A Recipe: Moving Soup

8 Jul

Ingredents you will need:

* Four rooms, full of over two years of furniture, household appliances, the necessities needed to live and of course the obligatory junk that accumulates
* One incredibly patient, supportive and surprisingly strong (in all aspects of the word) boyfriend. Acceptable substitute: best friends who bring wine to help during the moving process.
* One 4-door Honda Accord. Full tank of gas desired but not required.
* Three flights of stairs in an old apartment, but charming, apartment building
* 83- the average temperature preferred during moving days
* Two movers, aged approximately 21, and one very large truck
* Ten or more boxes. Acceptable Substitute: Five or six boxes that you unpack each trip you make to the new residence.
* One flight of stairs at your new residence
* One and a half rooms, some basement space and the cupboards at your boyfriend’s place to cram all your belongings
* Four trash bags full of junk tossed to the curb
* Three trips to the curb with things you decide not to move

To Make Moving Soup:

Combine one strong boyfriend, one Honda Accord, various boxes plus other large furniture, as well as three flights of apartment stairs. Repeat until Honda Accord is full: every nook, cranny, floorboard, trunk and the area near your feet must be jampacked. Deliver the contents to the New Residence. Repeat three more times, unfortunately without the aide of your strong boyfriend.

After four Honda Accord carloads have been deposited at Your New Place of Residence (aka Chez Parents), wait patiently at empty, internetless apartment for the Two 21-year old movers and their laaarrrge truck. Proceed to clean baseboards, window sills, dust all corners, vacuum, mop, Clorox all surfaces, scrub and repeat until the movers arrive.

Worry about competence of movers as they proclaim they are tired, sore, and, um, move your futon down all three flights of stairs but then cannot get it out the front door. Cue return of futon to empty apartment, making sure to include one broken light bulb in the hallway, large dents and scratches on the walls as part of the failed futon side dish that accompanies Moving Soup.

Once large truck is full with the large “pieces,” of furniture you own and apartment is (mostly) empty, proceed to Your New Residence with the Movers following you in their laaarrrge truck as they failed to get directions from Point A to Point B.

Instruct movers on location and placement of all pieces of furniture within Your New Residence. Once movers are watered, tipped and paid, begin to navigate the minefield that is your bedroom, hallway, and adjacent rooms full of boxes, artwork and random stuff. Take it one room at a time, slowly mixing the contents of the boxes until they create one beautiful New Residence.

Chef’s Note: The last step, navigating the minefield that is the boxes, bags and mounds of stuff you own may take several days. Or weeks, depending on your schedule. Be sure to allow plenty of time for this step so as to not feel overwhelmed. Promise to your dear eaters readers that you will post pictures as soon as the New Residence is picture-worthy. Rejoice in the fact that you only have six or seven bruises, stronger arms, legs and butt muscles as a result of this move.

19 Responses to “A Recipe: Moving Soup”

  1. Megan July 8, 2009 at 8:03 am #

    Sounds tiring, but I’m glad you got everything moved. I can’t wait to see pictures of the new place. :)

  2. Lisa July 8, 2009 at 8:05 am #

    oy, I do not miss moving. Before I bought my condo, I moved every 9-12 months. Now I’ve been in the same condo for about 4 years. I am hoping I can afford to just pay someone to move me next time!

    Good luck getting all settled in!

  3. mandy July 8, 2009 at 8:58 am #

    Sounds exhasuting. Moving is one thing I am pretty sure I would not do well. Glad that the worst of it is over though. You will be all settled in soon and it will all be worth it. Hugs!

  4. Habbala July 8, 2009 at 10:05 am #

    I’m tired just reading that post. Moving sucked here too, which is why I plan on DYING in my current apartment. I am not moving. Ever. Ever. Ever. :)

  5. tabithablogs July 8, 2009 at 10:06 am #

    love it. such a cute way to tell us about your move! looking forward to pictures!

  6. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair July 8, 2009 at 10:45 am #

    Omg this post reminds me of moving SO much. I haven’t moved in 10 months and this is the longest I’ve gone WITHOUT moving for THREE years!!! It’s refreshing!

    Glad to know it’s over and done with and you’re getting settled into your new place (or back into an old place since it’s at your parents :-)

  7. anne July 8, 2009 at 12:03 pm #

    what a clever post- love it ! hope you get settled in soon :-)

  8. SoMi's Nilsa July 8, 2009 at 12:18 pm #

    How you turned the awful task of moving into poetry, I’ll never know. Glad you’re moved out/in. Glad it was only 83 and not 100. Glad you can now proceed forward with your summer!

  9. butterflycharlie July 8, 2009 at 1:27 pm #

    well done with the move! at least its finally done, eh? I flippin’ hate moving and i didn’t even have to move 4 rooms of stuff! good job :-)

  10. Matt July 8, 2009 at 1:50 pm #

    I cant express in a comment how much I loathe moving.

  11. Erin July 8, 2009 at 2:22 pm #

    Gah. I hate moving. Seriously loathe it. I’m glad you survived!

  12. Rebekah July 8, 2009 at 5:12 pm #

    Gag, Eddie is that guy who only wants 5 boxes to pack and unpack with each trip. I HATED that when he moved – everything was in piles all over the floor when we were done. Give me a hundred boxes any day!

  13. AuburnKat July 8, 2009 at 8:09 pm #

    Oh gosh, moving is just not fun at all!!! I’ve moved way too many times, although I seriously can’t wait to move again!

  14. Larissa July 9, 2009 at 12:51 am #

    yikes! I hate moving! I have to do it soon myself…ugh! hopefully the new place is worth it??

  15. sleepyjane July 9, 2009 at 2:18 am #

    It sounds tiring…but I still love moving! :) All new and fresh spaces! :) Pictures please.

  16. ria July 9, 2009 at 12:16 pm #

    glad you survived it sounds like a very tiring day!

  17. Jessica July 9, 2009 at 8:07 pm #

    Hmm that soup sounds kind of a heavy and sleep-inducing but I’m glad you survived and are getting settled!

  18. E.P. July 11, 2009 at 2:35 pm #

    You’re a brave one, chica. I’m going to be moving at the end of next month. Where to? I’m not sure yet, but I’m definitely going to be leaving this apartment. And thinking about the moving process makes me want to cringe a little.

    Expect a phone call or two for advice…

  19. Byron July 31, 2009 at 12:23 pm #

    Best post ever. I loved THIS!

Leave a Reply

