Reasons

12 May

(To see my inspiration for this post, check out Just Tabitha’s co-blog with her fiance! They are getting married in a few short months and Tabitha recently posted about their one year anniversary/everything happens for a reason/how they met story.)

Some time after my first big heartbreak/break-up I convinced myself/accepted/decided that yes, everything does happen for a reason. Along with this philosophy obviously we don’t know how each decision we make is going to change our lives but perhaps they are all intertwined on some higher level that will manifest itself to us when the time is right!?

(I’m not saying I think everything is pre-determined for us, though I do believe in fate. I’m also not saying that whether we decide to have Coke or Pepsi at lunch is going to determine if we become millionaires or not. However, those big life decisions? I like to compare it to a choose-your-own-ending book. You’re never sure you chose the “right,” path until you are on it. Luckily many of us are fortunate and motivated to get ourselves on a new, different path if need be.)

So, back to the “everything happens for a reason,” conversation. I’ve noticed that when I go back through the blog archives I don’t mention much about how I met Irish which was due to the fact that I was kind of over dating at the time and then subsequently didn’t want to jinx it. Here’s the rundown.

If I….

…. hadn’t been on a ridiculous dating rollercoaster which only led to me meeting loser after loser for over three years

…. I wouldn’t have decided that I was totally and completely fed up, thus deciding to focus only on myself (no matter how selfish that sounds!)

…. I wouldn’t have decided that exercising like a crazy person six or seven days a week was necessary

…. and I wouldn’t have injured my shoulder while lifting weights at the gym which also caused issues with my back

…. which means I wouldn’t have gone to the chiropractor to visit my chiropractor friend

…. and she wouldn’t have asked me how the dating world was which ultimately led to me making light of all the terrible, horrible no-good very bad dates I had been on

…. and she wouldn’t have suggested that I meet her then-fiance-now-husband’s good friend

…. and two weeks later she wouldn’t have called me to say that “this guy,” asked for my number after he heard about me and to expect a phone call

…. and then Irish wouldn’t have called me that very night (!)

…. and we certainly wouldn’t have talked on three separate occasions for no less than two hours at a time before our actual first date

…. and we wouldn’t be dating for almost 11 months (which as far as I’m concerned is pretty awesome)

In case you didn’t follow that, Irish and I were set-up by a friend; our first date was (mostly) blind. Confession: I found him on Facebook the night before our first date. The picture threw me off because he didn’t have any facial hair in the profile picture. We were Facebook friends before our first date. Within the first week we went on four dates. After our fourth date Irish traveled to Minnesota where he had NO cell phone service, NO internet and basically NO connection to me. And while he was returning from Minnesota I traveled to Houston, TX for a work conference for a week. The texts and cute notes were bouncing around cell phone satellites and towers, though. Three days after I was back from Houston (and three more dates later), he introduced me as his girlfriend to his very best friends.

And so here we are.

So tell me, how did you meet your current husband/fiance/boyfriend/crush OR what is the worst/best blind date you have ever been on?

18 Responses to “Reasons”

  1. Margarita May 12, 2009 at 1:37 pm #

    Oh that is so cute!!! I love hearing how people got together, this is inspiring! (concocting own blog post in my head… lol) Thanks Nora, that is so super cute the way you brought it together!

    If I hadn’t been dating a guy, who dumped ME (I mean, really, who dumps me???), and I hadn’t gone out the next night with my friend (with only a cab ride there and not enough money to get back home, leaving it to fate and some random stranger to drive us home), and saw an amazing guy at a club (who wasn’t supposed to be there either), and spending the whole night with that guy (even as random other guys I had dated kept bothering me at the club that night), I wouldn’t have met the love of my life… lol.

    Yours is cuter. By far. lol.

  2. Margarita May 12, 2009 at 1:37 pm #

    YAY my comments work!!

  3. the girl in stiletto May 12, 2009 at 1:39 pm #

    believe it or not, i’ve never been to a blind date ahahah. it freaks me out.

  4. andhari May 12, 2009 at 1:42 pm #

    Cutest story ever, not all girls get as lucky as you, being able to stick with someone their friends introduce. Or is it just my girls introducing me to wrong guys all the time? lol

  5. SoMi's Nilsa May 12, 2009 at 2:21 pm #

    Love the not-so-blind date story! =) I met my husband online. He had checked out my profile, but didn’t contact me. So, I contacted him to find out why. The rest is history!

  6. Kyla Roma May 12, 2009 at 3:16 pm #

    Love this! Here’s mine…

    If I hadn’t had stage fright I would have never asked my gr. 9 drama teacher to make me a technical theatre version of the class. She would have never contacted the Fringe Festival, I wouldn’t have worked there for three summers full time between school years, no one would have ever suggested that I go into the tech theater department at my university, and I would have never met my husband who ended up being the Teaching Assistant for the first theatre course I ever took.

    Wilder still? This year I found the original piece of paper that had my drama teacher’s contact at the Fringe all written out on it, which she gave me so I could ask for him when I went to my first volunteer shift that would lead to my summer job.

  7. Amber May 12, 2009 at 4:33 pm #

    That is so freaking cute! Omg, I absolutely LOVED this post, Nora!!! I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately too because…

    If I…

    …hadn’t been a ridiculous wild child when I was 16 I wouldn’t have tried to throw a party at my moms house when she was out of town and I wouldn’t have gotten grounded for an undetermined amount of time because of above party. If I hadn’t gotten grounded I wouldn’t have been SO bored out of my mind that I actually started going to watch the hockey team that my dad coached and my cousin played on all the time. Because there was nothing better to do then hang out with my cousin and his hockey team I quickly developed a crush on one of his teammates: Eric! We crushed/flirted for about five months before he finally “asked me out” (we were in high school, remember! Haha) and we wouldn’t be together today!

    I was just thinking the other day about where I’d be today if I hadn’t tried to throw that party or if I hadn’t gotten caught!

  8. caterpillar85 May 12, 2009 at 4:59 pm #

    wow that is a fantastic story & i love it. thank you so much for sharing. i know you always mention your past dating stories to me when i seem to get down and this really hit home & made me realize that yes, everything does happen for a reason and it will all work out in time :)

  9. Larissa May 12, 2009 at 6:03 pm #

    OH. MY. GOSH! I <3 u after this post! I totally needed to read a story like this. Here I had given up all hope on ever finding someone special especially after the terrible dating rollercoaster I’ve been on!(maybe my current guy will be different) And yes everything happens for a reason if not to lead up to something amazing! *hugs* this post is one of the many reasons why I love reading your posts. they make me happy :D I’m going to save this idea for a rainy day post.
    p.s.- I was wondering when you might write about how you and irish met!

  10. AuburnKat May 12, 2009 at 7:39 pm #

    Seriously, that is just adorable.

    Clearly I’m at the stage of not being the least bit interested in men because I don’t feel like dealing with them!

  11. Tabitha May 12, 2009 at 9:44 pm #

    Love it! Glad I could be a little inspiration to you for this. :-)

  12. SSG May 13, 2009 at 3:17 am #

    If I hadn’t gotten married to an idiot who I then divorced within 2 years I wouldnt have met MrC.
    Fun times!

  13. Chère May 13, 2009 at 10:13 am #

    I gave you a blog award!

  14. Lys May 13, 2009 at 1:49 pm #

    i’ll have to do another post about how j and i met, but it’s going to be more like this, with the whole “if this hadn’t happened” list. i like it! you guys are so great together!

  15. Little Miss Obsessive May 13, 2009 at 2:39 pm #

    Aw, this post made me so happy. :) I do believe everything happens for a reason and its funny how fast it can all happen. Your story gives me hope! <3

  16. ria May 14, 2009 at 1:38 pm #

    i loved this post. it was a different way than just writing out the story. very awesome! :)

  17. mandy May 14, 2009 at 8:59 pm #

    How did I miss this post? I LOVED this….so true sometimes things are just meant to be.

  18. E.P. May 19, 2009 at 12:15 pm #

    I love how randomly y’all met and how wonderful it has been. What good friends who set you up! All the blind dates I have been on have been flops, even though we had fun…

    I’ve never written the story on my blog (because I’m sharing it for a special time), but my boy and I met at the school newspaper where we both worked. I thought he was totally cute, even though he was quiet and reserved compared to the rest of us. That was three years ago. It’s amazing how fast time flies!

Leave a Reply

