May 2009 Recap

29 May

Want a real post with some substance written by me? I’m guest posting for Lys today on My Roads Not Taken. Hope you enjoy the post and Lys’ new home!

Current Book(s):
The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd
The Dark Lover, by J.R. Ward (it’s my plane book for Vegas. Haven’t started it yet!)

Current Music:
The Killers
The CD that SleepyJane made for me
Paul Simon
The Supremes
(yeah, my music is all over the place. I’m aware)

Current Shame-Inducing Guilty Pleasure:
Frozen Junior Mints

Current Colors:
Black, blue, white

Current Obsessions:
Making weekly meal plans
Going to sleep at a normal time (I’ve been in bed by 10:30 every night for the last week)
Finding time to relax

Current Drink:
Rich Chocolate Slim Fast
Water

Current Songs:
Funny the Way It Is,
Dave Matthews Band

Current Movie:
I’m craving a Sex & The City Movie night so we’ll go with that

Current TV Show:
True Blood (new season starts June 14th)
Rescue Me
Moonlight (sadly we are on the last disc)

Current Fave Photo:
At the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure StL last year (with Darling). I hope to do it again in June. I may even run it instead of walk.

DSCN3499


Current Wish-List:

More hours in the day
Melt away five pounds magically (hahaha, yeah right)
A few new clothes for summer for both fun & work

Current Needs:
Go Grocery Shopping
Dye my hair again before Vegas (wow, this is a fascinating list.)
To print the millions of pictures I’ve taken in the last year for framing, scrapbooking, sending to friends

Current Triumph(s):
I’ve cut back on unnecessary spending
Learning to go with the flow more

Current Bane(s) of my Existence:
Graduate school. Starts on Monday. I love it once I’m there but the homework is going to stink.
Figuring out when I will have the time to move out of my apartment

Current Goal(s):
Make a weekly schedule for myself which outlines school time/work time/gym time
Four days a week at the gym
Healthier grocery shopping

Current Indulgence:
Ted Drewe’s ice cream, please

Current Blessing:
That after Vegas my social life kind of dies down. I kind of need a break.
As usual my awesome friends, family, dog

Current Slang or Saying:
Oh really?

Current (Fav) Outfit:
White “boyfriend cut,” pants from the Gap and my silk black top from Banana Republic

Current Excitement:
VEGAS.
Returning from Vegas and relaxing for a bit.
Coming up with a few fun presents to give Irish on our one year
Jack is almost five!
Moving home = save up lots of $$ = happy Nora

Current Mood:
Overwhelmed.

And with my current mood mentioned, please be aware that I may be a tad more absent from blogging as I dive into my final five graduate school courses headfirst. No, no, not at all once. I have three nine-week semesters between now and then end of 2009. I’m taking two classes each for the next two semesters and then my final class October-December. If I’m not working, sleeping, eating, attempting to be a good girlfriend, friend, sister, daughter, dog-mother I’ll have my head stuffed in books and notes for awhile.

13 Responses to “May 2009 Recap”

  1. mandy May 29, 2009 at 1:04 pm #

    I picked up the Secret Life of Bees as few weeks ago, its coming up on my list of books to read. Yay for graduate school — just think of how good it will feel to be finished! (Send me your new address when you move, please.)

  2. Amber May 29, 2009 at 1:16 pm #

    I just love your monthly recaps! I’m excited for you to start grad school, you will be a VERY busy bee though that’s for sure!!

    You’re moving home?? Did you blog about this and I missed it or is it old news!? Haha

  3. Gigi May 29, 2009 at 1:24 pm #

    You will be missed in bloggy-world, but I’m so proud of you for finishing up school! I know from experience how hard it is to juggle everything, but I know you can do it!!!

    P.S. Ever tried the cappuchino slim fast? It’s really tasty!

  4. SSG May 29, 2009 at 1:36 pm #

    Hey Nora! Don’t apologise to us, grad school is important and it’s just a final push and you’ll be done, and be really happy about what you’ve achieved through hard work and determination! It’s a shame Irish reads your blog because I want to hear about the cool ideas you’ve thought for his present… you guys going to be doing anything special? xx

  5. Larissa May 29, 2009 at 2:06 pm #

    do not worry about the being MIA for school. school is most important- you have to do well.

    I saw secret life of bees and it became an instant favorite! and frozen junior mints? I used to do that in high school, my parents always wondered what I was doing. :D

    and i sent you a msg on twitter, when caterpillar and I figure out plans for me coming to visit her in GA, which hopefully will be late august, early septemeber, we will let you know! I’d love to spend a weekend with the two of you <3

  6. Margarita May 29, 2009 at 2:49 pm #

    Well I hope with all you’ve got going on you’ll still remember your bloggy friends, lol! Carry on with life, have fun and keep your head calm :)

  7. Kyla May 29, 2009 at 3:56 pm #

    Oh! Oh! What era of Paul Simon are you listening to? So good! =)

    Grad school is going to be a *huge adventure* I’m so excited for you!

  8. Kelly May 29, 2009 at 5:50 pm #

    I read Dark Lover! It was pretty good. I think I like the Sookie Stackhouse books better, but it was a good vampire read…ha-ha I bought the first 5 in that set, but that’s the only one I have read so far.

    The final five classes?! That’s so awesome. MAJOR accomplishment. I hope yall have fun in Vegas!

    P.S. I am getting my hair dyed this weekend toooo! I saw you tweeted it, but the bosses were hovering so I couldn’t @reply back. Boo work!

    Have a good weeeeeekeeennndd!

  9. oh May 29, 2009 at 11:46 pm #

    You go, Gorgeous!

  10. uberfrau May 30, 2009 at 1:07 am #

    I can’t believe they canceled moonlight, that was myf riday night guilty pleasure

  11. andhari May 30, 2009 at 3:13 am #

    SATC night sounds good, I’m craving good old girls night out :)

  12. the girl in stiletto May 31, 2009 at 6:54 pm #

    i loveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee moonlight!!!!! alex o’loughlin is plain hot!!! and jason dohring………
    sigh why did they cancel the show!! :(

  13. Lys June 3, 2009 at 10:16 am #

    yay for: the secret life of bees, true blood!, melting pounds, and ALMOST anniversaries (and birthdays, happy early b-day puppy!)!

Leave a Reply

