The Surprise Weekend

18 May

Ever have a weekend so perfect (and exhausting) that you know despite your best efforts you won’t be able to turn it into a swoon-worthy, do-it-justice kind of a post?

That was my weekend.

I’ll give it a whirl, anyway.

Fabulous. What’s a better way to spend a weekend than with family you haven’t seen in two years? My Aunt & Uncle (on Darling’s side) are some of the most down-to-earth, amazing people I know. I’d think that even if they weren’t my family. They are always up for anything, smiling, and ready to go. Their purpose of coming in town was to surprise my gram and boy did it work. We had her crying (unintentionally, of course) at breakfast when she saw them walk into the restaurant.

Exhausting. I didn’t want to spend much time away from the family since I only see them every few years. (My parents see them more often as they frequent the Florida area.) This mean that I was up super early on Saturday, stayed up well past the point of exhaustion and then repeated the cycle on Sunday. Throw in some manual labor at Gram’s apartment yesterday (willingly, of course) and you get a very tired Nora & Irish.

Nostalgic.  My Gram moved to the StL in November; we helped her move in, unpack, organize and etc yet my dear Gram still has an insane amount of stuff after moving countless times. Yesterday, while helping her sort through piles of things, I found several photos of my Poppy, various decor items that reminded me of their old house in Upstate New York, our trip to London, England five years ago and more. There were moments I wanted to sit down and cry as I was overwhelmed with missing Poppy and the realization that while Gram is really an independent woman she has never been the same without him. (I am resolving to go to her place at least once a month to help her with whatever she may need. I also took the liberty to put various pictures of Poppy up around her place.)

Organizing. My Gram is active with crafty projects (in fact, she even has some projects she sells and donates which is totally awesome) so she has many boxes of yarn, lots of family photos, really great gnome statues (collectibles!) in addition to the various books, artwork, photos, frames, clothing and etc that are important to her. She has a great one bedroom apartment but with very little storage. Irish suggested reorganizing her closets to maximize her space. So we did. Darling and I rearranged some furniture, the Grandfather clock, the crystal hutch and other things to help her out. When we left her place yesterday evening she said she feels like she’s finally moved in and organized! (Disclaimer: Darling and I see Gram once a week but the outings/visits are usually filled with menial things such as grocery shopping, dealing with odds and ends like prescriptions, blah blah blah. We help her as much and as often as we can, wtih Darling putting in a lot of the legwork but  sometimes takes an army of five people to get things in shape and so we did!)

Hilarious. Some things are just funny. Like giving a bunch of Senior Citizen Women “Dream Big,” inspirational placards. Or the fact that every where I looked in Gram’s place yesterday there were lots of silk flowers laying around. Or when Jack was hanging out under the table yesterday morning at my parents and decided to fart, twice. LOUDLY. Or the antique lamp that Darling salvaged from my Gram’s that turned out to be rather phallic looking when it’s plugged in. Add in everyone else’s laughter and it usually winds up being rather humorous.

Surprising. Gram didn’t see her surprise party coming at her apartment community so we pulled that one off well. Throw in there Irish coming to my Gram’s birthday party after his kickball games, how incredibly awesome my brother was all weekend and Irish being a HUGE help all day on Sunday with the heavy-lifiting and organizational ideas at Gram’s and the overall theme of the weekend was indeed surprising. (Side Note: I think I fell in love with Irish all over again this weekend. He was so incredibly awesome with my family on Saturday night and all Sunday, with no complaining, lots of smiles, hugs, willingness to help out. I was and am in awe of how great he is! Words really can’t describe how amazing he was/is.)
 
Romantic. See “Side Note,” above. Irish’s willingness to be so in the moment with my family & I was incredibly romantic to me. Not to mention he brought me a change of clothes when I requested them, took care of Jack all day on Saturday since I was tied up, and hugged me when he could tell I was frustrated/sad.

Loving. With a family as awesome as mine, it’s hard not to have a loving weekend. I couldn’t get enough of the hugs, kisses, close moments for the last few days. I also realized that even though my Gram can drive me up the wall sometimes she’s a pretty together lady with a lot of stories to share. Which reminded me how great a mother I have… which resulted in us making pacts about how we’ll handle things when my parents get older. And Irish. Fantastic, wonderful, thoughtful, caring, compassionate boyfriend. I am so lucky to have him. I’m so lucky to have all of this joy in my life.

And now, if you’ll excuse me I’m going to brainstorm on how I can move to Florida to be closer to my Aunt/Uncle, come up with some really sweet things to do for Irish and send my mom a sweet note letting her know how much I love her.

11 Responses to “The Surprise Weekend”

  1. Amber May 18, 2009 at 4:21 pm #

    You’re so cute, Nora! Your happiness totally shines through in this blog post!

    This post makes me miss my family because when I go visit them even though I am incredibly busy all day, every day I have an amazing time! I guess that’s the wonderfulness of family time!

    It sounds like Irish was fantastic this weekend, that’s so great. I think that a relationship really clicks when you realize your significant other can be completely comfortable around your family!

  2. andhari May 18, 2009 at 5:37 pm #

    So cute, that even makes me happy. I’m not that close with the big family, only with the main one. I probably blame it on my awkwardness.

  3. AuburnKat May 18, 2009 at 6:29 pm #

    That sounds like a wonderful wknd! I always have tons of fun when all my family is around…that is if they aren’t bossing me around…

  4. mandy May 18, 2009 at 7:33 pm #

    I loved this post. I know the feeling about having such an awesome weekend that can’t fully be summed up in words. I am so glad that your Gram was surprised and you had a wonderful time with your family. Irish sounds like a great guy, the two of you are lucky to have each other.

  5. Margarita May 18, 2009 at 9:12 pm #

    Aww, that sounds like such an amazing weekend! You sounds like you have a close family, and that truly is a blessing. You are so lucky to have people so close to you!

  6. Larissa May 18, 2009 at 10:35 pm #

    this sounds wonderful! im so glad you got to see them! sounds like your weekend was amazing…im jealous! its definitely awesome when you can have a weekend like that lol! <3

  7. Kyla Roma May 19, 2009 at 7:35 am #

    Sounds like a big amazing and exhausting/exhilarating weekend! It’s so great that Irish meshed so well with everyone so well & that you had such a full of love time. Yay!

  8. E.P. May 19, 2009 at 12:03 pm #

    This sounds like it was a truly wonderful weekend. It makes me smile just reading the words because I know you’re so happy about it.

    It always makes me deliriously happy whenever my boy wants to spend time with my family and I, especially since he knows of all the crazy goings-on of my family. It’s so lovely whenever he spends time with us.

  9. irishramblings May 19, 2009 at 12:31 pm #

    Looks like my OCD for cleaning/organizing came in handy!
    Something about messes makes me nervous and I can’t relax until things are organized.
    Should have seen this coming when I was 8 years old and I arranged my parents 100+ VHS movies by genre and then alphabetically.

  10. Lys May 20, 2009 at 8:04 am #

    yay for great weekends filled with lots of love :)

    and i’m laughing so hard at irish’s comment, haha

  11. ria May 26, 2009 at 11:05 am #

    you know what…i totally take for granted that C does a lot of things with my family with little prodding from me. thanks for making me open my eyes a little to the romantic things besides surprises and flowers :)

Leave a Reply

