Monday GiST

15 Jun

I’m just as guilty as anyone else I’ve whining, bitching and moaning on a Monday.

Call it a Case of the Mondays.

Call it a quarterlife crisis.

Whatever it is, I realize I need to overcome the Monday Blues, especially on a rainy day which makes it 100 times harder to get out of bed so while the world is all doom and gloom, I’ll try to sparkle and smile today.

Things that will help me stay positive:

1. Wearing my new black patent leather peep-toe shoes I found at Marshalls which is the first time I’ve ever found anything at that store, which I suppose is a “win,” in itself.

2. A cup of green tea brewing next to me. I’m trying to caffeinate without soda this week.

3. The insane amount of spring cleaning Irish and I accomplished over the weekend at his place, complete with a donation pile, new shelves to house books, and repurposing a coffee table to open his living room.

4. Chorizo dip. We made our own yesterday in the mini crockpot (a gift from Irish) using ingredients from a local Mexican Market. It tasted almost like the queso fundido from our favorite Mexican restaurant.

5. Two days until the Dave Matthews Band concert.

6. Having a personal day approved for June 23 so that Irish and I can be together on our one-year anniversary.

7. “The Hangover.” Seriously, go see it. I laughed the whole time.

8. Making plans with Darling to see “My Life in Ruins,” this Saturday.

9. Heading out on a walk with Jack and Irish to Starbucks to purchase my newest addition: Non-Coffee Double Chocolately Chip Cream drink.

10. Duds n’ Suds = the name of the new laundromat that Irish and I found. They serve beer, have a big screen TV and a large sitting area. Double bonus: next to the Mexican Market, a Mexican restaurant as well as Subway. It’s a tad pricier than the other places but the dryers really work, it’s clean and offers more than any other place we’ve been to.

11. Impromptu trips for ice cream. Great way to end a weekend.

12. Falling alseep to the sound of Jack snoring and “Sister Act,” on TV. I can be such a child sometimes.

13. Coming up with a workable plan for moving out of my apartment in the next few weeks.

25 Responses to “Monday GiST”

  1. Kyla Roma June 15, 2009 at 8:47 am #

    Ah! Does this mean you’re for sure moving? Very cool! Impromptu trips for ice cream are brilliant. They solve almost anything. We have an ice cream place by my work, and I’m pretty much keeping it afloat by myself = )

    Hope your Monday gets progressively sunnier!

  2. Liz June 15, 2009 at 9:40 am #

    The DMB concert will be a nice mid-week pick-me-up. I can’t wait!

  3. irishramblings June 15, 2009 at 10:06 am #

    Mondays can suck it.

  4. kristen June 15, 2009 at 10:20 am #

    the hangover was hilarious!

  5. Megan June 15, 2009 at 12:19 pm #

    A laundromat that serves beer?! Nifty!

    Impromtu ice cream is the best.

  6. Lys June 15, 2009 at 12:58 pm #

    i’m glad the chorizo dip turned out! i wish i could have some…though i will be moving to the midwest in a month and a half, so maybe that won’t be so far-fetched :)

  7. Amber June 15, 2009 at 1:52 pm #

    Aww, sounds like a GREAT weekend! I would have the monday blues too after having such a fun weekend!

    So cute that you and Irish can spend your anniversary together!! What are you going to do??

  8. ria June 15, 2009 at 2:34 pm #

    yay for your one year anniversary!!

  9. Steph June 15, 2009 at 3:26 pm #

    Eeep!! I really need to see the Hangover! Everyone says it’s hilarious… and that laundromat sounds awesome! Definitely making the best out of the fact that you’re having to be in a laundromat.

  10. Renee June 15, 2009 at 5:27 pm #

    Please tell me that dip is seriously called queso fundido, because that is AWESOME.

    And next time I need to do laundry, I’m coming to your hood for a beer.

  11. Larissa June 15, 2009 at 6:21 pm #

    i think mondays are ALWAYS like this. I even had the day off and it was a so-so day. but it sounds like you have a lot of great things to look forward to. hmm, i’m really craving a good cup of green tea now. :D

  12. the girl in stiletto June 15, 2009 at 7:06 pm #

    i’d love to hear more about dave matthews band!

  13. Erin June 15, 2009 at 7:45 pm #

    Very few things make me as happy as wearing a new pair of shoes for the first time.

  14. Jessica June 15, 2009 at 7:51 pm #

    See this is another reason why I like you so much, despite being blue you find the things that make you happy and help you find something positive for the day. And those new shoes, pictures please!!

  15. mandy June 15, 2009 at 8:41 pm #

    Monday is never very fun for me. Reading this makes me feel better though. =) That laundromat you found sounds fantastic, really, thats such a great idea.

  16. Margarita June 15, 2009 at 9:19 pm #

    Girl, that laundromat sounds like a dream come true. I have shitty ones with gross all-day breakfast places next door to them. DMB in two days!! You have so much fun stuff going on :)

  17. Melissa June 16, 2009 at 12:16 am #

    So I keep reading and then not taking time to comment (which I know is SUPER-lame), but I wanted to say a couple things:

    1. Your hair looks very cute and very stylish (and perfect for summer)!

    2. Glad you had fun in Vegas – got your email a million years ago and then pretty much forgot until I saw your posts, but sadly, I couldn’t go and I should have emailed you back (double bad me).

    3. Can you believe it’s almost a year with Irish? That feels crazy even to me because it means I’ve been reading your blog for longer than that, which is kind of crazy to me. But congratulations – that’s awesome!

    Lots of love and apologies from book smart girl who can’t get her e-life together, m

  18. Little Miss Obsessive June 16, 2009 at 11:22 am #

    um, that laundromat sounds amazinggggg heh :)

  19. Matt June 16, 2009 at 12:34 pm #

    I love shopping at Marshalls. I just wanted you to know that.

  20. E.P. June 16, 2009 at 1:04 pm #

    These all sound like wonderful things to help get you through Monday. I absolutely ADORE Marshall’s, but sadly, we do not have one in my town. I settle for TJ Maxx all the time now.

  21. Habbala June 16, 2009 at 4:14 pm #

    I can’t wait to see My Life in Ruins!!!!!! I need to find a friend in this town ASAP :)

  22. andhari June 16, 2009 at 8:26 pm #

    improptu ice cream trips will never fail to make me happy too. And I need to see The Hangover, been hearing so many good things about it :)

  23. ceecee June 17, 2009 at 8:44 pm #

    I hope your Monday got better! :)

    The Hangover was awesome – saw it Sunday night, and my fiance and I laughed through out the entire movie. I would seriously go see it again.

    Mmm chorizo dip eh? My mom used to make chorizo and eat it with tortillas. My stomach, unfortunately, can’t handle chorizo…

  24. Allie June 17, 2009 at 9:49 pm #

    I can never turn down ice cream, which can be a problem because our company has “ice cream days” every Friday.

  25. K June 18, 2009 at 2:44 pm #

    I need to see the hangover… NOW!! Congrats on the shoe findings. I love finding shoes that are a deal. I am pretty sure its better than an orgasm.

Leave a Reply

