The Story of Jack & His Dog Bed

3 Jun

A few months into my relationship with Irish, he suggested we (I) get Jack a dog bed.

I was nervous as to how Jack would take to the bed considering I had spoiled him as a pup: comfy blankets and towels in his crates; sleeping next to me on my bed starting at age two until, well about a year ago. 

Knowing Jack’s propensity to tear apart things that are fluffy I thought surely I’d come home one day to see a massacred dog bed in my living room.

Maybe it’s because I took Jack with me to PetSmart to choose his own bed.
Or maybe it’s because I coaxed him into the first night with a few treats.
But ever since I brought that bed home about nine months ago, Jack and the bed have been rather inseparable.

Sure, during the day Jack will jump on the couch and the bed but fortunately lint rollers and vacuuming take care of the dog-hair-disaster that he leaves behind.

But at night? He gets all unsettled if his bed’s not in the same room as us. Or if he can’t find it. Or get to it.

Last night, after schlepping my Vegas suitcase, my “regular,” suitcase, school work and all of Jack’s necessities to Irish’s place, we left the dog bed (accidentally) on top of one of Irish’s chairs. Suddenly we noticed that Jack wasn’t in the room and instead looked like a Dog King, lying in a bed atop a very comfortable reading chair:

jack on bed in chair

When I clean, I move the dog bed which receives a look of disapproval from Jack, not to mention he follows the bed from room to room, making sure a) I’m not throwing it away and b) that we aren’t leaving on a road trip.

If we do go on a “road trip,” either to my parents’ or Irish’s house, Jack stays close to his bed:

jack in car

 

<all photos taken by Blackberry camera so please excuse the Demon Dog eyes & bad lighting. Photo Credits: Irish (bed on chair) and Nora (bed in car)>

17 Responses to “The Story of Jack & His Dog Bed”

  1. Margarita June 3, 2009 at 3:12 pm #

    Aww, what a cute dog!! That’s such a sweet little story!

  2. Liz June 3, 2009 at 3:54 pm #

    Champ does the exact same thing. It’s adorable.

  3. nova June 3, 2009 at 4:01 pm #

    Jack is the cutest. He looks so sweet and innocent. I couldn’t even picture him doing anything bad!

    I’m so jealous you’re going to Vegas. I’m in desperate need for a vacation, and I’ve never been to Vegas. Take lots of photos!

  4. mandy June 3, 2009 at 4:04 pm #

    awwww, Jack is so darn adorable! I think its great that he loves his bed. When we first added Sandy to the family, we bought a very expensive dog bed, she would only lay on it if someone else was laying on it with her. She prefers carpet samples (yeah the squares of carpet you get at the store) or a human bed. Shes definitely spoiled.

  5. Amber June 3, 2009 at 4:11 pm #

    Hahaha, that’s too cute. My mom spoiled her dog rotten by letting him sleep with her the first two years of his life, then when he got to be 100 pounds he was a little bit too big and she had to train him to sleep in his dog bed. Well, finally after piling about five blankets on his dog bed so it was almost the same height as her bed he started sleeping in it! HA! He is definitely the most spoiled dog I’ve ever seen and he’s a golden lab so you cannot wear black in that house or you’ll be covered with hairs!!

  6. Kyla Roma June 3, 2009 at 4:20 pm #

    Um – so unspeakably cute!! Our puppies are the same way about their crates, as long as they have them, they’re safe & happy.

  7. ria June 3, 2009 at 7:21 pm #

    that is absolutely adorable!

  8. SoMi's Nilsa June 3, 2009 at 8:50 pm #

    Love Jack in his dog bed. SoMi has two different dog pillows. We used to keep one next to our bed, but seeing that she sleeps in our bed, we rendered it useless. Now, one is in the kitchen, where she will hang out when we are cooking/eating. And the other is by my desk, which she rarely uses unless she has a toy in her mouth and wants to play (kinda like, see mom, I’m behaving, now come play with me!!!). Dogs are such funny creatures!

  9. brookem June 3, 2009 at 9:04 pm #

    aww. i love that story! and he’s such a cute pup!

  10. sleepyjane June 4, 2009 at 1:33 am #

    This is adorable! :) Lila and Rusty had a bed – but tore it to pieces. Now we have littloe fleece blankets all around the house so they can bundle up in whichever room we’re in. God forbid we leave them alone in a room. So dramatic. *rolls eyes*

  11. AuburnKat June 4, 2009 at 5:03 am #

    So cute!!! I love how animals get attached to certain things! Each of my cats have their favorite toys that I always make sure to pack in their carrier with them when I move…

  12. Lys June 4, 2009 at 10:34 am #

    aww, what a cutie :) he looks so comfy and happy with his bed. does he have a toy that he cuddles with too?

  13. Rebekah June 5, 2009 at 9:18 am #

    Puppers needs a place to feel safe and secure! My cat hates her carrier unless she’s let out in someplace other than her house. Then she wants right back in because the carrier means home.

    Jack’s doggie bed means he always has some way to be home, even if you have to take him somewhere else.

  14. andhari June 5, 2009 at 12:18 pm #

    Aww he really sees you like a mom :) Very cute!

  15. oh June 5, 2009 at 9:36 pm #

    these pictures are great! he’s such a babyhead. geez, dont’ we all love dog stories? Keep ’em coming! and hugs to my little Jackie!

  16. ceecee June 6, 2009 at 11:36 am #

    Awww that’s so adorable! I’m glad Jack is enjoying his new bed :)

  17. Elly June 9, 2009 at 3:23 pm #

    Oh cuteness! My Pup Quinn has a bed that he actively shuns in favour of wherever the people are. And your pup is so adorable! Hurrah for cute pups :)

Leave a Reply

