Vegas Buzz

2 Jun

Three Days! THREE. DAYS.

There are some great posts floating around about Vegas, such as ground rules by BelleRenee, a wishlist from Rachel and a great pie chart courtesy of Mr. 5280 and LilySpeak.

I’ve exchanged a flurry or emails with Kyla, Lys and E.P about preparations, things to do, what to do, how to do it, who is packing what, what our first drinks will be more and most importantly, how much time will be spent poolside.

I’ve started reading new, awesome blogs as a result of this trip and the huge list of people going to Sin City.

I’ve gotten insanely nervous. Then crazy with excitement. Then worried about all the stupid girlie crap that goes with meeting girls for the first (or second, or third time, for that matter). Then it hit me: I’ve been letting all of these girls into my life for the last year (some of you longer, maybe?). Chances are those of you who read this blog know me better than my “real,” friends. Maybe even better than I know myself at times.

You’ve never judged me before.

You’ve been kind, supportive, hilarious, insightful, sweet and above all awesome. This is true for all my blog viewers/readers/commenters/friends, not just those going to Vegas. (And if you aren’t going to Vegas this weekend, I wish you were. We shall meet up another time! I will make it happen.) I have no reason to expect this weekend will be any different.

So my rules?

1. Have a fruity cocktail or equivalent in hand at all times.
2. Soak up as many rays as possible.
3. Take as many photos/videos as my friends will allow. (I like photos. And I promise I won’t go posting these on Facebook or my blog unless you want me to for the sole purpose of sharing them. So long as my blog address isn’t attached to any photos of me on FB, I’m fine!)
4. See at least three new things I’ve never seen in Vegas before.
5. Have crazy late night discussions about anything and everything with my roomies and our neighbors.
6. Find some delicous Vegas-style Mexican food.
7. Try my hand at Blackjack or Roulette. I still have yet to approach a table when in Vegas.
8. Track down Vegas-style beef jerky for Irish. (Well that’s more of a goal than a rule as it’s hard to find.)
9. Only use my Blackberry to communicate with fellow Vegas-ers, Irish and my family.

And just for fun, me, last time I was in Vegas (with longer hair and probably and lovely chipmunk cheeks):

vegas shot

21 Responses to “Vegas Buzz”

  1. butterflycharlie June 2, 2009 at 1:23 pm #

    This Vegas thing sounds like so much fun! Just one question though….what the hell is beef jerky?!

  2. kylaroma June 2, 2009 at 1:40 pm #

    You’re too cute – I’m getting really nervous & excited too – I think the buzz around Vegas is that we’re pracically buzzing with anticipation for it lol

    I had my first real blogger meet up this week and it was really wonderful – I’m sure it’s just a sign of things to come. We’ll have so much fun. Can’t wait!

  3. amber June 2, 2009 at 2:08 pm #

    You’re going to have an amazing time!! Jealous! Can’t wait to see pics!

  4. Rachel June 2, 2009 at 2:10 pm #

    VEGAS!!! i’m so excited to hang out with you and do everything on that list!! (well, minus the beef jerky thing. gross. :) )

  5. Habbala June 2, 2009 at 2:20 pm #

    Have SO much fun. Can’t wait to see pictures and hear stories!

  6. mandy June 2, 2009 at 2:38 pm #

    Can you please amend #10 to include me and from time to time shoot me a text message about all the fabulousness you are having since I won’t be there. Please? =)

  7. ria June 2, 2009 at 2:46 pm #

    i’m so jealous! have an awesome time!!!

  8. Liz June 2, 2009 at 3:32 pm #

    Hey is that the blue dress I love? I hope you come back with lots of fun stories to tell! And of course, pics. How can you NOT have fun with a bunch of girlfriends while in VEGAS?! I’m sure the weekend will go by way too fast.

  9. Lily June 2, 2009 at 3:49 pm #

    So excited! I can’t believe this happens THIS WEEKEND! :)

  10. Margarita June 2, 2009 at 4:41 pm #

    OMG I’m so jealous ;)
    Have a ton a fun for me while you’re there (that means double the drinks, girlie!)
    **did you ever get my card??

  11. reederscorner June 2, 2009 at 5:13 pm #

    You guys are going to have so much fun!!!

  12. AuburnKat June 2, 2009 at 8:38 pm #

    You are going to have so much fun and I am extremely jealous too!!!

  13. Akirah June 2, 2009 at 10:12 pm #

    Have fun! Make good choices! ;)

  14. Megan June 3, 2009 at 6:15 am #

    I hope you all have fun!! :)

  15. Matt June 3, 2009 at 7:57 am #

    Theres this mexican restaurant inside New York New York called Gonzales-something, anyway- best mexican food I have found in Vegas so far.

  16. SoMi's Nilsa June 3, 2009 at 10:54 am #

    Have fun and be safe (sternly said by the 30-something in the crowd)!

  17. Lys June 3, 2009 at 11:43 am #

    yes to all of the above! and that mexican place will be the first stop for me, i’m going to need my fix after a day spent in the air.

    i can’t wait to meet you!!

  18. Little Miss Obsessive June 3, 2009 at 12:19 pm #

    I wish I was going… :(
    Have a great time!!

  19. SSG June 3, 2009 at 4:25 pm #

    I’d love to go to Vegas one day, and I hope you have a great time. I think the only thing I’d find difficult if i read a couple of people’s blogs but not others, so I wouldn’t know the back story of some people, that others knew. But then I am kinda scared about meeting new people, or sounding like an idiot, but Nora you will be great, how could anyone not like you!! :)

  20. katelin June 3, 2009 at 7:29 pm #

    yay yay for vegas! i cannot wait :)

  21. ceecee June 6, 2009 at 11:53 am #

    Have FUN on your Vegas trip. Be safe, but also enjoy yourself! You had a great list as well as bellerenee’s list :-D

Leave a Reply

