My Summer Song

29 Jul

When on a Summer’s Morn

When on a summer’s morn I wake,
And open my two eyes,
Out to the clear, born-singing rills
My bird-like spirit flies.

To hear the Blackbird, Cuckoo, Thrush,
Or any bird in song;
And common leaves that hum all day
Without a throat or tongue.

And when Time strikes the hour for sleep,
Back in my room alone,
My heart has many a sweet bird’s song —
And one that’s all my own.

– William Henry Davis

I remember the years of summer days and nights that were endless: numerous sleepovers spent cutting out photos of the latest hot celebrities and taping them onto our binders for the next school year; hours spent on AOL IM; family vacations; floating in the pool; ignoring the “s” word as much as possible until after Labor Day.

I remember the time spent in college searching for internships, the perfect summer job; escaping to my parents for a break; relishing in my summer school classes like a dork;  dancing until all hours of the night; day dreaming about being a “real,” adult.

I remember the rude awakening post-graduation. No more summer breaks. Less freedom. More of my life tied to Corporate America and a steady paycheck. Somewhere between work, graduate school and other social events, I’ve lost my summer song.

Mandy declared this the “Summer of Me.”
Kyla has her summer dubbed “the Summer of Starting Over.”
I’m following suit and declaring this the summer I rediscover my song.

I’ve become too bogged down in the daily hum-drum time table I have indavertently grown accustomed to. Graduate school and 10-hour work days has sucked my creativity dry, my will to cook away, and a bit of my pizzazz has just poof! disappeared.

While I can’t change the fact that I’m working long hours, I can change other things, like my graduate school schedule, the number of social events I say yes to, the tasks I undertake.

I realize we are halfway through the summer – although I’m not entirely sure how that’s happened- but I’m going to work on finding my inner song. I had the song on repeat just before this last graduate school class but it was drowned out by all the theories, concepts, study questions and more over the last nine weeks.

I want to bake extravagant desserts for no reason. I want to experiment with new dishes in the kitchen. I want to blog more and fill up pages in my personal journal. I want to spend hours by the pool. I want to read a book in 24 hours because I can. I want to go on long walks with Jack and Irish. I want to kick my own ass at the gym on a more regular basis. I want to go on a spontaneous trip and plan a few others. I want to feel more inspired. I want to get back to doing the random sweet things for Irish. I want to send out more cards. I want to redecorate my rooms at my parents.

Things like graduate school and extra hours at the office can wait. As Kyla mentioned in her most recent post, it’s important to think about how much time we have left and what we’d like to spend it doing.

Yes, I do want my Masters, but I don’t need it NOW. It’s not going to change my job, my salary or any other aspect of my life other tha my pride and the space it takes up on my wall.

Yes, my friends are important to me, but I can’t keep giving all the time because at the end of the day, there has to be something left for me.

So while it may be belated,  I have until late September to enjoy my summer and find my summer song. And once I find it? I’ll learn to be better at carrying it with me through the rest of the year.

18 Responses to “My Summer Song”

  1. Kyla Roma July 29, 2009 at 7:47 am #

    It’s such a hard balance to strike, and I hear you on over committing to friends and then ending up exhausted. There’s a lot to be said for enjoying life and drinking it in, and as a chronic gobbler of experiences I find it tough to chill out and just enjoy, but it’s incredibly worthwhile.

  2. SoMi's Nilsa July 29, 2009 at 8:21 am #

    If you ask me, you’re well on your way to finding your summer song. I’m confident you’ll find it in plenty of time to actually sit back and enjoy it.

  3. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair July 29, 2009 at 9:05 am #

    All these posts about reclaiming summer really make me want to do the same!! This summer was supposed to be for ME to relax but a turn of events with my internship led to me working full time! Not that I’m complaining, BUT it would be really, really nice to have some downtime.

    It can just be so hard to balance everything! I think you’re going to find your summer song no problem, though :-)

  4. mandy July 29, 2009 at 9:32 am #

    This post made me want to cry. Finding your summer song is so, so important. I have no doubts that once you find it, you will be singing it all year long. In the end not only will you have discovered your song, but more of yourself along the way. This summer has been such a wonderful season for me, I know the remainder of summer will be for you as well.

  5. Habbala July 29, 2009 at 9:52 am #

    I totally get the overextended thing. I started grounding myself… spending more time at home being by myself! I love this post Nora!!

  6. Liz July 29, 2009 at 10:17 am #

    I kept saying “yes, Yes, YES!” thoughout this entire post (minus the stuff about grad school, since I don’t intend to pursue that. Ever.) So I’ll slap on a “me too” and make a more conscious effort to enjoy every last day of summer while I still have it.

  7. Matt July 29, 2009 at 12:11 pm #

    This is totally off topic and has nothing to do with this post- but everyday when I see your blog in my reader I am reminded of this old song by Oran Jones called- “The Rain”… because the chorus kind of goes…

    I saw you… walking in the rain…

    and I always hum it to myself. Just thought you should know that.

  8. Lisa July 29, 2009 at 12:35 pm #

    Good for you for re-claiming your summer! So important.

    Looking back, I totally lost myself in grad school. I was in a crappy relationship for part of it, and then was dealing w/ the aftermath of that ending, for another chunk of it, and then I basically held on for dear life during my last semester.

    Now I am done & I have my degree, and it was all worth it, but I did a piss poor job of balancing my life during the program. So this has been a summer of re-discovery as well. Probably will do a post on that sometime.

    People keep asking me what I am doing with all my free time now that I am done w/ school and I don’t know how to answer them because I think they want a light, easy-breezey answer when in reality I want to just say – I’m finding me again.

    But that’s a bit too much to say in response, so I just say running or going to the cabin or something easy like that – something that fits into a neat little compartment.

    Anyways, good post – makes me think about the progress I’ve made this summer. I think you are well on your way to finding your summer song!

  9. ria July 29, 2009 at 1:05 pm #

    this was a great post. we all need to find our summer song i think. i feel like that sometimes too. not doing enough for myself and spreading myself to thin. I think since this summer has been extremely weird weather wise you have have until at least the end of october for summer :)

  10. Jennifer July 29, 2009 at 1:13 pm #

    Love this post. But I want this new theory/idea to extend beyond summer. I want it all year long!

  11. Erin July 29, 2009 at 7:08 pm #

    I think we all need to take a step back sometimes and find our summers again! I actually have summers “off”, and yet I’m still running around like a madwoman. I’ve really been trying to take the time to do the things I want to do, not just the things I have to do.

  12. Jessica July 29, 2009 at 9:58 pm #

    This post is perfect relatable to me. Seriously, I’m going to northern Wisconsin next week and I can’t wait to slow my life down to 10 mph. Should be quite a shock!

  13. sleepyjane July 30, 2009 at 5:22 am #

    Lately I really try and be more aware of everything and everyone around me, and to make the most of everything I have. So this post really just reinforces that!

  14. Margarita July 30, 2009 at 6:56 am #

    I totally agree with your logic. The most important thing you can do is take time for yourself, enjoy your life and live with no regrets. You don’t want to look back over the last 6 months of your life and realise you made no time for having fun, living life and doing things you truly enjoy…

    Which is a sad but true reality for a lot of us. Sometimes I can’t remember the last time I read a book because I’ve been so busy…

    Cheers to finding your summer song!

  15. Little Fish July 30, 2009 at 10:00 am #

    Well it sounds like you’ll be having a great rest of your summer! Enjoy!

  16. Lisa July 30, 2009 at 11:35 am #

    Thanks for the comment on my blog – makes my day! :)

    I got my MBA with an emphasis in Finance. So happy to be done – I always thought I’d be a student for life, but unless I win the lottery & can take classes ‘just for fun’ it’s not happening! Working full time & being a part-time student is SO different from being a full-time student and working part-time!

  17. E.P. August 5, 2009 at 11:52 pm #

    Good for you! It’s such a tough thing to find a balance between work and school and life and everything out, so I’m excited for you and this. Also, I’m excited that you have summer until the end of September. That’s amazing!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Taking Back Summer « - July 29, 2009

    […] taking a cue from Nora and other lovely ladies in the blogosphere, I’m taking back Summer. Work will still be work […]

Leave a Reply

