OH: Fireworks

7 Jul

Saturday night, Darling, Boss, my gram and I (Irish was patiently waiting for me at the next party we had to attend) set-up camp in our nearby Barnes & Noble parking lot for the best view of the Fireworks our township puts on each year.

While we were waiting in humid air under a heat-lightning sky, several large groups of kids traipsed past us with light-up shoes, Mickey Mouse shirts and their little, tiny voices in which they really do say the darndest (cutest!) things.

Little Girl to her mother: “Mom? Is this the real show of fireworks? Or the fake show?”

Little Boy to his father, after a huge wave of heat lightning lit up the entire sky: “Is that the warning timer for us to sit down? Are the fireworks about to start? Do we get another warning?”

In addition to the cute things kids say, heat lightning and a spectacular, 30-minute long firework show, we got a little drenched in the thunderstorms, wrangled insane traffice (I hate minivans) and laughed about July 4th’s past.

Did you overhear anything funny/unusual during your holiday?

17 Responses to “OH: Fireworks”

  1. Matt July 7, 2009 at 8:07 am #

    I over heard one of my friends singing a Toni Braxton song quietly to himself.

    That was kind of strange.

  2. mandy July 7, 2009 at 8:13 am #

    Kids can be so darn cute — especially when they belong to someone else and keep moving along. =)

  3. Kyla July 7, 2009 at 8:19 am #

    Oh those are so adorable, sounds like a beautiful night!

  4. Margarita July 7, 2009 at 8:24 am #

    Aww, that’s so cute :)

  5. Larissa July 7, 2009 at 10:01 am #

    how cute! I dont know if this counts but the two guys in front of us were obnoxiously drunk and their gf’s were annoying. i wanted to tell them to take it somewhere else.

  6. andhari July 7, 2009 at 10:19 am #

    That’s cute! I love fireworks and sparklers!:)

  7. Amber July 7, 2009 at 10:25 am #

    Aww that sounds like the PERFECT way to watch fireworks, with your family!!!

  8. Little Fish July 7, 2009 at 11:24 am #

    I got back from vacation on Saturday night and unfortunately was so jetlagged that I fell asleep at 9:30 just as the fireworks were beginning.

    As for cute kids though… I had wondered to myself if children with English accents would be as adorable in England… guess what? They totally are! My favorite though was at the Tower of London where an adorable little brother and sister (maybe 5 and 7) had Scottish accents! I pretty much wanted to steal one and my Mom reminded me that this is the reason why I should never go to Scotland, I might get arrested for attempted kidnapping.

    Oh and in Copenhagen, my friends have a 5 year old and an 18 month old who are too cute. Since they don’t start learning English until the third grade, the 5 year old will come up to me and start talking my year off in Danish, which I understand very little of. When I look down at her and say, “sweetie, I don’t understand a word you’re saying,” she just laughs hysterically and keeps chatting away. She must think my “gibberish” talk sounds so funny.

  9. fritz July 7, 2009 at 11:36 am #

    Kevin, Nick and I were treated to a conversation between two of new britains finest (please read sarcastically) about the fact the lady had missed a phone call, for ten minutes they blamed each other over the missed phone call and had every creative way to drop the f-bomb…nick is still talking about it…

  10. Lisa July 7, 2009 at 12:37 pm #

    I was around my nephews this weekend, so got to hear plenty of funny/sweet exchanges. I love listening to little kids!

    PS I left a little award for you over at my blog today.

  11. Habbala July 7, 2009 at 2:37 pm #

    I absolutely love that you watch fireworks in the B&N parking lot :)

  12. AuburnKat July 7, 2009 at 7:38 pm #

    What I heard Monday sitting on a bench outside of my office building reading was interesting…although it wasn’t on the 4th.

    A guy, around my age was talking a women. She wanted to set him up with one of her friends, he told her to set it up. He continued the conversation with…I hope she doesn’t expect a free dinner though.

    What an ass!

  13. Jessica July 7, 2009 at 8:20 pm #

    Sadly we didn’t have anything really funny come up like that but I love that the Barnes and Noble is where you go for a good spot. Awesome

  14. ceecee July 7, 2009 at 9:31 pm #

    *sigh* I wish I heard funny, unusually things…instead, our neighbors called the cops on us because we were being too loud with our fireworks. That was around 7 PM. Hm.

  15. Allie July 9, 2009 at 10:29 pm #

    I have one too – when my cousin’s son was little, he turned to her during the fireworks show and said in all seriousness, “Mommy, are they trying to kill God?”

  16. ria July 10, 2009 at 6:54 am #

    aw kids are so innocent in their questions.

  17. E.P. July 12, 2009 at 3:00 pm #

    I adore children for the things they say and ask. Last year’s Fourth was pretty funny because of the Mystery Science 3000-esque children who stood in front of us for the fireworks show.

Leave a Reply

