Bookworm

28 Apr

 

I have a new addiction. Well, it’s not really new so much as it is resurfaced. It’s a little thing called reading.

I grew up around books:Darling, a writer and Boss, a former English teacher, there was no shortage. There still isn’t; my parents read just as much as me and Irish. When I was younger I used to take out a minimum of ten books each time I went to the library. They would all be returned on time and read. One of my best friends in middle school would go with me and we’d take bags to put all the books in. And then we’d read. For hours. Dorks, I know. 

Saturday morning Irish and I woke up early (which is a huge thing for us) to hit up a few garage sales, an estate sale and a book fair. The end result? I wound up with an additional 14 books to add to my growing stack of must-reads. Books include: “The Secret Life of Bees,” “Lovely Bones,” “The March,” “Wuthering Heights,” (which I read in high school but plan to re-read), “Meet The Mulvaneys,” and much, much more.

We also found the motherload of good CDs and DVDs at a garage sale and after doing the math we’re pretty sure we walked away with $150 worth of media for only $10.00. This is the second time we’ve gone garage sale-ing since we’ve been together; before that I’ve never checked out a garage sale unless it was one in which I was selling things. Used bookstores and even places like Barnes & Noble, however, are frequented more often. We both have a book-buying problem. We have talked about borrowing books from libraries but there is the issue of late fees, not being able to throw the book around in you car, and for whatever reason we both like to OWN our books.

Irish has one large bookshelf/hutch and two smaller bookshelves full of books. My books are all piled onto one, three-shelf situation in my bedroom. We need more space. Or perhaps to buy less, I’m not sure.

We bond over reading, though. We share our books. We talk about the books. Saturday afternoon post-amazing breakfast and shopping haul, we changed into comfortable clothes and with Jack at our feet we read for three hours straight with random jazz and 50s records on the turntable. (Yes, he owns a turntable and records. It’s pretty awesome). And then we read on Sunday. And Sunday night… I was able to devour “Angels & Demons” and really dig my heels into “The Sicilian,” by Mario Puzo (author of the Godfather).

I read quite a bit before I met Irish but one of the things that most certainly attracted me to him? How literary he is. Reading IS sexy.  

Although I have a long list of books to go, what’s your favorite book and/or a book I absolutely MUST read?

23 Responses to “Bookworm”

  1. Little Miss Obsessive April 28, 2009 at 3:19 pm #

    I’m a bookworm too. :) I’ve always read a lot.. esp when I was younger – Nancy Drew, The Babysitters Club, Sweet Valley High, Fear Street. I still do love to read, I just find it harder to make the time. I have a stack of 8-10 books waiting to be read at home though.

    Let’s see, well if you’ve never read Bridget Jone’s Diary I would say that is a MUST! The book I’m reading now is good too, it’s called The Late Bloomer’s Revolution.

  2. Laura April 28, 2009 at 3:24 pm #

    First of all, I am so excited to meet you in Las Vegas! We are going to have such a great time.
    Sounds like you got some great garage sale finds. The Secret Life of Bee’s is one of my favorites!

  3. Amber April 28, 2009 at 3:29 pm #

    Omg I LOVE reading. For as long as I can remember it’s been one of my most favourite things to do. You’re right, reading IS totally sexy!! Eric doesn’t read nearly as much as me, but if he finds a good book he will sit and read for hours.

    This is my first Jennifer Weiner book, but I definitely plan on reading more.

    Read ‘Outlander’ by Diane (Diana?) Gabaldon. It’s absolutely one of the BEST books I’ve read in years. It’s really long though, but so so good!

    I’m so excited to not have school for the next four months, I definitely need to get caught up on my reading!

  4. butterflycharlie April 28, 2009 at 3:34 pm #

    i have recently re-instated my reading habit too. I’ve bought a few old classics and I intend on getting my hands on tons more. Have you read Picture Of Dorian Gray? It’s one of my favourites.

  5. Fab Brunette April 28, 2009 at 3:38 pm #

    I’m a bookworm too – hello, I invited you to join shelfari.com, have you joined yet? Friend me! It’s a great way to track everything you’ve read and want to read.

    Anyway, you’re so lucky that Irish enjoys reading as much as you. I love reading, but my BF is not the least bit interested in it. It doesn’t bother me, but it would be cute to peruse books together and have actual conversations about them.

    Other than, “OMG, I’m reading this really cute book!” Him: “Yeah…?” Me: “blabs on about book for 10 seconds” sees glazed over look in his eye, stops talking. Him noticing the silences… “So, are you hungry?” LOL.

  6. Fab Brunette April 28, 2009 at 3:39 pm #

    Are my comments getting posted?

  7. Tabitha April 28, 2009 at 4:46 pm #

    Lovely Bones is SO good. Intense, but good.

    I need to read more often, too. Maybe after the wedding.

  8. Liz April 28, 2009 at 4:56 pm #

    My favorite book is already on your Must Read list: Secret Life of Bees

  9. katelin April 28, 2009 at 5:46 pm #

    i say you must read ‘a thousand splendid suns’ and the twilight series, haha. :)

  10. artshadows April 28, 2009 at 6:24 pm #

    My reading habits come and go, but I’m always reading at least one!! Sometimes I even go as many as 3 or 4 at one time!

    As for recs, read Life of Pi and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time

    :)

  11. lucklys April 28, 2009 at 6:31 pm #

    secret life of bees and lovely bones were both really great books. i’m not sure how much steinbeck you’ve read, but the grapes of wrath, east of eden, the pearl (short story), the red pony (short story) are all amazing. east of eden would be my first recommendation. hmm, i’ve got a list for you:

    angela’s ashes and ’tis (teacher man is the third in the set, though i’m not a fan. all of them are an autobiography by frank mccourt each one for a different part of his life. really heartbreaking and lovely)

    devil in the white city (a little creepy, but very historical)

    extremely loud and incredibly close by jonathan safran foer (simply amazing. about a little boy in nyc whose father was killed during 9/11. he finds a key in his father’s room after the tragedy and goes around the city trying to figure out what it goes to. jonathan also wrote everything is illuminated…i haven’t read it, but the movie (stars elijah wood) is impeccable. really awesome)

    the glass castle

    the gravedigger’s daughter (very suspenseful, but extremely rewarding) and my sister, my love (both by joyce carol oates, i’m a huge fan of hers and can’t wait to get more of her books. she is one of the most dynamic writers i have ever read)

    the history of love by nicole krauss (female version of jonathan safran foer, seriously beautiful stuff here.)

    the thorn birds by colleen mccullough (they made it into a tv series, and i think a movie way back in the day. it’s set in australia, lots of family strife and very old fashioned, but the first book i read over 900 pages when i was 15. if you want, i can give you my copy, it’s a really old book and i’d be more than willing to share it)

    water for elephants by sara gruen (beautiful, sad, hopeful…really great viewpoints and emotion in this one)

    as a matter of fact, i own most of these books so if you want, i can bring them to vegas with me or send them to you one at a time. if you get around to it. i don’t charge late fees :)

  12. Kelly April 28, 2009 at 9:51 pm #

    I enjoyed Lovely Bones. I also read Alice Sebold’s autobiographical Lucky — intense.

    Can you guess my favorite book? BREAKFAST AT TIFFANY’s. Haha, but I actually like Truman Capote.

    I love mysteries too. Especially series mysteries like Janet Evanovich’s and Sue Grafton’s – I’ve read them all, because frankly they aren’t works of literary genius.

    I have so many “to be read” books too. ::Cough:: Anna Karenina…okay, so it is a huge book and that freaks me out. I think I have commitment issues. ooo and Kurt Vonnegut.

    I love Kerouac too. Especially since I am not a huge adventure taker.

    and the Twilight Saga…ha-ha

    Basically I am all over the place, but I <3 reading too!

  13. kali April 28, 2009 at 10:37 pm #

    Omg! Read “the lovely bones” now! It’s so good!

  14. andhari April 29, 2009 at 12:31 am #

    I hate that Jakarta doesn’t have Barnes & Nobles, but we have a similar one called Kinokuniya and there I can linger for hours just reading and end up blowing tons of cashes just for books. Haha. It’ll take a couple of weeks to finish them all and once I do, I go to the bookstore again :P

  15. SSG April 29, 2009 at 2:10 am #

    reading the list above, I agree with lots of commentators and also have been inspired to read even more books! Lots of inspiration recently to read and to be creative and to just damn look better!
    Good luck with the books, I can’t pile up in a “waiting to be read” pile as it makes me feel guilty, and I like to enjoy my books and not feel I have to finish quickly. Maybe I have a guilt complex.

  16. sleepyjane April 29, 2009 at 3:06 am #

    I like just about any genre but currently my fav read is Perks of Being a Wallflower.
    I know it’s a tween book and all but damn I love it!

    I’m currently struggling through Confessions of a Fallen Angel – no idea why because it’s not a bad book.

    Like Artshadows I also sometimes have a few books going at a time. I also listen to audiobooks in between actually reading them.

    The audiobooks I’m listening to are The Door to Decemer and I am Legend. I also have Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist as an audiobook and can I just say – SO GOOD!

    So yeah. I’m also all over the place.

  17. Kyla Roma April 29, 2009 at 7:34 am #

    I’m currently reading American Gods by Neil Gaimen, it’s mythic and amazing, I would definitely recommend it.

    I’m a reading addict too – I can’t help myself and I don’t want to! I’m constantly going to the library, it’s one of my favourite places in the city.

  18. Little Fish April 29, 2009 at 9:40 am #

    Did you mean We Were Ther Mulvaney’s? If you did you have to tell me what you think of it. I absolutely love that book!

  19. mandy April 29, 2009 at 5:19 pm #

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE reading. In summer one of my favorite things to do is sit outside and read. Getting back into reading is a great thing and I’m excited for you. I’m thinking maybe I’ll set up a book swap sort of like the Valentine blog thing? Just because who doesn’t like to get mail and a book to boot? Thats just fun! Have you read Water for Elephants?

  20. Rebekah May 4, 2009 at 12:17 pm #

    If you like classics AT ALL, take a break from them and get a laugh out of Jasper Fforde’s “The Eyre Affair.” You’ll only get half of it if you don’t love to read… but if you do, you’ll love it.

  21. Amber May 5, 2009 at 12:13 am #

    I’m a total bookworm too, I have to read at night before bed. I was the same way with having to own books, but I hardly ever re-read them so now I only buy books that I know I will re-read someday. Books like Harry Potter and the classics read in high school (Wuthering Heights… ;) )
    Now, I’m obsessed with the library! I go at least once a week and it’s so easy to request a book if they don’t have it and I can only imagine the amount of money I have saved! Barnes and Noble is still one of my favorite stores, but they’re definitely not getting as much money from me! ;)

  22. Kimmers May 5, 2009 at 8:47 am #

    I LOVE this… I’m totally going to make a list of everyone’s favorites so the next time I need new reading material I’ll have a list of suggestions.

    The best thing I’ve invested in in a REALLY long time is the Amazon Kindle. I also largely refuse to borrow books… it’s ok for books I’m not sure of, but once I know that I loved a book? I have to own it. Period. (Plus I’m notorious for racking up huge late fees.) Currently I have books in many, many boxes in our storage unit and at my parents’, until we get a bigger place. Bf has finally come to terms with the money but not the space, so the Kindle became our solution. (His reward was the boxing of all bu my favorite favorite books!)

    I admit when I first bought it I was worried that I would miss the feel of a book in my hands and that the electronic reader would be an awkward distraction and keep me from really disappearing into my book. Nope, not at all. As someone who spends half the day reading blogs I probably should have guessed how natural it would feel. It’s totally worth the $359 and then some.

    Here’s an off the top of my head list of some of my favorites, and be forewarned that they range from fluffy chick lit to science fiction to historical fiction and honestly every genre in between! Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenger. Welcome to Temptation by Jennifer Crusie. Faking It by Jennifer Crusie. Watchers by Dean Koontz. The Host by Stephanie Meyer. Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen. Wizard’s First Rule by Terry Goodkind. The Wheel of Time by Robert Jordan. A Thousand Acres by Jane Smiley.

  23. E.P. May 10, 2009 at 8:04 pm #

    I’m a bookworm, as well, and it makes me so happy that I got back into reading after I finished college. (I’ve found that it is a LOT easier to read when you aren’t having to read chapter after chapter for school.)

    Some of my favorite books right now are the Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris. (Loves it!) I’m about to start Chocolat, and I’ve heard that it’s incredible. What are some of YOUR fave books?

Leave a Reply

