Mayday, Mayday

15 May

I’m feeling the bullet concept so here we go….

* SURPRISE! My Aunt & Uncle are flying in today to give my Gram an (early) birthday surprise. I’m looking forward to the weekend of wine, beer, BBQ and nostalgia with my family. Also? I am excited for Irish to meet them. (I met all of his main friends & family within the first four months of us dating. Since my family is spread out he gets to meet them in pieces.)

* May has been an insane month and it’s not even half over. Over 11 birthdays (some are friends/family of Irish, others are mine), some of which snuck up on me so I have some back-pedaling, cards to send and presents to wrap. And of course the ones that are in-town require birthday parties, baking, presents, family time and parties. I don’t remember the last time I was at home, in my sweatpants, lounging around. As of right now all signs point to Nora Relaxation time taking place after Vegas. Exciting to be busy and seeing my friends, yes but also exhausting. Which brings me to…

* I’m tired. I’m tired of: saying yes to everything and feeling guilty if I say no; of overextending myself; people who don’t call me back; friends who complain we don’t talk or hang out yet NEVER call me; rude people; arrogance; the desire to eat chocolate; 10-hour work days; poor Irish having to work late; not getting enough time with Jack; my work clothes ; my hair hair; corporate America.

Plants vs Zombies. Sounds crazy, right? Courtesy of Irish I’m now hooked on a completely silly puzzle game. I plant flowers that have powers to kill zombies. Zombies try to get through the flowers and etc while shouting “BRAINS!” in a very eerie voice.  But did you know that there are zombies who ride dolphins, are on bobsled teams and impersonate Michael Jackson? The game has some very awesome comedic qualities and as Irish says “like a zombie bite I have infected you.”  He’s also excited becuase he’s slowly turning me into a nerd. Awesome.

* School, glorious school. Two weeks from Monday I’m diving back into graduate school classes. In the next 27 weeks I’m taking five classes and will graduate in December with my MBA. I’m dreading the return a little bit but I need to forge on, push through and finish it up! (At least that’s what I keep telling myself.)

* In Livin’ Color. (Anyone remember that show? I wasn’t really allowed to watch it as a kid but I saw glimpses on occasion.) It looks like I’ll be leaving my lovely apartment in August to move home/continue the faux-cohabitation with Irish. The debate over the living situation is enough material for another post but suffice to say Irish and I want to live together but there are some things that are kind of standing in our way. We’re trying to place nice and not piss anyone off so I’ll move home, save up mad money, and continue to more or less live with Irish a few days a week. Should be a win/win.

11 Responses to “Mayday, Mayday”

  1. SoMi's Nilsa May 15, 2009 at 11:07 am #

    It’s not always politically correct, but sometimes we have to learn how to say no, even to things that sound fun or are important to people we know. I think it took me until I was 30 before I learned that lesson. And though I felt bad at first, I realized feeling good physically (which means getting sleep and doing things for me) was sometimes more important than making other people happy. Not that you should do it this May. But, there will be other Mays in your future. Have a great weekend, dear!

  2. Kyla Roma May 15, 2009 at 11:26 am #

    Congrats about almost being there with your MBA! I’ve been considering going back to get mine but all the programs require a 4 year BA, which I don’t have, so it’s this huge process….

    You’re a brave lady!

    And I hear you on the being tired: just know that saying no to people is a valid choice too.

  3. Margarita May 15, 2009 at 11:31 am #

    Aww, it sounds like you have a good weekend ahead of you!

  4. Megan May 15, 2009 at 11:43 am #

    Good luck with school! I was hoping to go back this summer, but it looks like I’ll be waiting until the fall.

  5. Amber May 15, 2009 at 1:50 pm #

    Why are the spring months SO busy, it seems!! Don’t forget to put yourself first too sometimes! Maybe a pedicure or massage should be scheduled into all your busy, busy time!

    That’s great about getting your MBA! Congrats!!

  6. andhari May 15, 2009 at 9:50 pm #

    I hate people like that too, who meet us and squeal and say we have to catch up but they never contact anyway. It’s like dealing with teen boys all over again. And I don’t know..i feel pretty rejected.

    That’s why I treasure my family, nice to know you do too, the family event you gonna have really sounds great!

  7. Kelly May 15, 2009 at 10:50 pm #

    I think I started drooling when I read BBQ!

    The hoodie is from American Apparel. It is like the most awesome worn in soft thing everrr. Like a one of a kind vintage find without having to be washed 800000 times to get the yucky off of it.

    I am also addicted to chocolate and have decided I hate all clients (ha) not just the rude, arrogant, disrespectful, ungrateful ones…mwahaha!

    …and my addictions to not end at el chocolate. No. I have this terrible new addiction to fat free reddi whip. I think they put some chemical (i.e.: highly addictive drug in it) because after work I need a hit. It is insane. And absolutely ludacris. I am like a junkie that has to decrease my intake. I can’t just go cold turkey. Ha-ha!

    Anyway, have a good weekend! :]

  8. Little Fish May 16, 2009 at 2:32 pm #

    May always seems to be hectic because everyone is coming out of hibernation!! Good luck with everything, especially school.

  9. Mel May 16, 2009 at 2:52 pm #

    Good luck with school! Especially with working too!

    I’m not done with grad school until 12/10. UGH.

  10. Krys May 16, 2009 at 4:15 pm #

    Yay for graduate school! I hope I’m right behind you in closing that chapter too!

  11. mandy May 17, 2009 at 7:51 pm #

    Sometimes you just have to say no. Don’t feel guilty. You have to do whats best for you. I am very excited for you to finish school, that is great. =)

Leave a Reply

