Blog Swap: My Growing Obsession with all Things Sushi

23 Apr

Editor’s Note from Nora: Today is 20SB Blog Swap day on my blog. The lovely Melissa is taking over Walking Through the Rain for the day with a great post about food. Enjoy, comment and check out her blog! And if you want to read about my not-so-secret obsession check out my post on her blog.

Until I started dating my ex-boyfriend, I had never had any desire to eat sushi. I have this intense fear of food poisoning, lest it result in throwing up. I remember going on a business lunch with Japanese businessmen and my coworker ate a large portion of sushi (I ate lovely HOT, cooked shrimp tempura, thank you very much). Within an hour of returning to the office…I recall looking over at him…And noting how green he looked. Didn’t take long before he was up and into the bathroom to purge the evil stuff from his system.  It might not have been the sushi that even made him sick or maybe the sushi was just…not prepared correctly. Regardless, I wouldn’t touch it.

Until about 2 years ago.
While my ex and I had a rough relationship for the 4 years we were together, I will credit him with  forcing me to try new foods. Now cuisines such as Greek, Indian, and Thai all have my mouth watering.  Then there was the evening that he took me to Sushiya (http://www.sushiyausa.com/), along with his sister and another friend. I was very apprehensive. I had no interest in eating raw fish that was all rubbery and slimy. Just. Gross. I didn’t know how to use chopsticks well either (I ended up having to have them rig them up with a rubberband….like they would do for a kid!).

Once I had my first few bites, I was completely hooked. The texture was nothing at all like I had expected. It was perfect. Tasty. Smooth. Amazing. The sake wasn’t that great, but the sushi? Was to DIE for.

And since then, I have developed a serious addiction to it. Spicy tuna is my vice. And what’s more perfect?? That just a few blocks from me? Is this grocery store that has sushi chefs on staff nearly FULL TIME making fresh sushi every single day. I have moved onto having an eel obsession on top of the spicy tuna addiction.

I seriously need an intervention — I’m getting so poor! At some points, I was buying sushi rolls 2-3 times a week ($12-20 a week — which doesn’t seem like A LOT, but it is as a grad student. :p)!! I’m now down to once a week and it’s so hard!

Are there any other foods or cuisines that I can explore that would not be as expensive? But just as delicious and addicting? I need a serious sushi intervention before my fiance and I go broke because of my addiction!

5 Responses to “Blog Swap: My Growing Obsession with all Things Sushi”

  1. mandy April 23, 2009 at 7:29 am #

    Like yourself, I had no desire to try sushi for many of the same reasons (RAW fish? EEEEWW GROSS!!) Then while visiting my BFF in her big city she insisted we go to this amazing sushi place. She was addicted and said I just HAD to try it. That was all it took. Unfortunately I dont eat it too often, here in my small town its not the same.

  2. andhari April 23, 2009 at 8:29 am #

    Can’t help you on that. I definitely love sushi soooo much. Any japanese food and italian food actually. Something less expensive? Chinese food if you like? They’re good too.

  3. lucklys April 23, 2009 at 9:58 am #

    i’m not the biggest sushi fan, i have eaten it, and i actually started out eating eel, which i hear is the wrong way to go about it, but now…meh. i’m not that crazy about it.

  4. Amber April 23, 2009 at 10:25 am #

    I had the same aversion to sushi as you, but now I LOVE it. I like the rolls though, california, caterpillar and salmon rolls are my favourite. I’m yet to try the raw fish, but I might have to force myself!

    I treat myself out to lunch once a week, the rest of the time I’m brown-bagging it. That might help..?

  5. Amber April 23, 2009 at 10:30 am #

    Haha, I agree! I am the same way, although I have yet to try the eel… I haven’t been brave enough!

Leave a Reply

