Kyla Roma’s Guide To St. Louis

30 Jun

Today’s Guest Post is brought to you by the lovely, sweet, insightful, creative Kyla.

One of the things about being a loyal reader of your fellow bloggers is that your vision of their cities is largely framed through cursory comments and pictures of nights out with friends. Place is something that tends to bubble up in unexpected moments and side glances, which can leave you with an interesting impression of a place. I’ve been reading Nora’s blog since Fall 2008, and I have to say, I think I’m pretty much an expert on St. Louis now- albeit I’m an expert on Nora’s version of St. Louis. So in case any of my fellow readers were thinking about visiting her I would like to provide you with a Bloggers Guide to St. Louis.

Not that, you know, I’ve ever been.

Local Landmarks
When you visit St. Louis any local will first ask you where you are from and where you have been in the city yet. If you have not been to a site where Dave Mathews Band has played, you wil be immediately redirected as for people from St. Louis these are designated historical sites where vigils are ofent held in the hopes that DMB returns safely and often. Grad School is a popular hot spot for Italian women in their early twenties, as is the Old Rock House where the food is deliscious, visiting penguins at the Zoo (where the food is deliscious if you’re a penguin), and of course, the arch.

Weather
From what I can tell? Always sunny! More reason to visit!

Pastimes
Locals in St. Louis love to take it easy, so bring a taste for girly drinks! Spending time with the family ranks high on the priority list, and one on one time on the town with the man in your life is a must. Concerts are a big local attraction (please see above) as are St. Louis Cardinals games and attending weddings and, more popular still, being featured as a bridesmaid by friends. If you visit St. Louis you should bring at least one bridesmaid’s dress, just in case. They have girls nights every Wednesday night, and frequent bookclubs (at least in the spring they did). Sadly, attempting to navigate allergies is also a pastime, as St. Louis is the most allergin filled city in the midwestern US, but a common folk remedy is staying up late to watch Audrey Hepburn movies, which at least seems to offset allergy response if not remedy it.

What People from St. Louis Dream About
People from St. Louis dream of kicking off their work shoes, walking to the airport and boarding the first plane to Italy….only to return home to buy homes with their significant others and fill them with adopted dogs. They dream about cooking and baking more, of finishing grad school, and of a little more of a path into the future- but not so much that it takes away the adventure. People from St. Louis are brave romantics, fiercly smart, incredibly warm, and above all they’re kind.

St. Louis is exactly the kind of city I would like to live in. Provided everyone who lives there is just like Nora.

What is your impression of Nora’s city?

8 Responses to “Kyla Roma’s Guide To St. Louis”

  1. mandy June 30, 2009 at 7:34 am #

    THis post makes me want to get in my car and drive you St. Louis and have a drink with Nora. You’ll meet me there right Kyla?

  2. Lisa June 30, 2009 at 7:39 am #

    Cute post – I have actually heard really good things about STL. A college friend spent the summer there & he said that the downtown area is pretty trendy w/ a young vibe. I’ve never visited, but would love to check it out!!

  3. SoMi's Nilsa June 30, 2009 at 7:44 am #

    This post is WONDERFUL, Kyla! Since I’ve now met Nora, I’m in complete agreement that St. Louis is HER kind of city. But, funny enough, I don’t think you’re all that far from the truth about that city! Though, I will tell you, people in St. Louis do not first ask what DMB site you’ve been to. In fact, they ask you where you went to high school. I kid you not. It’s weird. And unlike anywhere else. And the other thing you sort of missed (but is hard to pick up from a blog anyway) is that while St. Louis may be sunny, it’s also ridiculously hot and humid. OMG. Let the hair frizzies begin! With that said, I still say we should all meet in St. Louis, just like the song says. I’m quite certain we won’t be disappointed!

  4. Liz June 30, 2009 at 8:01 am #

    Wow, it’s like you’ve lived in STL your whole life! And as someone who actually has lived in STL her whole life, I should know.

  5. tabithablogs June 30, 2009 at 9:02 am #

    Super cute post! And you’re absolutely right; reading other people’s blogs gives a special insight into their “turf”…and I definitely want to visit St. Louis now! :)

  6. Kyla Roma June 30, 2009 at 1:21 pm #

    Mandy – I’m totally there! I think St. Louis is a state of mind ;)

  7. Lys July 1, 2009 at 8:02 am #

    i love st. louis. i’ve been to the arch twice, though the first time i don’t remember, the second time was only a year (and a half) ago. such a beautiful city, plus, they have TWO of my favourite restaurants: The Old Spaghetti Factory!

  8. Rebekah July 5, 2009 at 8:11 am #

    This makes me wish I lived in…. oh. I do.

    But where, WHERE is the beer in this post?

Leave a Reply

