The One Where California & New York are Countries

11 May

Since Irish and I have been dating we have been to approximately six or seven weddings and receptions.

Each time we have been seated at the table with the odd couples/persons out. Our friends tell us this is because we are such a dynamic and versatile couple that we can clearly handle anything. Most of the time we make the best of the situation sharing sneaky glances and winks with each other, supressing our laughter and of course, doing a post-mortem of the event on the way home and possibly the day after, depending on how interesting/weird/wacky the stories are.

Saturday night we had yet another wedding reception to attend for a couple that we have been getting to know more of; they live in MWood just a few blocks from me, same age, a lot of fun, etc etc. We were both looking forward to the party as it was at M&K’s house, outside, low-key, beer on tap and really, what could be better?

As soon as we arrived the only people we knew (Irish’s co-workers) left.

We scanned the crowd for other people we may know and this being the StL I of course knew several people from my Mizzou days but not necessarily people who would remember me and/or people I felt like talking too. (I have my reasons, I promise.)

We wandered from room to room, making idle small talk with a few people here and there. And then we were cornered.

Girl: Excuse me, may I ask you two a question?
Irish: Sure.
Girl: Are you guys from somewhere other than StL, like another country?
Irish: What were you thinking?
Girl: Um, Korea?
Nora & Irish in unison: KOREA?
(Side Note: Irish occasionally is asked if he is from Spain. I don’t really see it but it happens. I’m usually asked if I’m from Italy/Greece if this comes up.)
Girl (smacking hand to head): No, I meant California. Are you guys from California?
Irish: No, I’m born and raised St. L.
Nora: Can’t say that I am. Born in NYC and moved around.
Girl: New York? If I could visit one country I would love to visit New York. Are you two engaged? I love weddings!
(Yes, the girl really did say country, not state.)
Irish (shifting uncomfortably): No, we aren’t engaged.
Nora (nervous laughter): Haha, no. Not at this time.
Girl: Oh, I thought you were. I love your dress! So pretty. So how did you two meet?
Irish looks to me for help.
Nora: Through a friend/blind date situation.
Girl: That’s what everyone says. So much better than going online. Why would you do that? Go online to meet crazy people?
Nora/Irish: I don’t know. It’s probably not a smart idea!
Girl: Hey, why don’t you (points at Irish) take her to New York and go skinny dipping or something?
Irish: Well that’s an idea. We’ll have to keep that in mind. We were on our way to grab some food, do you need anything?
Girl: Oh, no. Thank you! You two have a great evening. Great to meet you.

The rest of the party went on in the same fashion. We talked to the strange cousin who looked like Frank from 30-rock, a really sweet Aunt of M’s who had one eye that wandered around while you were talking to her (I never know where to look!), and K’s mom who told us about her very random and unsuccessful blind dates.

As much as I’m a proponent of weddings and parties I’m really glad we don’t have another wedding to attend until October.

23 Responses to “The One Where California & New York are Countries”

  1. SSG May 11, 2009 at 8:24 am #

    that is a helluva lot of weddings. And too funny about being taken to NYC and going skinny dipping, you’ll have to hold Irish to it!

  2. Amber May 11, 2009 at 8:30 am #

    I am amazed at the amount of weddings you too go to!

    That’s pretty hilarious about that girl! There are some strange characters wandering around!

  3. Kyla Roma May 11, 2009 at 8:31 am #

    Weddings are nice….it’s just the guests that get to me!! lol I’ve only been to two weddings ever (yes, one was mine) and at the one where I wasn’t getting married we were at the ‘odd ones out’ table too – and it was just brutal.

    The other guests at our table decided that they wanted to know everything they could about my reasons for not eating meat, and then tell me for the rest of the dinner why I was making the wrong choice… *rolls eyes*

    Awesome night.

  4. the girl in stiletto May 11, 2009 at 8:31 am #

    ahahahahaha cali & NYC another country? and skinny dipping in NYC? she’s freaking hilarious!

  5. caterpillar85 May 11, 2009 at 8:32 am #

    wow, that is crazy! NYC = country… wow someone needs to get out more often :) Happy Monday!

  6. Alesia May 11, 2009 at 8:34 am #

    Sounds like you guys didn’t have to go online to meet a crazy person…

  7. butterflycharlie May 11, 2009 at 8:37 am #

    Brilliant. its conversations like that make events much more interesting

  8. Megan May 11, 2009 at 8:43 am #

    Um. How did she confuse Korea and California?! And New York as a country? Wow.

  9. little miss obsessive May 11, 2009 at 8:56 am #

    WOW.. I hope she was drunk or something to say such silly things.. heh. And I have still never been to ONE wedding and you’ve been to seven this year! Craziness

  10. mandy May 11, 2009 at 9:26 am #

    Was she drunk? Thats just plain awesome and completely random. I have to go to a wedding in September and I’m not looking forward to it.

    Atleast it provides a good laugh though right? LOL.

  11. ria May 11, 2009 at 9:57 am #

    LOL that’s pretty funny, sad that the girl got Korea and California confused though!

  12. Akirah May 11, 2009 at 10:16 am #

    She suggested he take you skinny dipping in NYC? What in the world??? Ha!

  13. Carina the Blogarina May 11, 2009 at 11:21 am #

    OMG!
    I am sorry to be blunt, but this girl sound like an idiot! Country? Suggesting skinny dipping out of the blue? I think you and irish were very good sports about it!!

  14. tara May 11, 2009 at 12:33 pm #

    That is the most graceful exit line I have ever heard! I am totally going to remember that one for all the weddings I have to attend this year.

  15. Larissa May 11, 2009 at 1:02 pm #

    oh how weird is that? skinning dipping in nyc??! no wonder why irish kept giving you the look! lol! i wonder what she was on…

  16. andhari May 11, 2009 at 1:10 pm #

    Go to nyc and go SKINNYDIPPING? HAHAHAHHAAAA whereeeeee anyway, the fountains? lol

  17. Margarita May 11, 2009 at 2:01 pm #

    Um, was that the DIPPIEST girl you’ve ever heard of??? Who was she??? Where was she from?? My sweet lord!!

  18. AuburnKat May 11, 2009 at 6:43 pm #

    I’m hoping that that girl was just drunk! =)

  19. E.P. May 11, 2009 at 7:36 pm #

    Wow. It never ceases to amaze me the random/weird things people say at weddings. Or in life, in general.

  20. Chère May 12, 2009 at 12:16 am #

    LOL…that cracks me up! :) I had a friend who was convinced Africa was a country. It was really embarrassing, but she didn’t know that she was wrong and we couldn’t get it through her head. Finally I think someone sat her down with an atlas or something, at least I hope they did!
    Weddings make for some of the best stories…

  21. SoMi's Nilsa May 12, 2009 at 1:17 pm #

    And here I thought only strange shit happened in New York, the country of course. Hahaha. How strange. If I could’ve asked that girl one thing, I think I would’ve asked her what drug she was on (and conversely, whether she forgot to take her meds).

  22. Lys May 13, 2009 at 12:39 pm #

    …i’m speechless!

  23. Maeko May 14, 2009 at 1:47 pm #

    … Are people really that dumb?

Leave a Reply

