Discoveries

26 May

This past weekend I discovered….

… that I’ve grown up a lot more than I realized. This also means I’ve grown apart/away from some of my friends in ways I never imagined.

… that I don’t have a very high tolerance for ignorance.

… how amazing it can be to laugh over memories from my past, especially those I had forgotten about.

… that Jack is a cuddle-whore and will cuddle with anyone who lets him.

… that my parents are there for me, even if it’s a Saturday night at 10:30 pm when I’m having a mini-meltdown from hosting out of town friends all weekend.

… that bee stings really freakin’ hurt!

… that Irish will always be there for me. To take care of the bee sting. To walk Jack. To tell me it will all be okay when I realize that my life is quickly changing.

… that StL has a lot more to offer than I thought, especially when I heard my out-of-town friends marvel at all there is to do here.

… that I have a very unusual love for penguins. I think I’ve been to the penguin exhibit at the zoo at least 15 times. No joke.

… that receiving a stuffed animal still makes me smile more than I thought it would. (Irish bought me a mini stuffed penguin at the zoo. His name is Petey, in case you were wondering.)

… that a glass of wine really can cure everything. At least temporarily.

… that Greek food is positively amazing.

… that you can’t beat original jewelry for less than $5  a piece.

… that I can be a darn good hostess. Within the span of one weekend my friends tried & enjoyed toasted ravioli, provel cheese, Ted Drewe’s and Amighetti’s sandwiches  as well as my mom’s homecooking (all thinks unique to StL). We went to the Arch, the zoo, the museum, checked out the New Cathedral, the Landing, went to a winery, a Greek Festival, a local brewery & bbq festival, rolled down a hill (since FL is flat they wanted to roll down a hill), saw a live band, crashed a retirement party (not my idea!),told stories about my city, and showed them a few local bars. I was up before 8 am each day so needless to say it wasn’t a relaxing weekend but the girls wanted to see the city and so they did.

… that even though there were moments when I was stressed over the weekend when all was said and done, I missed my childhood friend within moments of dropping her off at the airport.

… that I move at a much slower pace than I once did. Blame it on age, my work schedule, the fact that I’m in a relationship, whatever you want. But it’s true. I need more downtime than I used to.

… that even while I was enjoying a break from the internet/twitter/blogs/email, I missed my blog friends.

… that I’m more nervous about going to Vegas than I thought.

… that even if given the opportunity I’m not sure I’d move away from StL. I have made a home for myself here. I really do kind of love it.

… that I am a lot stronger (mentally, emotionally, even physically) than I thought I possible when I need to be.

16 Responses to “Discoveries”

  1. andhari May 26, 2009 at 1:57 pm #

    You’re a perfect hostess to make sure your guests experience new things and see new sights like that :D

  2. tabithablogs May 26, 2009 at 2:33 pm #

    Dang, you DO sound like a pretty great hostess! :-P

  3. Liz May 26, 2009 at 3:19 pm #

    “cuddle-whore” LOL! Loves it.

  4. Amber May 26, 2009 at 3:32 pm #

    Wow! Busy weekend! Sounds great though, I know it can be SO stressful having friends over at your place and showing them around etc. I always have a mini-breakdown when we have people come to visit us but then I usually end up feeling sad when they leave!

  5. Jennifer May 26, 2009 at 3:42 pm #

    I can relate to so much that your wrote! Bee stings do hurt! I stepped on one in Hawaii and wanted to cry! And I love reminiscing and laughing about fun childhood memories.

    Looking forward to meeting you at Liz’s birthday dinner!

  6. Kyla May 26, 2009 at 3:53 pm #

    You grew as a person and then got stung by a bee?? Oh my gosh – this does sound like a busy weekend.

    We can be each other’s Vegas emotional support, how about that? I can be the qwivering mess that orders the drinks. Then I’m niche. lol

  7. Margarita May 26, 2009 at 5:10 pm #

    I’m glad your weekend went great! You fabulous hostess you!! It’s crazy when we think about growing up, isn’t it? I’ve realised this too when I meet up with old school friends, and suddenly it’s like we’re worlds apart and I really have grown more than I thought. It happens. It makes us who we are. Enjoy it ;)

    ps. I’m terrified of getting stung by a bee because I’ve never had it before…. terrified.

  8. Larissa May 26, 2009 at 5:44 pm #

    You are always having such fun weekends! Maybe I should come visit? lol! I’ll let you rest from your hosting duties first of course. :D

    Bee stinks suck…hopefully you arent allergic to them? I hope its getting better.

    you’re nervous about vegas? you’ll have so much fun girl! I’m sad I missed the opportunity to go. :( I’ll definitely be on the boat next time.

    and penguins? whats not to love?

  9. caterpillar85 May 26, 2009 at 6:17 pm #

    wow there is a lot in this post but first and foremost… we missed you too :)

    greek food is amazing!!

    i can totally relate to growing up/apart from friends, its only been a few weeks into this transition of my life but i can already relate!

  10. AuburnKat May 26, 2009 at 7:37 pm #

    I’m so jealous that you get to go to Vegas! I would have definitely went if it was on a different wknd!

    I’ve definitely been nervous before I’ve meet other bloggers too but once I met them I had so much fun!

  11. Habbala May 26, 2009 at 9:37 pm #

    Isn’t it crazy how the growing up thing catches you by surprise sometimes? Even this break up has made me feel really grown up, and self-confident… which is kind of amazing.

    I wish I could go to Vegas!!! Next blogger trip– I will BE there. And thank you my dear friend for being so amazing.

  12. Megan May 27, 2009 at 7:05 am #

    Wow, sounds like you had a busy weekend. It’s somewhat sad when you realize that you and childhood friends have changed.

  13. mandy May 27, 2009 at 8:02 am #

    Its always good to make these new discoveries about yourself. They make you even more awesome. =) It is sad to grow apart from your childhood friends, but generally there are others who get you even more now, even if you’ve never met them face to face. Meeting bloggers is kind of nervewracking — do you talk about blogging, real life, what if they dont like you – but once you say hi, all of that fades away and its just like hanging out with real life freinds. =) You will have a fantastic time in Vegas and I can’t wait to hear all about it.

  14. Lys May 27, 2009 at 8:09 am #

    i love greek food! and i agree with mandy wholeheartedly. girl took it right out of my mouth. or fingers.

    also, i can’t wait to meet you, but i’m nervous too. i’ll just follow you around like a duckling.

  15. SSG May 27, 2009 at 9:35 am #

    woah sounds an amazing weekend! What a great hostess, really. I love being busy but find too that I do need more downtime than previously- or things get on top of me more than they used too. I’ve never heard of provel cheese or amighetti sandwhiches, my first day in NYC today and I am very much looking forward to US food!

  16. Little Miss Obsessive June 1, 2009 at 7:26 am #

    Most of these things you realized were very good and positive things which makes me happy. :) I totally still love getting stuffed animals too! hah

    I wish I was going to the Vegas meetup! :(

Leave a Reply

