25

29 Apr

Last week I was in one of my super social butterfly moods which had me out every night of the week, crawling in bed anywhere between 11pm and 1am. Of course I chose to be my social self on the one week where I had to be up at 6 am everyday for a 7am start at the office.

The week was buzzing along just fine, Monday-Wednesday with just marginal sleepiness during the day since I was smart and avoided beer and any other form of alcohol the first two nights.

Except for last Wednesday: First Base tickets to the StL Cardinals game + Irish + our friends who are newlyweds + a gorgeous night in terms of weather that didn’t have me sneezing + the ballbark environment = MUST have beer. And so I did. Two, lovely, perfectly poured Bud Selects (I think). Irish and I split some of my favorite nachos at the game, cheered the Cardinals on and of course I got to hear all about the wedding from K in between innnings and when the boys were on beer runs.

I should clarify that I rarely drink anymore; when I’m consistently going to the gym like a good girl alcohol often seems like empty calories. (I prefer chocolate if I’m giong to indulge.)  If I am drinking it’s because I’ve had a really long week and need to get a buzz of some sort. I can’t be casual about drinking for whatever reason. It had been a long time since my last “drinking,” event.

During the game I felt my mood improve drastically, my worries about work melt away, and I started singing to all the songs they played at the Stadium. Out loud.  Which is something I rarely do in public. Next thing I know I asked M&K if they wanted to go to a bar after the game! And that I would buy beer!

We left the stadium after a strong win against the Mets and headed to a complete hole-in-the-wall bar where the music is too loud, the waitresses are about 10 years behind in fashion and the drink specials are cheap.

I was dancing, singing and skipping around the bar. I drank two more beers. I reminisced with K about our days at Mizzou and twittered a bit too much about the upcoming Vegas trip. I sang Buckcherry songs at the top of my lungs when they echoed throughout the bar.

A short hour later we were home, I had devoured a cold piece of black & green olive pizza and I passed out. 6 am came awfully early on Thursday. And my lovely hangover was right there with the darn alarm clock. I felt like crap all day. Headache. Not hungry. Completely exhausted. Foolish. Had I really thought that staying out late on a week night was a good idea? Did I really think I could push through the inevitable hangover? Evidently I did. I was incredibly wrong.

I felt old.
I realized that I’m no longer the carefree college girl who could drink until 3 am and still make it to the 8am class. I’m not even the college graduate who insists on going out three nights a week despite her full-time job without feeling the slightest bit sleepy.

I am now a corporate American, working from 8-5 (at least), five days a week. I need my sleep. I need different means of relaxation like the gym, girl time, reading, time with Irish and etc. I need non-alcoholic drinks if I’m out during the week. Or I need to suck it up and learn how to party again, I’m not sure which.

Don’t get me wrong; I’m happy with my life as it is but it’s an interesting thing to wake up and realize that you and your body aren’t the same person they were a few years ago.

18 Responses to “25”

  1. Little Miss Obsessive April 29, 2009 at 3:42 pm #

    Well, it sounds like that night was fun enough to be worth the hangover. :) I have trouble drinking during the week also… I don’t think it’s so much that we’re old but working a 9 hour day hungover is just plain torturous. I mean, in college maybe you had to endure a few hours of class and then you could take a nap. You can’t nap during the day at work!! If napping were acceptable then we would be way better off. :)

  2. Kyla Roma April 29, 2009 at 3:46 pm #

    My goodness, do I ever hear you on this – at 9 pm on weeknights if I’m not home I turn into a pumpkin and cannot understand reason or logic – I need to be at home because at 10 pm I am starting to get ready for bed – end of story.

    Getting up well before 7 am has really changed the way my evenings work, and working 8 – 5:30 has changed my energy levels as well.

    The thing that I find the most interesting is that I’m still the only one of my friends working a ‘corporate’ job – it really heightens the contrast, but I think it’s worth the changes. I have a steady pay cheque & work on cool projects – I can drink red bull when I need to be out in the evenings lol = )

  3. Lily April 29, 2009 at 3:52 pm #

    I hear you both (you and Kyla) on this. I start getting antsy if I’m still out on weeknights around 9:30 about getting home, not necessarily because I go to bed earlier, but because I need me-time way more than ever before. My body can’t handle drinking the way it used to – I had a grand total of four beers last night in four hours – not much by many standards, and woke up SO tired this morning…

  4. Liz April 29, 2009 at 4:07 pm #

    I definitely can’t party like I used to. I still had the same job hours but for whatever reason, it’s so much harder now than it was then.

    I can usually have one or two drinks during the week and be fine, so I do that when I’m being social, but I still need to be home and in bed by 11 or else I’m just a zombie the next day. Thank goodness for energy drinks! And Aleve.

  5. lucklys April 29, 2009 at 4:10 pm #

    i don’t want to get old, or at least feel old!

    also, 8 am class!? i was lucky enough to avoid that one for the one year i was at college. i would take fewer credits rather than get up that early for class. ugh.

  6. Margarita April 29, 2009 at 4:32 pm #

    OMG I feel the same way, I can’t do anything anymore. More than one glass of wine? Hungover. Stay up late one night? The next I’m dead, even after two cups of coffee, still dead. I find I yearn for naps in the afternoon sometimes (I am not a nap person). What the heck is going on?

    I am 25 too.

  7. Margarita April 29, 2009 at 4:58 pm #

    Why isn’t this working?

  8. Margarita April 29, 2009 at 4:59 pm #

    OMG I feel the same way, I can’t do anything anymore. More than one glass of wine? Hungover. Stay up late one night? The next I’m dead, even after two cups of coffee, still dead. I find I yearn for naps in the afternoon sometimes (I am not a nap person). What the heck is going on?

  9. mandy April 29, 2009 at 5:17 pm #

    I dont party nearly as much as I did in the college days, but I do go out on work nights occasionally. Weekends are either incredibly low key and grown up or cookouts and weekend drinking events with friends. It does take longer to recover from a hangover though. =)

  10. anne April 29, 2009 at 6:22 pm #

    Oh if you only knew- I could have posted this today. My head and stomach are just now returning to normal after a late night at Momo’s… let’s just say I should have said no thank you to the last glass of wine.

    Let’s face it, we just can’t hang like we used to !!

    Sad but true.

  11. Amber April 29, 2009 at 7:04 pm #

    Hahaha that’s so funny. I’ve NEVER been like that. I’m only 20 and I’m such a homebody. Even my first couple years of college when I partied hard during the week and on the weekends, there was no way I would get out of bed and go to class the next mornings. Hangovers are soo brutal for me!

  12. AuburnKat April 29, 2009 at 8:18 pm #

    I know the feeling! If I don’t get enough sleep I’m a wreck at work the next day…like I was on Tuesday this week because I got to bed late Monday night. Sometimes it sucks getting old but on the otherhand it doesn’t at times=)

  13. Gigi April 29, 2009 at 8:23 pm #

    I know exactly how you feel! I couldn’t tell you the last time I went out during the week. And when I go out on the weekends? The hangover is inevitable! And…I can’t hold my liquor like I used to. Getting old is sad…but in a way it’s great. I can remember not wanting to go out sometimes when I younger, but getting drug along anyway. Now, you can just say, “Nope, too tired. Have fun!”

  14. Kali April 29, 2009 at 8:38 pm #

    I definitely can’t go out like I did in college anymore! I couldn’t even do it my last semester. LOL. And I’m super jealous you got to go to a game already, it’s been too cold here. I’m for sure going for my friend’s bachelorette party when the Indians play the cards in June. So excited!

  15. andhari April 29, 2009 at 10:12 pm #

    That doesn’t sound bad :) I’m in college and my partying is mostly 2 or 3 nights a week and i’m home by 3 am. I like knowing what I do even if I’m intoxicated and never wanna be wasted :P The other days I come home normally around 9 pm maybe :P

  16. SSG April 30, 2009 at 2:37 am #

    Man, I soooooo know what you mean. I can’t do that any more. I also want time to chill, to read, to have a cup of tea with friends. And I feel old!

  17. SoMi's Nilsa April 30, 2009 at 8:34 am #

    Echo echo echo! I echo everything you say here!

  18. oh April 30, 2009 at 9:38 pm #

    You have class and charm to suck it up and gou out on thursday n ight with your mum (me) and LaCarr. Thanks for going along to the fashion show (although the loud banging music must have been a bit much for you) but such fun it was and you’re a doll.

Leave a Reply

