GiST 37-39/365

25 Jun

When there is a lot of sadness in the world I make sure I take note of all the Great Things going on around me. Today was a tough day for Hollywood and fans alike, so here are things that made me smile in the last few days…

1. Vanilla yogurt on sale, 2 for $1 at the grocery store. I love, love, love Vanilla Yogurt. Bonus: it’s the Weight Watchers brand so it’s double good for me, right?

2. Being able to call Darling during my lunch hour to act like a four-year old and tell her I needed a great big hug to deal with my great, big, sucky work day. She called me my childhood nicknames, told me she loved me and then we laughed over something silly and had a moment of silence for Farrah.

3. Having the cojones to deal with a tough work situation today, ensuring it worked out the way it needed to, and avoiding cursing like a sailor in the process.

4. My muscles are sore from a 2.5 mile run I did that involved a TON of hills. I love that feeling.

5. Wearing the new earrings Irish gave me for the 365 day mark; made out of bamboo and lightweight make them perfect for a day in the office.

6. Playing with Jack for 30 minutes and ignoring my homework and studies.

7. Setting up a coffee date with Nilsa for this weekend when she visits my town! She was one of the very first blogs I idolized and looked up to so it’s kind of like meeting a superstar.

8. A yummy dinner of buffalo chicken wraps, waffle fries and salad while watching Rescue Me on Hulu, with Irish next to me and Jack’s head on my knee.

9. Starting my midterm paper to discover it will be much easier than I anticipated. Bonus: It’s on Italy so I find it doubly interesting.

10. Text messages from Kyla and Mandy.

11. There is talk of our insane heatwave ending which is enough to make me do a happy dance. I love summer but 110-115 heat index with crazy humidity each day is just uncool.

12. Tomorrow is Friday.

13. Buying rainbow chocolate chip cookies to squash a craving I’ve been having for a few days.

14. I bought Scratchers tickets and one of them was a winnner! It’s a free ticket but hey, at least it’s a small return on my investment.

15. Watching New In Town, playing a mindless online game, and just relaxing. Who doesn’t like movies that are 90 minute romantic comedies which include Harry Connick Jr?

16. Hugs from Irish, a man who keeps giving even after he’s had an equally, if not more, stressful day than me.

14 Responses to “GiST 37-39/365”

  1. mandy June 25, 2009 at 9:47 pm #

    You get to meet Nilsa? Color me jealous, I can’t wait to hear all about it. I enjoy these GIST posts.

  2. Margarita June 25, 2009 at 10:11 pm #

    Aww, lots of happy things to top off an alright day! I’m glad you dealt with your work situation, and I think play time with your dog should be scheduled, like work or homework, lol.

    Hoping tomorrow is even better than today :)

  3. andhari June 25, 2009 at 11:46 pm #

    it’s nice to always be grateful and look for things that cheer up. Yogurt, cookies, movie and my favorite people usually make me happy too :)

  4. sleepyjane June 26, 2009 at 2:19 am #

    Nothing makes me feel better faster than a hug. :)

  5. SoMi's Nilsa June 26, 2009 at 7:00 am #

    I have yet to tell Sweets about the whole Blog Idol thing … I laugh thinking about it and will probably be sorely disappointed by his reaction. SEE YOU TOMORROW, GIRL!!!!

  6. Lisa June 26, 2009 at 7:17 am #

    Thanks for the comment on my blog! I’m so glad I found yours! I’ve been reading for months – don’t know why it took me so long to comment!

    The humidity wave has ended here in Minneapolis as well. It’s still hot, but I can handle hot – I can’t handle crazy humidity!

    I also love the WW vanilla yogurt. That stuff is like candy for me. And not bad for you, which is such a bonus!

    Oh, and I kind of wish all movies were 90 minutes. I feel like I am developing a short attention span for movies. The ones that are around 3 hours kill me!!

    Happy Friday!

  7. little miss obsessive June 26, 2009 at 7:40 am #

    This is just the kinda thing I needed to read today. Thanks for the burst of positive thoughts. :)

  8. Kyla Roma June 26, 2009 at 7:45 am #

    I’m so glad you got through the work day unscathed and that you’re meeting up with Nilsa?! Excuse me while I pass out from jealousy. ;)

    Can’t wait to talk this weekend, I miss you!!

  9. Lys June 26, 2009 at 9:23 am #

    please send the heat to my new home, or here for the next month. i’m sick of rain and cold and grossness.

    i’m starting to lean more towards lemon yogurt, something about it is just zesty and wakes me up in the mornings.

  10. bellerenee June 26, 2009 at 10:02 pm #

    I’m just catching up on my blogs… I’m glad things are looking more positively for you. And vanilla yogurt is for reaaaalz my fave. I’m going to send you some of my homemade granola next time I make a fresh batch. It’s pretty much the yummiest thing ever when mixed in with vanilla yogurt.

  11. E.P. June 27, 2009 at 8:59 am #

    Aww, happy weekend to you! I’m totally jealous that you get to have coffee with Nilsa. And I hope you’re having a wonderful time with Irish, your pup and everyone else.

  12. Carina the Blogarina June 27, 2009 at 1:42 pm #

    What a great spirit you show by focusing on the posetive instead of the negative. An amazing quality!

  13. Constructive Attitude June 27, 2009 at 8:44 pm #

    2 for $1 yogurt IS awesome!!!!!!

  14. Jessica June 28, 2009 at 10:06 pm #

    Chocolate chips cookies being made to satisfy a craving is the best tasting cookie ever. I love the smell and taste of them. And that vanilla yogurt deal is the best thing. When my fave yogurt goes on sale, I stock up.

Leave a Reply

