Blog Swap & Other Stories…

22 Apr

I am aware that today is 20SB Blog Swap Day, however my swap partner and I just found out last night (thanks to Mandy!) that we were supposed to swap today with no time to prepare a blog. We will be swapping tomorrow. My Blog Swap Partner is The Melodramatic and I know she’ll dazzle you with her writing.

Onto a few other random topics and answers to questions my readers have asked me:  

* Dreams. Over the last few weeks I’ve been having insane dreams/nightmares in which our late family dog, Bear, is present. Sometimes in the dreams he hasn’t yet passed on, other times he’s a ghost dog but only I can see him. In either case I wake up with tears in my eyes. It’s been rather disturbing. I suppose perhaps it’s Bear’s way of letting me know he is still around?  Or that he’s okay and happy in Dog Heaven? I just wish that my dreams lasted a bit longer or that, as cliched as this is, they came true.

* Social. A friend once asked me who was more social: Irish or me? Honestly it’s a hard question for me to answer. I’m inclined to say that I am because I’m a planner, I have lots of friends to catch up with and I love going out on double/group dates with our friends. However, there are those nights, especially when work is insane and my brain is mush come 5pm, where all I want to do is take Jack for a nice walk, have a cup of tea and watch a movie, do something crafty or read a book.  Lately though I’ve been a social butterfly. Come Friday I will have been out every single night. I’ve been catching up with friends, hanging out with family, on the phone all the time. I suppose I’m trying to get it all in before grad school courses start on June 5th.  As for Irish? Well, he has a weekly “Man Night,” with his buddies at the pool hall and kickball games every weekend so he’s automatically social. I have learned that he enjoys staying home with video games/books/movies/internet surfing just as much as, if not more than me.

* The Teeth. I am almost 100% back to normal. I am allowed to go back to the gym this week (likely not until Friday due to my insane social calendar). I am eating most foods that I love unless it’s something that is super crunchy. My jaw is only marginally sore and I have all of my energy back. It’s always the minor surgeries that seem to take the longest to recover from.

* The Killers. Irish and I are going to see them on May 4th. I am pumped. That is all.

* Gram. I have mentioned in passing that my Gram moved to StL in November of last year. It’s been a tough road at times, especially for Darling, but I think everyone is getting used to it. Gram is a character, probably an entire post (or two) just for her would be wise but today I’m focusing on the good things. Monday night Gram gave me about five vintage cookbooks including a Betty Crocker Picture Cookbook from 1956. It’s totally incredible and in really great shape. I can’t wait to try out some of the desserts and other tempting recipes. Gram is also going to teach me how to knit. My first project will be a blanket of some sort.

* The Buzz. Irish and I have been dating for 10 months (tomorrow, actually) and so people have started asking THE QUESTIONS. You know ones like “when are you going to get married?” or “You guys plan on moving in together anytime soon?” The questions come randomly from our couple friends, my single friends and even family on occasion. I don’t really mind but when we go to weddings? It’s terrible. Everyone asks. While I know that I want to be with Irish for the rest of my life, can’t I/we take our time? And yes as much as the e-word and m-word appeal to me, we have a few other things to sort out first like living arrangements, budgets and yadda yadda. I won’t lie, I have turned to Irish and suggested we elope and then other days I want to enjoy things and take my time. But one thing is for sure, I’m crazy about the guy. I still hate it when we don’t see each other for a day or two. It feels like an eternity. So my answer when people ask me those questions? “I love him and the rest will happen when it’s right.” Or if I’m feeling snarky, “I love him but it’s only been 10 months! We have time.”

* Allergies. Many people have asked me what kind of food I can eat since I have so many awful food allergies. It all boils down to this: dairy (non-soy); meat (turkey, chicken, red meat); limited vegetables (broccoli, green beans, corn, tomatoes, peppers, onions. The first three must be cooked); grains/wheats (pastas, bread, whole wheats, cereals), condiments are all fine so far. The main offenders that are big time allergens are all fruits (though I can have fruit juice in moderation, jellys), tree nuts (peanuts/peanut butter are okay), seasame seeds, celery, and all the other vegetables (peas, carrots, etc). It can be very difficult sometimes at dinner parties, restaurants or social events like concerts/baseball games but I’ve learned to find a few key things I can order no matter where I am and I stick to it. If I ever develop an allergy to dairy, meat and grains, well, that will just kill the inner-Italian in me!

10 Responses to “Blog Swap & Other Stories…”

  1. Kyla Roma April 22, 2009 at 8:04 am #

    People are SO nosey!! It sounds like you’re really enjoying all the phases of your relationship – in spite of the stupid questions. Blah – I hate those! When people start asking when we’re going to have kids I’m going to lose it.

    And The Killers!! Wow – have fun!

  2. lucklys April 22, 2009 at 8:16 am #

    your dreams sound just like the ones i have about my brother, where i’m the only one who can see him or he’s still alive. creepy, and oddly comforting.

    my mom has a really old betty crocker cookbook that i remember going through with her on numerous occasions and now that i’m living on my own, i wanted it, so she found me a copy online from some old lady that was selling all her stuff. it’s not exactly the same, and it definitely doesn’t have all the notes we had in ours, but it’s vintage, and i love it.

    and about the marriage thing, j and i are going to my cousin’s wedding (our first wedding together) at the end of may. lots of my relatives (even ones who haven’t met him) have been asking when we’re getting married. it’s ridiculous. we’ve been together for 1 year and 1 month now, but really? it’s most likely because we live together. i can’t wait for the wedding…urgh.

  3. mandy April 22, 2009 at 8:19 am #

    I love that you are still doing Blog Swap tomorrow! I can’t believe the questions some people ask when its entirely none of their business. As long as you are happy, why does it matter? Ummm, those are some insane allergies you have. I hope you didnt have to learn all of that by trial and error.

  4. Cassie April 22, 2009 at 8:26 am #

    SO JEALOUS you are seeing The Killers. They are my FAVESSS.

  5. Amber April 22, 2009 at 12:06 pm #

    Oh those questions are SO annoying. Your right, it’s only been 10 months and you guys should take your time! It sounds like things are going fabulously so I’m sure everything else will fall into place!

    That really sucks that you’re allergic to so many things! I suppose you’ve learned to adapt though, I absolutely cannot imagine being allergic to fruit. I eat SO much fruit. I guess you are probably used to it though.

    That’s sad about the dreams you’ve been having but I’m sure it is Bear’s way of reminding you that he’s still around and your not going to forget him!

  6. butterflycharlie April 22, 2009 at 12:12 pm #

    Yeah I’m with the others, i cant believe people ask about marriage if you’ve been with someone for a few months! And your food allergies totally suck. I’m convinced I have an intolerance for wheat but i just can’t give it up

  7. andhari April 22, 2009 at 12:25 pm #

    You sound like me with the allergies.

    ps. I’ve been dating for 17 months and people keep asking me stuff. I’m like “wow back off” all the time.:P

  8. Kelly April 22, 2009 at 12:32 pm #

    The Killers? So, so jealous! Take pictures!!!!!

  9. sleepyjane April 23, 2009 at 3:30 am #

    Ugh. I hate those questions and I get them ALL the time. I’m not ready to get married! Why should I have to?

    Gah!

    Anyway.

  10. Tabitha April 28, 2009 at 5:55 pm #

    I have tons of weird allergies too! I was actually kind of happy to read about yours, because it made me feel a little less crazy about mine. I’m allergic to sesame, mustard, avocados, most nuts except peanuts and cashews, and I can’t eat ANY raw fruits or veggies, really, unless they are organic (I think it’s a pesticide thing, but I really don’t know for sure), and even when they’re organic, I still sometimes have weird reactions. Lettuce is a top offender, too.

Leave a Reply

