Where seatbelts are the law but sex sells on the street

9 Jun

I’m sure many of you are 100% sick of reading about Vegas but I’m not 100% done talking about it, so here’s Round Two.

Highlights of Nora’s Trip to Vegas

* The lovely KylaRoma greeted me in the lobby of the Luxor upon my arrival.

* She introduced me to three fabulous Chicago Bloggers that I didn’t even know existed (shameful, really)

* Lots of time spent poolside with most of the 26 ladies

* Friday night buffet with all the lovely ladies (and men!) who dared to brave the trip

* Laughing with Lys as two guys who were walking behind us tried to get us to turn around by shouting obscene and random things at us.

* Having my bra spontaneously pop on the strip. Kyla came to the resuce. EP has pictures to prove it.

* Piano Bar. Need I say more?

* $5 wine at Lefferino, home of great happy hour specials and award-winning bathrooms with the entire gang

* Cheering Mr.5280 on when he received random high-fives from totally confused strangers.

* Walking from the Luxor all the way to the Venetian and living to tell about (while still nursing a swollen, painful left foot)

* Taking Diabolo’s Cantina by storm and turning it into Drunken Diablo’s. A margarita that tasted like tequila & ice, a double lemon drop shot, and a “Strong,” mojito not to mention ah-maz-ing Mexican food.

* Dancing around Drunken Diablo’s thanks to a DJ who played the perfect mix of songs. Also: when you’re drunk, every song is your favorite song.

* Getting really excited when my roomie (E.P.) and a handful of lovely Chicago bloggers joined us at Drunken Diablo’s.

* Laughing with E.P. about our “butt cuddles.”

* Hanging out with Renee on our return trip to the airport where we encountered a really drunk guy who cut in line, told us he liked Renee’s glasses and proceeded to stare at us the whole time

* Being able to wander off with just a handful of girls at a time to get to know them better.

* The power of the internet. Seriously, Al Gore, you rock.

* Favorite quote of the weekend: “How can seatbelts be the law when prostitutes are legal?”

(In the interest of many blogger’s requested anonymity I will not be posting many pictures of this trip.)

28 Responses to “Where seatbelts are the law but sex sells on the street”

  1. Chère June 9, 2009 at 4:33 pm #

    That’s hilarious. I’m so totally jealous! But, I’ve found a way to benefit from your ridiculously awesome trip – I’m discovering all these fab new blogs to read ;)

  2. Andrea June 9, 2009 at 4:46 pm #

    Hold on – your bra broke, too? Was this The Weekend of Bra Problems, or what? Between your bra popping, Doni’s bra splitting in half and Nicole’s bra not wanting to stay on, I think we had the range of bra troubles covered. That’s hilarious.

  3. Renee June 9, 2009 at 4:56 pm #

    Pretty sure the lovely Nora greeted me in the lobby… And my life will never be the same!

  4. sarahdotcom June 9, 2009 at 5:36 pm #

    oh, what fun.
    the fact that i am SO HAPPY you guys all had such a great time eases the jealousy.. a tiny bit ;)

  5. rachel June 9, 2009 at 5:39 pm #

    life is amazing and this weekend was proof. xoxo

  6. Steph June 9, 2009 at 5:42 pm #

    Singing Journey was the highlight of my trip, what fun! So glad to meet you and so many awesome people!!! I can’t wait for the next one! I will be staying ALL weekend next time!

    You are awesome.

  7. Phil June 9, 2009 at 5:44 pm #

    This weekend was SO fun. EP told me you would be there but I had no idea you’d be as fabulous as you are!

  8. Amanda June 9, 2009 at 6:04 pm #

    My heart is being warmed more and more by everyone’s recaps! I agree that it’s so awesome that everyone had such a different but ultimately amazing experience on this trip!

  9. Jessica June 9, 2009 at 6:15 pm #

    Awesome bulleted write up. Very well done. I know we didn’t know each other before this weekend but I’m really glad I got to meet you. Chicago to STIL road trip coming up!!!

  10. mandy June 9, 2009 at 8:24 pm #

    I love me some of those Chicago bloggers. I am so happy that you had such a great time. =)

  11. oh June 9, 2009 at 8:29 pm #

    Your shout out to Al Gore on this entry made me LOL!!!!

  12. Erin June 9, 2009 at 8:59 pm #

    I definitely feel a road trip coming on!

  13. SoMi's Nilsa June 10, 2009 at 7:40 am #

    Sounds dreamy. I need me a weekend getaway. If only I could tag my 5-10 favorite blogger gals to meet up with me. Not anyone else, just my favs. Life would be grand. =)

  14. Kyla Roma June 10, 2009 at 7:57 am #

    Las Vegas was snapping bras left right and centre! I don’t need to say how much I love you, do I? You’re the wind beneath my bloggy wings, lady ; )

  15. Andhari June 10, 2009 at 12:04 pm #

    WOWWWWW, I’m so jealous and amazed. It’s alaways amazing when bloggers turn into irl friends and they visit each other <3

  16. Lily June 10, 2009 at 2:16 pm #

    I just posted this on your Facebook but WHAT IS UP WITH THE BRA POPPAGE!? I’m still writing my post (it’s taken me three freaking days to even start to find words for it!), but already have included this little morsel complete with photographic evidence.

    Of the bra… not of me not wearing it…

    Anyway, MISS YOU and I can’t even begin to tell you how absolutely amazing it was to meet you! :)

  17. Larissa June 10, 2009 at 2:25 pm #

    i keep saying it, but im so jealous! i’m really hoping things work out in the fall with meeting caterpillar in GA, so you can come meet us too! :D I’m glad you had a wonderful time.

  18. katelin June 10, 2009 at 5:12 pm #

    what a great recap and fabulous highlights. it was so fun meeting you this weekend! loved it all!

  19. nicoleantoinette June 10, 2009 at 8:38 pm #

    Sigh. Vegas. Let’s go back right this second!

  20. SSG June 11, 2009 at 1:16 am #

    awh sounds GREAT! jealous!

  21. Matt June 11, 2009 at 10:56 am #

    Im so glad Al Gore created the internets.

  22. austin June 11, 2009 at 10:57 am #

    Just found your blog through Turquoise Ribbons. Love it! You have a new reader :)

  23. Just K June 11, 2009 at 2:34 pm #

    those damn prostitutes!

  24. Allie June 14, 2009 at 4:49 pm #

    Loved getting to know you. We must meet again (we’re just an Amtrak ride away, right?)

  25. Little Fish June 15, 2009 at 7:54 am #

    SOunds awesome… I’m jealous!! Glad you had such a great time!

  26. Margarita June 15, 2009 at 3:52 pm #

    I’m still jealous about Vegas, lol, but keep talking about it! It sounds like you had a blast!!

  27. Mel June 15, 2009 at 4:23 pm #

    I’m SOOOOO jealous about the Vegas Trip!! :p ME WANTED TO GO SO BAD!

    * I LOVE the Al Gore note. ;D*

  28. E.P. June 16, 2009 at 2:00 pm #

    I love this post, and I love you SO MUCH!

    Hopefully, we’ll get to hang out in about a month!

Leave a Reply

