DMB # 9

18 Jun

If you’ve been reading my blog for awhile it’s probably not a surprise to you that I am in love with the sounds of Dave Matthews Band.

I know there are a lot of haters out there and before I go any further, let me just say this: I was one of you.

Yes, I too, at one point, didn’t get what the big deal was about Dave Matthews Band and his music. Until my sophomore year in high school when my friend K asked me to go with her since her sister had extra tickets. And so I did.

And I fell in love. I fell in love with the sounds of the band and how they can just play for ten minutes with no particular end-point in mind. I fell in love with the witty banter Dave throws around on stage. I fell in love with the sounds, the words, the music.

I went out and bought three of his CDs the next day. And I’ve bought every one since.

I know a lot of his original followers don’t care for his new music saying it is too different from the “old Dave.” My question is this:  How is a musician supposed to sound the same all the time? That would be a bore not to mention unfair to the singer/songwriter/band. Music is about evolution, about expressing yourself at a particular place in time. It only makes sense that sound of DMB would change over the years. I’ve noticed with each CD a change, always slightly related to his personal life. His marriage to his wife, Grace. The birth of their twins. The death of LeRoi.

Perhaps it is because I grew up around music of all kinds and a musician family but I respect the music process, the musician, the freedom to change over time.

And as a result of my profound respect and understanding for the music, I have been to a whopping nine concerts. All of them except for one in StL. I have only been diasppointed once and that was because I didn’t know any of the songs but right as rain I bought the new CD the following day.

Last night’s concert was amazing on for many reasons:

* Irish was with me. I’ve never been to a DMB concert with a boyfriend before

* We carpooled, tailgated and “sat” with Liz and her husband. (I say “sit,” because anyone who has been to a concert at our venue knows that very little sitting takes place on the lawn.)

* Irish spoiled me by buying me two shirts and a very cool bio-friendly DMB bag. (They are my anniversary presents.)

* Irish admitted to “appreciating,”Dave’s music. It should be noted that prior to this concert, Irish was a DMB “hater.”

* Liz’s husband is now a self-proclaimed DMB Fan! (Side note: Our missions have been accomplished. Our men now like DMB!)

* There was a slight drizzle during the second half of the show which took the edge off the insane heat and humidity that settled upon us

* People watching was spectacular, as always

* DMB played for nearly three hours straight! No opening band, just pure DMB.

* I managed to thoroughly ignore all my stresses, worries and problems during the show which is a huge accomplishment for me

(Photos courtesy of Liz’s iPhone and please note the lovely floofy hair I’m sporting courtesy of the humidity. Sigh.)

me and liz at dmb

tim and lea at dmb
After seeing the many concert-goers last night, most of whom were likely under the age of 20, I wonder if I’ll still go see him when I’m 30? I have a feeling the answer is yes, though maybe by then I’ll splurge and spend $80 on a seat instead.

14 Responses to “DMB # 9”

  1. AuburnKat June 18, 2009 at 4:14 pm #

    I feel in love with DMB after my first concert that I went to…I couldn’t believe how good they were live!! That takes me back to my college days….

  2. Cassie June 18, 2009 at 4:15 pm #

    I’ve never seen them in concert… but I love them!

  3. Amber June 18, 2009 at 4:27 pm #

    Oh I think your hair looks GREAT! You look so pretty!

    I’m not a hater nor a die-hard fan. I enjoy some of their songs! I’ve never been to an outdoors concert, but that looks really fun!

  4. katelin June 18, 2009 at 7:11 pm #

    it’s funny as i came over here to read this “big eyed fish” came on my ipod, haha. i went to my first concert a couple years ago with matt and i’ve been a fan ever since. and i totally agree with everything you wrote about the change in his music, the awesomeness and everything. seriously love them and love the new cd.

  5. andhari June 18, 2009 at 8:19 pm #

    Whoaaaa you turn a hater into a listener, that’s always good in my book :)3 hours set without opening band/performer sounds good too, sometimes the opening acts are just annoying :p

  6. Jessica June 18, 2009 at 8:38 pm #

    You guys are awesome. My stepbrother was a huge Dave fan and would travel around to see them in concert. Concert looks like so much fun!

  7. oh June 18, 2009 at 10:36 pm #

    Yes, when you’re 30, I suspect you’ll be in the front row seats! Good on Irish for liking DMB. And great pictures. And hello to Liz!

  8. fritz June 19, 2009 at 6:51 am #

    of COURSE you will go to dave when you are thirty, i did twice this spring (vanderbuilt and fenway park)and i would suggest spending a little bit more on tickets although the people watching is just as entertaining up front or on the lawn. glad to see you had an awesome time!! and i turned my sister from a hater to devote fan!

  9. Lys June 19, 2009 at 9:09 am #

    yup, i’m most definitely a hater. though i’d call myself a “disliker.” i just can’t get into his music no matter how hard i try. i see i’m the only one here…so i’m just gonna back away slowly…(glad you had fun!)

  10. SoMi's Nilsa June 19, 2009 at 11:40 am #

    So, I have followed DMB since they were playing the college circuit in the early 90’s. And I ADORE their music. Really really love it. But, after our experience going to see them in concert last summer, I can guarantee I will never pay to see them live again. Not unless they do a over-21 concert only. The teenagers absolutely ruined it for us. Their ADD personalities – they were more concerned with their cell phones and finding people they knew than they were in the music. And, unfortunately, lots of kids come from families with $$, so they’re sitting int he $80 seats, too. It’s amazing that DMB appeals to such a wide audience, but is a real shame they can’t play live in a way that makes everyone happy.

  11. E.P. June 21, 2009 at 9:28 am #

    I’ve only seen DMB live once, and I was thoroughly disappointed. It was Memphis in May, though, and that kinda makes sense now. No one wants to be playing while it’s raining cats and dogs.

    I’m so happy y’all enjoyed the concert! I would love to be able to go to a concert with my boy of a band we both enjoy. So far, we haven’t found middleground on that..

  12. Jamie June 21, 2009 at 4:37 pm #

    I’m not a DMB fan at all but I’m glad you had a great time :)

    Miss you.

  13. Katie June 21, 2009 at 7:52 pm #

    Everyone who goes to a DMB concert as a hater comes out an appreciator and then slowly turns into a LOVER. I hope I manage to see him this summer!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Updates « - July 1, 2009

    […] Band concert a couple of weeks ago. (You can read her recap post and see a pic of us on her blog here). I always love seeing Dave live but the hubs had never been to one of his concerts, and was […]

Leave a Reply

