Spring Fever Fashion

24 Apr

Last night I joined Darling and a close family friend for a VIP only Fashion Show here in the StL. I know it sounds odd to use StL and Fashion in the same sentence but I promise, we have some! You just have to know where to look.

My dad scored us the tickets to this event where our ears were delighted by “DJ Andrew,” Tommy Bahama rum mixed deliciously in some sort of Rum-Runner concoction and the people watching was at it’s best. A few of my favorite people-watching moments from the night:

* A guy who wore a faux tuxedo shirt, you know, the kind where the tuxedo print is on the shirt but it’s really just a cotton t-shirt? He jazzed it up with a black jacket but it still made me laugh out loud.

* Another guy who had a great outfit on but wore HUGE Drew Carey style glasses that were clearly a novelty.

* A bright, neon green dress. It was rather blinding. Perhaps if the cut/design had been different it would have been great. (I’m not a fashionista by any means but it was just… wrong.)

* The girls who attended and weren’t models in the show but stood as if they were modeling. Hands on hips, heads held high, no smiles on their faces. 

The fashion show itself only lasted about 20  minutes out of the entire three hour event, but it was enough time for me to covet the stick-thin legs (and also make two trips to the bar), about $3,000 worth of clothes and a permanent hair-stylist. (You can view photos of the event here.) All of the clothes were from Nordstrom so I’m pretty sure that my next bonus check will be quickly spent on one or two key pieces I can use over and over again from there. Or maybe I’ll imitate the clothes from a bunch of other stores; I haven’t decided yet.

As a thank you for attending we received complimentary valet parking, open bar, light dinner fare such as sushi and losbster bisque as well as a goodie bag including a fashion magazine, a free six-ounce glass of wine, hand made hair ties, gift certificate to a local spa and note cards.

Besides the fashion show and the fact that one of the male models literally had a Zoolander face on the whole time my favorite part of the night was driving home with Darling and LC doing the post-event wrap-up including a discussion on the super model diet which we decided is not something we could survive on.

So tell me are you a Vogue Reader & Fashion Worshipper? Or do you make your own fashion? What is the ONE piece of clothing that you would buy if you could, assuming money and distance you’d need to travel to purchase the item isn’t an issue? Although I’m a casual dresser by nature, I love dresses. And skirts. And heels.

One of my favorites:

8 Responses to “Spring Fever Fashion”

  1. Kyla Roma April 24, 2009 at 1:25 pm #

    That sounds like so much fun!

    I’m huge into fashion, mostly street style blogs. Watching how normal people with all their quirks dress has been really inspiring to me and has really helped me get my own sense of personal style.

    If I could buy one item it would *definitely* be a pair of Frye boots. They’re so gorgeous, over sized and versatile, I would adore them!

  2. lucklys April 24, 2009 at 1:58 pm #

    i’m not into fashion at all. i’m so far from fashion i will wear the same thing for a week before i decide it could probably use a wash or someone might notice. i also only own enough clothes to last me a week, so this happens on the regular. i just don’t care for it, i buy what i like, whether or not it’s in, and that’s it. also, i tend to drift towards really bright, loud colours, like neon green, sky blue, yellow, bright orange, or any mixture of those.

    and i do like dresses and skirts, but it’s hard for me to find ones that fit my body type. i’m not skinny, but i’m not fat, i’m tall, but only because of my longs legs…it’s a conundrum.

  3. mandy April 24, 2009 at 2:22 pm #

    I’m far from a fashionista and tend to make up my own rules as I go along. I like laid back casual but not sloppy. I’m more comfortable in jeans, khakis, and plain shirts. I do mix it up and add some fun, unexpected accessories but for the most just do whatever is comfortable for me.

  4. Amber April 24, 2009 at 4:23 pm #

    I’m jealous. That sounds SO fun!! I’ve just started getting really into fashion lately even though I can’t afford any of the really nice pieces.

    I think it’s a good idea to spend money on key pieces you can wear over and over again: blazers, black slacks, nice pants, nice heels and of course, an LBD!!

  5. Kelly April 24, 2009 at 5:57 pm #

    I just got your card in the mail! :] It’s pink and amazing and so cute it made me smile!

    That fashion show sounds like so much fun! If I could buy anything…either a LV speedy 25 like Audrey, or a chanel bag. I love purses. They always fit. ha-ha!

    I love the colors of the fashion show. I want every dress. I love dresses too. They are so easy, and they look put together with 0 effort.

    Have a good weekend!!

  6. Larissa April 24, 2009 at 6:49 pm #

    this sounds like sooo much fun! i couldnt imagine someone wearing a neon green dress! how insane! I heart dresses- I own too many, but I always seen to justify buying just one more.

    have a lovely weekend- i’m sorry i’ve been mia- might be that way for a bit longer ive been so busy. but thank you for the lovely comment…and yes a bottle of wine and some girl time is definitely in my near future! <3

  7. andhari April 26, 2009 at 10:33 am #

    I lovveee Nordstrom. I’m definitely a fashion worshipper and assuming money isn’t the issue, I’ll get all dresses I want from Marchesa because I love them lately. And of course, Louboutins and Marc Jacobs satchels.

  8. Fab Brunette April 28, 2009 at 11:34 am #

    I adore that dress from Carrie’s wardrobe. I also love the little skirt she had, I think it’s Vivienne Westwood, in satin green with a bunny tail. So cute and sexy and quirky.

Leave a Reply

