MeMe

9 Jul

 

Award1premio_meme_award

I received a new award from Lisa at Knitting Yarns, the MeMe Award. Or perhaps it’s the Meme award? Either way, the focus of this award is more-or-less all about MeMe in that I must:

a) share seven tidbits about myself

b) share the award with seven blog friends!

Onto the tidbits!

1. I haven’t printed any photos I’ve taken in almost a year. My real life friends would ask what is wrong with me as I used to be the girl who took high school photos for one-hour processing the next morning. I made weekly treks to Walgreens in college to pick-up and drop off new photos. I have over 200 photos marked as ones I would like to print, some to share with friends, others to scrap, others yet to frame. And yet they reside within the depths of my computer, in the dark, where no one can see them. Perhaps it’s time I get with the times and use my Snapfish account to upload them, choose and print them.

2. I had a short career in elementary and middle school as a “Stage Manager,” for the many plays my school put on. I like to think I revolutionized how plays were done. I created a process for marking and keeping track of the props. I made spreadsheets for attendance, prop location, scene lighting and more. There were two stage managers for each play: we had identical binders with every possible bit of info about the play attached to our hips at all times. At the same time, I made some amazing friends, got my childhood dog into one of the scenes and memorized all the lines right along with the actors and actresses.

3. I have a love/hate relationship with tanning. I prefer to be tan. I feel more sexy and confident when I tan. You can’t see any imperfections that may have popped up as a direct result of my lack of exercise when I’m tan. I have 10 tans at my favorite tanning place. I’ve used one since I purchased them. I know tanning is bad for me. I’m terrified of skin cancer. So right now? I’m slightly tan but not anywhere near my usual “Ovaltine,” color that my brother used to call me.

4. I’m afraid of heights. Rollercoasters, lighthouses, airplanes, helicopters all give me immediate anxiety including sweaty palms and a look of sheer and utter panic. I’ll do it if I have to but I won’t like it.

5. I marched in Disney World on New Years Eve, 1999, when I was a huge dork and was part of the marching band. I played flute and piccolo. The first thing I did on January 1st, 2000? I rode Space Mountain. Five times. (There was no line!)

6. I met Air Supply on my trip to St. Thomas two years ago for my friend’s wedding. Totally cool band. No really, I mean it. I don’t know much about their music but the band members were intelligent, well-rounded, gentlemanly and really funny.

7. I had a chance to go to France my senior year in high school but I backed out at the last minute. I don’t regret it by any means as I heard some really bizarre stories about the “Family Stays,” my friends went on but I do wonder when I’ll have the chance to see La Tour Eiffel in person and not just in French Kiss.

Now, for the blog award winners (which was incredibly hard to choose):

1. The State I am In
2. Dear Friend
3. Won’t you be my Neighbor?
4. Rocky Time Warp
5. Fab Brunette
6. We Keep Saying
7. Little Miss Obsessive

17 Responses to “MeMe”

  1. mandy July 9, 2009 at 8:25 am #

    How cool are you — marching in the Disney World parade! And I love that you rode space mountain five times even though you are afraid of rollercoasters. I was just thinking how bad I’ve been lately about printing out photos, even downloading them from my camera.

  2. Kyla Roma July 9, 2009 at 9:10 am #

    I was a stage manager too! Our whole blog friendship makes sense now ;)

  3. SoMi's Nilsa July 9, 2009 at 9:25 am #

    I knew I liked you from the minute I started reading your blog, confirmed when I met you and further confirmed by your obsession with photographs. At one point in my life, I had a camera everywhere I went and was developing rolls of film all the time!

    BTW, afraid of heights? I didn’t think STL residents were allowed. I mean, how do you go up in the Arch if you have that fear?

  4. tabithablogs July 9, 2009 at 9:43 am #

    I played flute and piccolo too!

  5. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair July 9, 2009 at 9:53 am #

    I’m the same way with photo’s. I have SO many on my computer that I want to print but just never get around to doing it. I must get on that!

    I was also “Stage Manager” for all of the school productions; I blame it on my incredible organization skills ;-) It was fun though!

  6. Lys July 9, 2009 at 12:01 pm #

    i have to laugh at somi’s comment about the arch, haha. i’m afraid of heights as well, i can barely stand on my roof without freaking out, and i have to be at least a foot away from the edge (don’t even get me started on when i went to the grand canyon!)

    i played flute for a week, and then i went back to chorus (some sort of music was required in middle school).

  7. ria July 9, 2009 at 12:18 pm #

    i kind of miss photo developing :( i have all these digital pictures and i never get them printed i just get overwhelmed lol

  8. Kelly July 9, 2009 at 12:50 pm #

    HAHA! When I read “marching in to Disney…” I was like whaaat? I was thinking like you were on a strike or something at first. That’s cool though! I was in band too!

    Umm I have a love hate relationship w/ tanning too. It is so hot so I procrastinate going + I don’t want to be old and wrinkled, but I hate being pale…which I am right now. Boo!

    Thanks for the award!!!!! :D

  9. andhari July 9, 2009 at 1:19 pm #

    I wish we could switch skin, some Asians over here including me totally wish we have fairer skin :)

  10. Lisa July 9, 2009 at 1:50 pm #

    I’m the same way w/ photos. I love digital cameras but since I bought one, I have barely developed photos. I need to be better about doing that – it’s so cheap through Snapfish or Target…

    Thanks for playing along – it was fun learning more about you!

  11. Little Fish July 9, 2009 at 2:10 pm #

    Can you play us a little piece on the picolo? Have Irish record it and stick it on YouTube. Of course we’ll all be expecting you to be wearing a uniform so we can all relive a bit of the magic with you!

    PS- I’m teasing, but it sounds like a super fun/cool experience.

  12. Matt July 9, 2009 at 2:25 pm #

    I would stab an old lady to get the chance to meet air supply.

  13. Margarita July 9, 2009 at 9:13 pm #

    Thanks gorgeous! I’ll put this up soon :)

  14. Erin July 10, 2009 at 3:09 pm #

    Awwww, thanks! I miss photo printing too. I used to get such a thrill out of dropping off my photos, and I would scurry back after an hour to pick them up. I haven’t printed any photos from our London vacation, which was like 3 years ago! I really should do that!

  15. Phil July 20, 2009 at 1:29 am #

    And in Vegas I was all “Rollercoaster, rollercoaster, rollercoaster!” And then I rode it while semi-hungover (at 10pm) and suffered the consequences. But otherwise, I’ve only had one roller coaster scare the daylights out of me: the “X2” at Magic Mountain. Holy crap.

  16. Little Miss Obsessive July 29, 2009 at 7:35 am #

    I’m so behind on my blog reading.. thanks for this award love!!!

    P.S. I also played the flute/piccolo in middle school… as if we needed more things to have in common. :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. meme award « how lucky we are - July 23, 2009

    […] not one of those times, as it’s only been about a week (or two) since i was selected for the MeMe Award from Nora at Walking Through the Rain.  if you’re not reading her, your life is […]

Leave a Reply

