Today I…

28 Jul

… left the office feeling good about what I do and how I do it (a welcome change)

… received an invite to my cousin’s wedding in Florida and plan to go

… hugged my Gram twice and gladly met several of her neighbors

… enjoyed my first Tequlia Sunrise and got a tiny buzz

… started the new Book Club book (The Hunger Games, Suzanne Collins)

… found out my old roomie and his fiance had their baby girl (and have dually noted the Baby Fever that is surrounding me)

… made plans to be poolside with KH this Saturday while Irish kicks butt during his Kickball League

… ran out of time to make all the phone calls that I want to make

… found my stack of cute notecards which means I can start creating

… talked to AT&T and discovered they failed to process my internet disconnect at my old place but have fixed it and credited my account

… jumped 10 feet in the air after lightning struck outside my office building, making the loudest “CLAP!” sound I’ve ever heard in my life

… started Season One of Gilmore Girls, just for fun

… cried over a segment I saw on Oprah

… laughed at the things I accidentally overheard while out to dinner with my parents

… had my heart melt when my younger brother shouted “love ya, sis!” on his way out the door to the Cards game

… sent Irish kisses over the phone

What was one thing you did today that stood out for you?

15 Responses to “Today I…”

  1. Andhari July 29, 2009 at 12:08 am #

    It’s the beautiful little things that make you appreciate life even more. The part about your grams, newborn baby, your little brother and Irish makes me smile. :)

  2. sleepyjane July 29, 2009 at 2:48 am #

    It’s still morning here so nothing much has happened. :) Oh wait…I’m wearing purple tights that I kind of LOVE!

  3. Meri July 29, 2009 at 5:29 am #

    Right now it’s early in the morning for me, so there’s not much that I’ve done besides eating Shreddies. However, yesterday I sat on the deck in my comfy clothes and read a great story for the majority of the day. It’s one of my favourite things to do.

  4. oh July 29, 2009 at 6:25 am #

    I dismissed the acute Machiavellan goings-on at work deciding to not get involved and to not even care!

  5. SoMi's Nilsa July 29, 2009 at 6:29 am #

    I love how you’re really LIVING life right now, Nora. It’s very becoming on you. Now, will you bring some of that up here to Chicago to share with me?!? =)

    The one thing I did yesterday that stood out to me was take my in-laws’ dog home after dog-sitting for a week (it was a difficult week for me leaving me tired and frustrated, so it was a huge weight off my shoulders to have our house back in order!!!!!).

  6. mandy July 29, 2009 at 6:58 am #

    I talked to a friend on the phone for almost an hour, even though I spoke to her last week these phone calls make me realize how connected people can really be, even when distance is a factor.

    I adore the Gilmore Girls. I am on season 4 or 5 I think. =)

  7. Liz July 29, 2009 at 7:35 am #

    I ate Sweet Tarts for the first time in a LONG time (years maybe?) and they were damn good.

  8. Little Miss Obsessive July 29, 2009 at 7:39 am #

    I loveeee watching Gilmore Girls.. it’s one of my favorite shows ever!

    Since my day only just started today, I’ll pick my favorite thing I did yesterday which was talk to an old friend from high school and make plans to meet up soon.

  9. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair July 29, 2009 at 8:11 am #

    I LOVE Gilmore Girls!!

    Well my day JUST started today, and right now the thing resonating in my mind is that I slept in and missed my run group :-( BUT to be positive, yesterday I spent most of the day with my family that is in town visiting, and since I don’t get to see them very often it was a very, very nice way to spend the day!!

  10. Rebekah July 29, 2009 at 8:54 am #

    Well, YESTERDAY since that’s when you wrote the post…

    I took some me time and stayed in bed reading one of my favorite books even though my boyfriend got off work early and wanted to go out. I had a date with myself and didn’t break it.

  11. Habbala July 29, 2009 at 9:53 am #

    Let’s see. I went to go see 500 Days of Summer, and cried. It was SO great.

  12. mel July 29, 2009 at 10:50 am #

    YESTERDAY, I took a new get healthy vow. :) I’m very proud of myself. Day two of eating better! I know, it’s only day 2 but that’s a start!

    Thank goodness for my hungry girl cookbooks….

  13. Megan/SomewhatVoluble July 29, 2009 at 12:18 pm #

    Husband and I are watching season one of Gilmore Girls. I used to watch GG all the time, but he always asks questions about the story, so we started from the beginning. We’re halfway through disc three right now. He absolutely loves it, haha!

  14. ria July 29, 2009 at 1:12 pm #

    mmm tequila sunrise i need to remember that drink :) yes baby fever, i swear it’s in the water, it freaks me out haha

  15. tbrooke August 1, 2009 at 8:54 am #

    sounds like you are doing great ;) i miss you & can’t wait to get back into the blog world regularly!

Leave a Reply

