GiST 40/365

27 Jul

I had planned on putting together a well-thought out post about my recent declaration on the “Summer of Me,” largely inspired by many conversations I’ve been having with Mandy but life got in the way with mostly lovely things so today we’re going with a GiST theme:

1. Receiving very unexpected snail mail from a blog friend.

2. Making the best of a poopy situation (studying for a final during 80 degree, no-cloud, breezy weather) by taking Irish and myself to Bread Company for bagels and their outdoor patio.

3. Movies OnDemand through our cable provider.

4. Hosting an incredibly successful garage sale on Saturday morning.

5. Deciding to save the money earned as “fun money,” for either unusual dates or to put towards our fall trips.

6. A delicious plate of chicken nachos, over girl talk on Saturday night.

7. Laughing so hard I almost cried at least three different times during “The Ugly Truth.” Sure it’s a predictable chick flick but I liked it (probably becuase I’m a sucker for a romantic comedy).

8. Passing out on the couch at 11:30 pm Saturday night afer rising at 5am for the yard sale.

9. Beating Irish at Meteos, a Nintendo DS game (for the record, he beats me at most other games we play together.)

10. A lovely, hilarious email from Kyla that literally made my day.

11. Study breaks for “True Blood,” and “Hung.” on HBO Sundays.

12. The promise of a few calm weekends in my near future.

13. Irish taking care of Jack this morning for me since I had an early work fire to put out.

14. Quality time with my brother; he leaves for school soon and every moment counts.

And, I promise more regularly scheduled posting coming soon on topics such as: NOLA, the adjustment moving home, The Summer of Nora, and much more!

14 Responses to “GiST 40/365”

  1. Lisa July 27, 2009 at 1:19 pm #

    Ahh, snail mail is the best!!

    Yea for declaring the “Summer of Nora” – I feel like mine has unofficially been the summer of Lisa. I kind of stopped doing alot of the things I loved when I was in grad school. So it’s been nice to have the time to re-discover some of my hobbies, etc.

  2. Lys July 27, 2009 at 1:23 pm #

    yay for snail mail :) i need your addy, btw. oh man, i move in with the rents on thursday! i don’t even have the first clue as to how this is going to turn out…

  3. SoMi's Nilsa July 27, 2009 at 1:23 pm #

    You know what, Nora? You sound genuinely happy in this post. Yeah, there’s a dose of “taking care of business” … but you seem to be putting it in perspective (as in, “once I take care of business, then I get to take care of me!”). I like the sounds of this and welcome it as a valid excuse why your blog might be a wee bit neglected!

  4. mandy July 27, 2009 at 1:38 pm #

    I had snail mail from the same blog friend and it literally made my week. I am glad so many lovely things interrupted your well thought out post for today, thats the way it should be! I agree with Nilsa, you sound genuinely happy in this email and that makes me happy.

  5. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair July 27, 2009 at 3:03 pm #

    Aww garage sales are so fun! We need to have one soon – we have SO MUCH STUFF!

    Eric beats me at EVERY game we play too. It’s infuriating!

  6. Erin July 27, 2009 at 4:18 pm #

    I love a good snail mail! :) Nothing like unexpected mail to make your day!

    Also, I’m excited for the Summer of Nora…especially if it includes seeing me!

  7. Kyla Roma July 27, 2009 at 8:53 pm #

    Oh I’m so glad you enjoyed the e-mail, and I’m glad you’re investing in YOU time. You’re an amazing lady, and you both need and deserve that.

  8. Jessica July 27, 2009 at 9:59 pm #

    Well I must hear more about the Summer of Nora! Please don’t keep me waiting :)

  9. sleepyjane July 28, 2009 at 1:42 am #

    Okay so True Blood = all kinds of awesomeness!

    And YAY for snail mail. It’s so exciting, standing in line, waiting for your package…then the anticipation of opening it. GAH! Love it.

  10. Megan/SomewhatVoluble July 28, 2009 at 6:29 am #

    The Ugly Truth was hilarious!

    Snail mail is the best!

  11. ria July 28, 2009 at 9:16 am #

    i love laughing so hard i cry! you always have great lists and so much good stuff going on! reading your blog is always so inspiring :)

  12. andhari July 28, 2009 at 9:53 am #

    Nachos, girl talk and true blood. Who could resist those? They make me happy as well.

  13. Jay July 28, 2009 at 3:06 pm #

    This is an interesting concept, because for men, a “Summer of Me” would largely be spent masturbating in front of the TV.

  14. Larissa July 28, 2009 at 9:45 pm #

    I’m laughing at Jay’s comment, but seriously its a great thing to focus on yourself for once…especially once your done with your class! and I totally know how it goes with the being too busy to post regularly, I’ve been experiencing the same thing…and the sad thing is that Idont have time to read my fave blogs (which includes you!) <3

Leave a Reply

