I’ve Got Soul

6 May

Monday night at the lovely Fox Theater, Irish and I arrived at least 40 minutes early because  a) I’m a very on-time kind of girl and b) because I was really excited about this concert to see The Killers.

Not that it really mattered but this was our first concert together while also being an early one-year anniversary present for Irish, so I was a bit nervous. That and I was curious to see if Irish is the kind of guy who jumps up and down, playing air guitar and singing as loud as he can or if he prefers to silently bob his head and bounce around or perhaps he stands with his hands in his pockets, letting out the occasionally shout/yell/scream and really getting into the music with his head.

(He’s option #3 for those of you who were wondering. I myself jump around when I feel the need, sing to all the songs I know while clapping and screaming incessantly. I suppose I’m like a teenage girl at times.)

The opening band was Chairlift which at first I didn’t like at all because it’s a lot different but it grew on me. I added them to one of my Pandora stations and now that I can understand what they are saying I really like the music. (The mixing was a tad off on Monday evening. Or maybe they were just nervous?) One of their songs that I’m sure many of you know:

I was most thrilled when they covered Snoop Dogg’s Sexual Seduction; they managed to make it a rather beautiful song.

As with any concert there was a significant waiting around period in between Chairlift and The Killers so we watched men decorate the stage, a large backdrop of lights unfurl, flowers were delicately arranged in a vase (though I still don’t know why. They weren’t used) and a huge light-up “K” was brought to the middle of the stage.

All I can really say is that the concert rocked. Live music makes me appreciate the band, the talent, the lyrics in a completely different way than when you listen to the CD. Brandon Flowers, lead singer, has incredible stage presence, jumping around, punching the air, running all over the stage and acting out certain parts of the song as is appropriate. The guitar players were rather subdued comparatively but amazingly talented. (My favorite moment as with any concet is the bass solo. I grew up around the sound of a bass so it makes me smile every time.)

Of course I didn’t bring my camera as the tickets said “NO CAMERAS! SEARCH REQUIRED!” so if I had brought it, they would have searched me and I would have had to return it to my car. However, there was no search. Ah, but the Blackberry can take pictures, and so I did:

killers-one1

killers-two

If you look closely you can see the “K” lighting up in the first picture, just above the crowd, sitting on stage and a tad to the left. It’s kind of funny that you can make out everyone except Flowers, but that is probably because he was busy sprinting across the stage when I snapped these.

Courtesy of Pandora, I stumbled upon this gem, a cover of Dire Straits and in my opinion much better than the original:

23 Responses to “I’ve Got Soul”

  1. Amber May 6, 2009 at 2:34 pm #

    I LOVE live concerts. I’m not a huge music buff, but live concerts are really fun!

  2. mandy May 6, 2009 at 2:52 pm #

    I love, love, love live concerts — doesnt matter if they are huge sold out arenas or smaller club ones. They all make me happy.

    (There are ways around the no camera even with a search. Its how I also get around the two beer minimum.)

  3. Kyla Roma May 6, 2009 at 2:52 pm #

    Ah! Too much fun – I love going to see shows, I’m not usually a fan of big stadium shows but it seems like the right band for that size of show. Glad you had so much fun!

  4. butterflycharlie May 6, 2009 at 2:52 pm #

    I really like Chairlift. I had to get Caroline (the girl singer) to read out a funny, satirical, bizarre re-worked version of The Emperors New Clothes for a feature we used to do. She took it a bit too seriously bless her!

  5. Margarita May 6, 2009 at 2:58 pm #

    I LOVE the killers. I went to their concert back in November and got to meet Brandon Flowers! OOOH he is so hot! I’m glad you had fun!

  6. the girl in stiletto May 6, 2009 at 3:54 pm #

    i don’t like concert per se. but I LOVE THE KILLERS. their songs are like sex to the ears. ahahah. yeah, their cover of romeo & juliet is way way better than dire straits.

  7. caterpillar85 May 6, 2009 at 5:37 pm #

    awww i’m so glad you had a great time! i love the killers as well!

  8. Gigi May 6, 2009 at 8:11 pm #

    That chairlift song is very catchy! I may need that on my Itunes:)

  9. eschete May 6, 2009 at 9:59 pm #

    I like to think of my self as a master at the air guitar

  10. lucklys May 6, 2009 at 10:07 pm #

    another good band to see live is silversun pickups. also ok go. both are very animated and they work up the crowd to the point of pee-in-your-pants-excitement. you know, if you like that kinda thing :)

    i used to like the killers, but my ex ruined them for me. loser.

  11. Krys May 6, 2009 at 11:38 pm #

    I saw this on Twitter and got jealous!!! Sounds awesome!

  12. AuburnKat May 7, 2009 at 5:11 am #

    I haven’t been to a concert in ages!

    I don’t get why they don’t want you to bring cameras in to a concert…

  13. sleepyjane May 7, 2009 at 5:46 am #

    I adore live bands and concerts! The vibe is so awesome. :)

    I’m like you in regard to how I am at concerts. I sing all the songs I know at the top of my voice and jump up and down. So fun!

  14. oh May 7, 2009 at 6:11 am #

    Hey, those pictures are good – atmospheric!

  15. SSG May 7, 2009 at 6:58 am #

    love these songs, love the photos. Mmmm, I want me some new music.

  16. Little Miss Obsessive May 7, 2009 at 7:48 am #

    Ohhh I would love to see them in concert, I bet it was awesome! :)

  17. SoMi's Nilsa May 7, 2009 at 10:10 am #

    Live concerts can be fun so long as the audience is the right make-up. I will never go see Dave Matthews in concert again after all the teenagers pretty much ruined it for me last time.

    BtW, you never did say what kind of concert goer Irish is. Did he totally rock out?!

  18. E.P. May 7, 2009 at 9:15 pm #

    How fun! I’ve never been to a concert with my boy before, and I wonder how he would act though I’m fairly positive he’s option #3, too. Heh.

    And, for the record, I love, love, love the Dire Straits version of Romeo+Juliet. I’m clicking on the Killers version now!

  19. Larissa May 7, 2009 at 11:51 pm #

    I’m so incredibly jealous!!! I used to be in love with the killers…still listen to them, but not as much anymore. they rock tho! I think its funny how you guys showed up so early…best to find your seats early. :D
    Have a wonderful friday/weeked!!!

  20. amy May 8, 2009 at 8:05 am #

    I am so clueless when it comes to music- I have friends who advise me as to who I should be listening to, but I LOVE The Killers!

    I’m jealous.

  21. Carina the Blogarina May 9, 2009 at 9:01 am #

    Hey Nory!

    How you been? I can’t believe you got to go to that concert!You are so lucky. I just heard about this band I and really like them. So glad you enojoyed yourself.

    xoxo
    Carina

  22. Christina May 9, 2009 at 4:31 pm #

    Glad to hear you had an awesome time at the concert! I’ve been to The Killers concert, and it was amazing! I had a great time, and I sang my butt off :)

  23. andhari May 10, 2009 at 12:57 pm #

    LOVEEE your photos, so exciting. I like The Killers, and many shows featured their songs in it. Lucky youuu , glad Irish loved the gift.

Leave a Reply

