Bullets on a Wednesday

24 Jun

* License Plate Renewals. So, not sure what it’s like in other states but Missouri doesn’t make it easy. Not only do we need to have the State Inspection completed, we also need to have our emissions tested (which I’m online with for cars that are older and not up to par), two years of personal property tax receipts (yeah, we pay taxes on our freakin car), insurance proof and then the State of MO paperwork they send you. The silver lining to the stupid stormcloud that is license plate renewal, which fortunately only comes around every two years is that they ran out of June license plates so they gave me July plates. Woohoo for an extra month of license plate validity! (It’s all in the small things!)

* 365 days. Irish and I made it to the one-year mark. In celebration we each took the day off. Despite the fact that we spent some time running personal errands (like licenese plate renewal, purchasing a new refrigerator and dropping off clothes at Goodwill) we had a leisurely brunch at our favorite breakfast place, watched Buffy the Vampire Slayer (movie, not TV show), read, took a nap, and indulged in some delicious Mexican food, ice cream sundaes and saw The Proposal. Irish surprsied me with a a sweet card that brought me to tears and some really great earrings and the very same kind of flowers he brought to me on our first date. All in all, a very good day.

* Moving on up. So next week is the big move back into the parents house. I still have a lot of boxes to pack and I know it will be a pain but it’s definitely going to be easier for me. Currently I have stuff strewn about in three different places, I don’t have a sense of “home,” and I’m kind of tired of living out of suitcases. While I’ll still fauxhabitate with Irish being at my parents will allow me to feel grounded in one spot, get my “nest egg,” into good shape and oddly enough, allow me to relax at the same time. I’m a little nervous about giving up MY space and MY freedom but I think it will all work out.

* The Studies. After the move and after next week’s midterm, I’ll be making an appointment with my advisor to discuss my options. At this point I’ll either forge on and finish my MBA (I only have four classes to go) or switch tracks and get started on an MA in International Affairs. This is of course pending the financial aspect of it all which has yet to be determined. I feel good about my decisions and my changes so far; everyone (including my fabulous blogger friends, thank you all very much) have been incredibly supportive and positive. I’m excited to see what’s next!

* New Orleans. Two weeks from Friday I’ll be on my way south for a week, mainly for work but additional I plan to check out the Ghost Tour, the Book Tour, historical sites, cafes, bookstores, delicious food and I’ll probably wander around Bourbon Street again just for the experience. There’s a good chance EP and her boy will meet up with me and Irish for a day or so which means I don’t have to wait another year for a blogger meet-up!

So I’ve shared what I think you guys want to hear about but is there something I’m missing? Any questions you want to ask? Anything is fair game, so ask away. Leave a comment and I’ll post the answers!

12 Responses to “Bullets on a Wednesday”

  1. Lys June 24, 2009 at 6:25 pm #

    i miss you. i hate being so busy and having stuff to do all the time. i thought that’s what i wanted, but now i realize it’s not. being swept away on this adult train of responsibility sucks. hard.

    i’m so happy for you and irish, one year is a big deal! you guys are so sweet together.

    have fun in new orleans, i hope you get to meet up with EP, she’s a great person as well. i’m really glad i’ve had the opportunity to meet and hang out with both of you. i’m really jealous you get to visit :)

    hope to be able to talk to you soon :(

  2. Jessica June 24, 2009 at 7:51 pm #

    I’m so jealous you’ll get to meet up with EP and her boy. And congrats to 365 days of you and Irish. I need to work on a STL visit this summer :)

  3. Kyla June 24, 2009 at 8:06 pm #

    Ah! Have so much fun in New Orleans, and with the move and everything – it’s just a whole new world out there for you!

  4. mandy June 24, 2009 at 9:11 pm #

    Happy Anniversary to you and Irish. I am glad that the two of you were able to spend the day together. New Orleans and seeing EP sounds awesome. I have no doubt that you have amazing things ahead of you. I’m so proud of you for pursuing what you want. In OH, you write a check mail it in and they send you a sticker you slap on your car, couldnt be easier — no emissions test (at least in my county), no personal property tax, usually not even a trip to the DMV.

  5. Amber June 24, 2009 at 9:47 pm #

    Awww that sounds like such a sweet and perfect one year anniversary!!! I’ve heard the proposal is good!!

    License plate renewal sounds super annoying!!! Thank goodness you’ve gotten it over with for another 2 years.

    Ooooh, sounds like you have a fun trip ahead of you and I’m sure once you’re all settled in at your parents you will feel great, think of all the money you will save!!

  6. fritz June 25, 2009 at 6:15 am #

    i figured i would de-lurk and say Congratulations on one year! sounds like a fabulous way to celebrate. i also commiserate with you on the whole paying property taxes on cars…same here in CT and i think it is absolutely ridiculous!!

  7. ria June 25, 2009 at 6:36 am #

    congrats to you and Irish! :) new orleans sounds like tons of fun!

  8. Lisa June 25, 2009 at 7:42 am #

    Wow – your license plate renewal thing is INSANE. That is just crazy!

    Congrats on hitting the one year mark! Good luck making the decision about MBA v. MA!!

  9. Margarita June 25, 2009 at 8:02 am #

    CONGRATULATIONS on your one year anniversary!! I hope you guys have a lot of fun on your New Orleans trip :) I hope it won’t be too hard moving in with your parents for a bit, but you seem to get along so I’m sure you guys will work anything out :)

  10. Sweet Familiar June 25, 2009 at 10:31 am #

    Nora,

    Jealous of your trip to NO. Have a drink at the Napolean on Chartres Street for me.

    FYI, I’ve taken up new blog digs. I’m now Sweet Familiar at http://sweetfamiliar.blogspot.com.

    Take care,
    Alesia (formerly She She)

  11. SoMi's Nilsa June 25, 2009 at 1:36 pm #

    Thank you for reminding me I need to get my car inspected. Damn – I hate doing that. Though, it’s not nearly as painful here as it is by you!

  12. E.P. June 25, 2009 at 10:02 pm #

    Our car inspections are somewhat like y’alls, from what I can gather. The last time I was home, my boy, Mom and I drove to the inspection place at 7 a.m. Saturday morning and waited in line for an hour to have my car inspected. Craziness, but at least it’s not worse.

    And can I say how excited I am for NOLA? I need to check with the boy, but I seriously cannot wait. And if he can’t come, I’ll just hang out, and we can have a fabulous time!

Leave a Reply

