone do that? Is my work being plagarized? How did people find out about this? Would someone tell me if they saw one of my posts elsewhere on a blog that wasn’t mine? How can I protect my blog? I can’t belive she made up so much of those posts. I sent her sympathies on more than one occasion. I commented faithfully. She met some of my other blog friends in real life… thank goodness they are safe. Do I really want to go to Vegas now? Maybe I should stop blogging or be more anonymous with my posts.

But, none of that would be true to me. I write how I feel, I write what happens and I write the truth. I don’t lie to my blog friends. If you ask me a question online or offline, I’ll answer it. It’s part of who I am. I admit that certain parts of my life are off-limits when it comes to blogworld but that is only because you have to have a few things to keep to yourself, right?

Do Irish and I have disagreements? Of course.
Do I blog about them? Not unless I really need too. Some things are meant for only Irish and myself to know about.

Do Darling and I always get along? Certainly not. We are mother/daughter. We have had knock-down-drag-out-fights on more than one occasion. I’m happy to say we haven’t had one in years and we never really knocked each other down. Usually a lot of screaming and crying and it’s all kind of funny now.

Do I have stress and annoyances in my life? Heck yes. And I post about them… just to a minimum because I don’t want to overshare and this is supposed to be a “Happy Girl’s Blog!”

Another part of me that is true to who I am?

Trust. As long as I can remember I have been that girl who finds the good in people… is determined to even if it’s the worst idea for me. So I believed this particular blogger had the perfect life she said she had. Did it seem a tad over the top at times? Yes, but some people really do live that way. Did I question my accomplishments because of all this girl did? Yes and now I’m really mad at myself for questioning myself over a fake, plagarized persona. (I understand there are two sides to every story but this is the only side I know.)  I have over 70 different blogs in my Google Reader and another handful I need to add to it and guess what? If they say they are having a bad day, I’m going to wish them a better one and send virtual hugs (it’s what I do). If they need advice about to wear on a first date, I’m going to believe they are going on a first date and help them out. If someone has a baby, adopts a dog, plans a vacation, whatever… I believe you.

The best part about blogland is that we all rally around each other when we need to and this is a case where we need to be keep a watchful eye out for plagarism yet maintain our happy, positive, optimistic attitude that makes the blogging community a strong, great place to be. Yes, I know internet sites are public domain but stealing people’s work, writing and feelings is just all wrong. And Internet? We will find you and we will make you stop stealing. Blogland is a mini-mafia in a way. Don’t mess with us. Take my word for it.

(Editor’s Note: Irish pointed out to me that I must have been upset when I wrote this post because he noticed an unusual amount of spelling and grammatical errors in this post. I believe I have caught and corrected them.)

15 Responses to “All for One & One For All”

  1. the girl in stiletto April 21, 2009 at 5:01 pm #

    that’s really freaky. not long ago i stumbled upon a blog who used posts from one of my blogbuddy’s page and I freaked out. i mean, i cant imagine if someone uses my blog contents on his/her blog as if those posts were their own. but i freaked out upon reading that imposter’s blog.

  2. AshleyD April 21, 2009 at 5:04 pm #

    I agree completely! We need to remain a trusting and optimistic place that will turn into the mafia is someone taking advantage of one of our friends. :)

  3. butterflycharlie April 21, 2009 at 5:21 pm #

    so her whole blog was posts she’d copied from elsewhere? Who the hell does that?!

  4. mandy April 21, 2009 at 6:32 pm #

    It makes me sad and infuriated that people steal others people work. Overall I think the blogging community is awesome and I really truly consider my blogging friends to be real genuine trustworthy people. I think the majority of us are and when someone comes along who isnt, the rest of us circle around and protect those who deserve to be protected.

    Since you’re Italian does that make you the Godmother?

  5. lucklys April 21, 2009 at 7:33 pm #

    if i were going to plagairize anyone, it would be you. but i would ask first. and i’d link to you about 10 times in the process.

    i couldn’t have said it better myself, and the part where you said you questioned your accomplishments because of things she allegedly did, i wanted to let you know, you’re not alone. it’s awful and i felt like i had been slapped on the wrist. because i believed her.

    i’m not going to go doubting everyone else now though just because of one terribly insecure person, i’m going to take it more as a wake-up call. this is something i know that can happen and i can be ready for it. expect the unexpected sorta thing. i’m going to work on creating a more stable relationship with some of the people i read and who read me back.

    like you, you’re a stellar example :)

  6. Gigi April 21, 2009 at 8:04 pm #

    Whoa! I have heard about this kind of thing happening. A blog I read had that happen to her too. People are pathetic…I mean you really have to feel sorry for someone who is so starved for attention that they’d resort to something so low.

  7. Kelly April 21, 2009 at 8:16 pm #

    Dood! What is going on in Blog-land? Someone copied someone else’s blog? For real? That is crazy. I can’t even imagine that. I have too many problems of my own to copy someone else’s lol.

  8. Liz April 21, 2009 at 8:33 pm #

    Wow! I interacted with her on Twitter but didn’t read her blog. I can’t believe someone would do that and expect NOT to get caught, especially after you consider how many readers she had. And one blogger had even met her in person twice? And still didn’t know? Wow. I feel really bad for that person.

  9. AuburnKat April 21, 2009 at 8:49 pm #

    There has been a lot of talk lately about stuff like this happening in the blog world. I just don’t understand it at all!! I had never read this blog or followed her on twitter.

    To me blogging is a place where I can be completely myself and I’ve definitely formed a community of different bloggers that I feel like very close friends to me.

    What a disappointment.

  10. Amber April 21, 2009 at 9:17 pm #

    This was so well written and I couldn’t have said it better myself!

    These kinds of things shake our trust, but bloggers like MM are few and far between, I think. If we lose our trust in other bloggers than we will ruin the best part of the blogging community: making new friends.

    PS: That editors note at the end is quite hilarious. Good thing you have Irish for a back-up editor :-)

  11. Lily April 21, 2009 at 10:22 pm #

    I agree with what you just said here! I won’t comment too much on the bummer side of this as I feel like I’ve hashed as much out of that situation as I can… but what you said about this community really rallying around each other. OH MY GOD, I can not believe the support I’ve gotten over the situations in the last couple of months of my life, PLUS all of the connections I’ve made in the last year, six months, few weeks. I trust the people I’m connecting with, and you better believe VEGAS is going to be chalk full of GENUINE awesome bloggers who will go TOTALLY mafia on any one that threatens any one of us.

    xoxo :)

  12. Kyla Roma April 22, 2009 at 7:44 am #

    I love the way you lay this out – trust is so important. I have run into people like this girl at my schools, in work places, and sometimes online – there are people who will try to take advantage of others everywhere, what’s important is that as a community we help each other and speak up when we find plagiarism.

  13. E.P. April 22, 2009 at 9:09 am #

    I completely agree with you, and I’m the same way. I find the good in people. I trust because I have no reason not to.

    This plagiarism thing is frightening because it goes against blogging, as a whole. Why in the world would you want to steal something someone else wrote about THEIR experiences if you could share yours? It boggles my mind.

    But we’ve got each other and we can combat plagiarism as a group instead of individually. And that’s pretty awesome.

  14. SoMi's Nilsa April 22, 2009 at 1:06 pm #

    I’m kind of shocked to be learning about Miss Musing. I was a faithful reader of her blog and it’s somewhat sickening to think it was all a lie.

    However, I don’t bat an eye about the blogging community. And here’s why. We meet assholes around every corner we turn. Some are on the roads, others are in bars and yet others are online. So long as you remain true to yourself, trust your gut and keep doing what you came here to do, you’ll be fine on the other side.

    And people like Miss Musing? Well, I’m quite certain karma has a whole bag of tricks waiting for them.

  15. andhari April 22, 2009 at 1:16 pm #

    This is completely hurtful, what she did. SHe hurted a lot of people who have been kind enough to welcome her into their lives. :(

Leave a Reply

