GiST 41/365

3 Aug

The only thing I don’t like Grace in Small Things Posts is I feel like they are kind of a cop out in a way. Not much of substance here, other than sharing with you the things that I have done/seen/said that made me feel good. Contemplating taking these offline and writing them in a daily journal instead.

1. Allowing my slightly addictive nature to indulge in Weeds, Season One and Two, within the last week. Irish = hooked as well. It’s a 30 minute show written so cleverly that you can’t help but want more.

2. Outdoor patios, strong margaritas, a handsome man (Irish), a new dress, and the best Mexican rice in town on a breezy Saturday evening.

3. Wandering around an old record store, packed floor-to-ceiling with records, 8-tracks, CDs, casettes, DVDs, record players, equipment and more for about an hour Saturday evening with Irish.

4. Finding my favorite Kanye West CD on vinyl… and Irish buying it so we could rock out to it.

5. Ted Drewe’s ice cream made even better when a local firehouse brought their truck and half their crew to get a sweet treat. They were kind enough to let kids climb in the rig (I learned that word from Rescue Me, which Irish and I are pretty sure real fireman either love or hate), get their pictures taken, and put their feet in the boots. A community at it’s best.

6. Nintendo DSi. I’m addicted.

7. Tylenol PM. It was the medicine that finally knocked out my migraine…. and let me sleep in until NOON on Sunday.

8. The gym. I feel at peace when I’m there, working out. Irish is going with me too, which is double the fun since he’ll send me kisses from across the cardio & weight room.

9. Clean clothes. My favorite household chore ever is laundry. I know, I’m a dork. While it stinks we have to go to a laundromat, we can get all of our loads done at the same time + the people watching is pretty fantastic. I will admit I can’t wait until the day when Irish and I have a house and our own laundry room.

10. The realization that I don’t have to go to class tonight.

11. Chatting with Liz. We’ve both been too busy lately to even email so it’s great to have my e/blog/real life buddy back.

12. Deciding to run a few 5ks this fall. And of course buying new running shoes for the endeavor + a pair of cute black Nine West heels because…well, just because.

13. Jack, for being especially cuddly lately.

21 Responses to “GiST 41/365”

  1. Alesia August 3, 2009 at 2:53 pm #

    #2 Sounds perfect, just perfect.

    #9 I get it. I’d rather fold clean clothes than do any other household chore.

  2. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair August 3, 2009 at 2:59 pm #

    I also love doing laundry – love, love, love the smell of clean clothes!

    Yay for signing up for a few 5ks! That’s great!!

    I love your posts like this. It’s a new-take on bullet points and they’re always SO uplifting, which is nice :-)

  3. SoMi's Nilsa August 3, 2009 at 3:06 pm #

    Personally, I love your GIST, because it’s clear you put thought into each one and you’re descriptive, not cryptic.

    I liked Weeds. And watched one episode after another on Netflix. But, I think I’m a bit ADD with it. Because it’s not all that good. In that, the minute a better show comes along, I’m gone. And not soon to return. (Which has happened now that I’ve fallen in love with Friday Night Lights.)

    BTW, would it be ridiculous to request a trip to Ted Drewes AFTER we eat your dad’s yummy mac n cheese and toasted ravioli from down the street?

  4. Jennifer August 3, 2009 at 3:29 pm #

    Keep you GiST posts online! I like reading them and they make me think more about blessings I have in my life too!

  5. Michelle August 3, 2009 at 3:34 pm #

    These are great posts! Inspiring and they make me happy. I can relate to #8 today. Just got myself back to the gym and it feels great!

  6. Liz August 3, 2009 at 4:04 pm #

    I like these posts! Helps keep the focus on the positives in life and let’s us know what’s going on with you at the same time.

    PS you can do my laundry anytime.

  7. Jessica August 3, 2009 at 4:59 pm #

    Oh my gosh, if I had in-unit washer and dryer, I would be obsessed with laundry too. And I’ve never seen Weeds, I’ll have to check that out!

  8. Erin August 3, 2009 at 5:04 pm #

    I love laundry! I love when it’s all clean and put away, and there’s nothing left in the laundry basket!

  9. Kelly August 3, 2009 at 5:28 pm #

    I would love a record store like that! Too neat! I am pretty sure the ice cream + fireman scene could be right out of a children’s book. How awesome are firemen?! I want one! ha-ha Super congrats on the 5 k! Just don’t kill your ankle like I did…it kind of puts a damper on any workout routimes. Good news – no more crutches! I still have a cankle though. :[ Ha-ha.

  10. anne August 3, 2009 at 5:35 pm #

    don’t get rid of the GIST, i love it !

    and i am stoked that you are doing the 5k- i’ll get you the details. and recruit away girlfriend, the more the merrier. it’s with aaron’s school so it will be a fun, low key crowd.

    have any interest in a 1/2 marathon? holly is working her mysterious ways on me and making me think i can train for the april one that goes with the STL marathon.

    sounds like you had a splendid weekend….

  11. mel August 3, 2009 at 8:32 pm #

    someone else who likes Kanye!? YAY!

  12. mandy August 3, 2009 at 10:07 pm #

    Please don’t take these offline. I really truly enjoy reading them, it does make me stop and think what I am grateful for in my life. Sometimes I need this reminder.

  13. Mel August 3, 2009 at 10:48 pm #

    I LOOOOVE “Weeds” – though you should enjoy the first few seasons. I have to say that I liked the first three seasons more than the fourth (I haven’t seen the fifth because I don’t watch until DVD time because I don’t get the fancy-pants channels)… some of the awesome characters have smaller roles later. And if you haven’t gotten into “30 Rock” or “Arrested Development” yet, you really should. There’s a reason for some of that cult following… I think if you like “Weeds” you’d like the other two because it’s a similar humor and wit and suspension of reality… and boys like those shows too!

  14. Andhari August 4, 2009 at 1:28 am #

    I know what you mean about feeling overwhelmed by GiST, some of my bloggy friends have told me so too. I think maybe people don’t have to put it everyday. Once or twice a week would do trick, your list is always so interesting anyway :)

  15. sleepyjane August 4, 2009 at 1:35 am #

    To be honest I actually like these posts – some of the same theme on other blogs are a little boring…but not yours! So please keep posting this. :)

    Also, I don’t normally like hip hop music (or whatever genre Kanye West is) but I LOVE his music. LOVE!

  16. Megan/SomewhatVoluble August 4, 2009 at 6:50 am #

    I love reading these!

    I don’t mind doing laundry, but I hate folding everything. I’d rather do that than the dishes, though.

  17. Kyla Roma August 4, 2009 at 11:41 am #

    I like your GiST posts- but if you feel like there’s too many, why not make a GiST blog for your entries and give us the best of here?

    And deciding on running a FEW 5ks?! You’re a super hero. I’ve always suspected it, and now it’s official!

  18. Rebekah August 4, 2009 at 2:29 pm #

    GiST posts make your readers happy :o) You can’t read one without looking for those graces in your own life.

  19. AuburnKat August 5, 2009 at 4:57 am #

    Tonight I’m going to start going back to the gym, my foot has finally healed from hurting it and I have nothing else to do in the evenings since I’m not running around doing errands for my sister’s wedding.

  20. Lisa August 5, 2009 at 2:14 pm #

    I like you Gist posts!

    #2 is swoon-worthy. Sounds like a fabulous night!

  21. E.P. August 5, 2009 at 9:01 pm #

    It makes me so happy that you’re enjoying Weeds! I got addicted to that show when I was living with my pothead roommate (hardy har). Since then, I bought the first three seasons and should probably pick up the fourth.

    Also, yay for pups being extra cuddly! That’s the best!

Leave a Reply

