Because we are clearly a blood bank

5 May

(Actual conversation I had with a not-so-potential client last week)

Walk-In-Lady: I’m interested in a new career. Do I have to tell you my blood type to take classes here? It seems like everywhere I go I have to tell people what my blood type is and I have no interest in doing that.

(Nora’s mind: As much as I respect individuals trying to start over for themselves, wow, are they a little bit on the wacky side.)

Me: No, we certainly do not need to know what your blood type is. What may I do for you?  

(Nora’s Mind: Please be a normal answer, please be a normal answer. Not related to blood types.)

Walk-In-Lady: I also want to make $100k per year. Where can I go to do that?

(Nora’s mind: $100k per year, eh? You aren’t going to like the answer I have for you if you aren’t a fan of blood and blood types. Let’s give it a try anyway since it’s the truth.)

Me: Well the best careers for IT in that case would be in the network administration area, though currently that kind of salary is usually for those who are interested in working second shift or third shift hours. As of late health care, government, defense and education are in need of skilled, certified IT professionals. Do you have any certifications at this point or do we need to start from the beginning?

Walk-In-Lady: NO! No health care. I’m afraid of needles. And they ask about your blood type there, too. Plus I’d have to get a lot of shots and tests to work there. And I don’t want to work third shift. And I don’t want to answer phones and help people. I just want to know what my job is and do it. And not have to tell people my blood type.

(Nora’s Mind: So glad career students aren’t my jurisdiction at the office. And if you want to make $100k in IT unless you magically become the director, yes, you’ll have to work third shift. If you mention blood one more time I’m going to tell you that we do ask for blood types just so you’ll leave me alone.)

(The conversation went on for another five minutes, all of the information I provided her with was not what she wanted. Fortunately she only mentioned blood types one more time.)

18 Responses to “Because we are clearly a blood bank”

  1. butterflycharlie May 5, 2009 at 2:51 pm #

    The only thing I *slightly* miss about working with the general public is the random conversations you have with people! I once had this homeless guy, armed with a crackpipe and a half empty bottle of wine, tell me all about how he’s waiting on his royalty cheques from the songs he wrote for Michael Jackson. But hey, who am i to say he wasn’t telling the truth!

  2. Cassie May 5, 2009 at 3:23 pm #

    I miss my days of crazies. Although she sounds like a lovely brand of crazy! 100k! I’ll take it, where do I sign up? :)

  3. Margarita May 5, 2009 at 3:48 pm #

    Lol too funny!

  4. Amber May 5, 2009 at 6:57 pm #

    Omg, I can’t believe she just marched in saying she wanted to make $100K a year, ridiculous!

  5. kylaroma May 5, 2009 at 6:59 pm #

    lol! Sounds like all she wants to talk about in the world is blood type – what the heck! For 100k I would tell a potential employer a lot more than my blood type, that’s for sure ;)

  6. AuburnKat May 5, 2009 at 8:05 pm #

    I am so happy I don’t work with external clients! They would drive me even more nuts…

  7. caterpillar85 May 5, 2009 at 8:29 pm #

    wow that lady was insane….you are making me nervous for actually getting out in the real world and dealing with these people on a daily basis, oi!

  8. Byron May 5, 2009 at 9:43 pm #

    Oh my gosh! Are you serious?!?!? It’s like you and are crazy-magnets!

  9. Habbala May 5, 2009 at 10:17 pm #

    Wow. That is crazy. And so funny!!!

  10. andhari May 5, 2009 at 10:32 pm #

    LOL that lady got nerves to say that kind of number to you like that. Clearly she’ll stress her future office peers a lot more.

  11. Snarl May 6, 2009 at 1:52 am #

    What the fuck?
    Who knows their blood type?
    Who thinks you can walk into any industry and make six figures?

    I hope I’m AB positive and make $25k out of college. She needs to come down to earth.

  12. SSG May 6, 2009 at 4:05 am #

    ahahhahahahhaahah!!

  13. sleepyjane May 6, 2009 at 5:44 am #

    That is so WEIRD!

  14. Megan May 6, 2009 at 5:53 am #

    Wow, people are crazy!

  15. Fab May 6, 2009 at 8:33 am #

    Hey, giving you an award darling!
    http://fab.typepad.com/brunette/2009/05/award.html

  16. lucklys May 6, 2009 at 10:16 am #

    haha! this reminds me of a comic i read the other day: http://www.picturesforsadchildren.com/index.php?comicID=264

  17. mel May 7, 2009 at 7:08 pm #

    that’s a cute picture! :) messy hair or not!

  18. E.P. May 10, 2009 at 3:42 pm #

    Really? That’s completely ridiculous. I wouldn’t have been able to keep a straight face in having that conversation with her, so nice job!

Leave a Reply

