NOLA: Recapped

6 Aug

Alright, so it’s been almost a month since I returned from NOLA, but better late than never.

Highlights of the trip:

* A 12 hour road trip with Darling & Irish. Thank goodness for recently won Nintendo DSi’s (thanks, Rebekah!), crossword puzzles, Junior Mints & XM Radio.

* Surviving a night in Batesville, MS. I mean survive in the sense that we were creeped out by the huge caskset factory and the constant reminder of Bates Motel, as in Alfred Hitchock.

* A lovely three bedroom house that we rented in the Magazine District for the week in NOLA. With really kick-ass air conditioning, which is a must in the humid, hot, stickyness that is the NOLA air.

* Cats! No, not the musical. The animal. I fell in love with the outdoor cats that lived under our house. There was a huge bowl of food and water that was magically filled each morning, by the neighbor I assume, and apart from a literal cat fight at one point, they were incredibly sweet.

* Cooter Brown’s. Irish had a hankering for oysters and since he was kind enough to use a week’s worth of his vacation to join me and the fam in NOLA, I had to make sure we got him what he wanted. Double bonus: this restaurant boasted over 400 kinds of beer from around the world. He and my dad tried a few different kinds. Triple bonus: Big, flat screen TVs on which to watch the first pitch of the MLB All-Star Game.

* A Haunted History Tour. Terrifying. Exhilarting. Intriguing. Goosebump-causing. Check out Darling’s post she wrote about the tour, complete with pictures of yours truly hiding behind the fans they gave us.

* Hurricane’s at Pat O’Brien’s. I’ve had ’em before, but it’s a must when you’re planning on a) spooking the shit out of yourself and b) when it’s 100 degrees with the sun down. This is what happens you down one HUGE hurricane in less than 20 minutes:

hurricane made me do it

* Really great conferences. I know, why would I want to do work when I was in NOLA? Well, I had no choice since that was the whole point of the trip and trust me, my dad and I worked our tails off. We had networking breakfast, lunch and dinner meetings. Afternoon planning sessions. Sidebar conversations during keynotes. As always, I learned a lot about the business (IT), myself and where my job will be headed. One of the boutique stores picked up on who was in town:

microsoft

* The French Quarter. If you can ignore or tolerate the stench of pee and sweat, you’ll find some lovely things like the French Market, antique stores of all kinds, tiny little bookshops, bars on every corner, absinthe and more.

french market

* Sharks. We did take a little bit o’ time off while we were there to head to the Aquarium. My favorites: Sharks. Jelly Fish. The huge turtle that was much bigger than the shark. Considering Irish loves sharks this was a must-do on the list.

* Inside Jokes. It’s been awhile since I’ve traveled with most of the family (my brother chose to stay in StL so he could go to the All-Star Game, I don’t blame him) and it’s amazing how many new jokes arise from the trip. We still giggle over some of the sayings and things we came up with while there, including the time I fell in the French Quarter. Uneven old bricks + flip-flops do not a steady Nora make.

My only wish is that we had a tad more time to explore the city via a plantation tour or swamp tour. If I ever go back, those will be high on my list since I’ve traipsed all around the French Quarter & Bourbon street already.

While it was had doing triple-duty while I was there (work/girlfriend/daughter duties), it was one of the better work trips I’ve been on, most likely because I had most of my loved ones around me.

mom and me

15 Responses to “NOLA: Recapped”

  1. SoMi's Nilsa August 6, 2009 at 1:30 pm #

    Cooter Brown’s sounds just up Sweets’ alley. So, while NOLA isn’t really a place I see myself needing to see, if I happen to ever trip there, I’ll be sure to wobble my way over to Cooter Brown’s. 400 beers makes it sound like I’ll need to go more than once (at least twice!). ha. Lovely recap, by the way.

  2. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair August 6, 2009 at 1:30 pm #

    Looks like a great time! I love exploring new places with my family!

  3. Kyla Roma August 6, 2009 at 1:50 pm #

    Um, you ate somewhere that was called “Cooter”? I wouldn’t have been able to stop laughing, because I’m a 7 year old boy.

    This sounds like a great time though, I haven’t gone on a family road trip…since I was 9? Maybe I could test those waters and pull through alright after all… lol

  4. Habbala August 6, 2009 at 2:43 pm #

    Sounds like you had a lot of fun!!! I have never been to NOLA, but I really want to… I don’t know if I’d eat at a place called Cooter anything though. :)

  5. katelin August 6, 2009 at 6:56 pm #

    oh sounds like a great trip! i love good ole nola and cannot wait to go back some day.

  6. Andhari August 6, 2009 at 11:17 pm #

    Oooh what is this haunted history tour? We have similar ones over here, I always wanna go but I’m too much of a wimp to try. Indo ghosts are scary, and I do believe in them lol wack, yes?

  7. E.P. August 6, 2009 at 11:38 pm #

    Aww, I love this. I wish I could have seen you when you were down there, though. Next time. (:

    Also, I cannot believe y’all stayed in Batesville. I’m sorry. You were kinda near Ole Miss, though…

  8. sleepyjane August 7, 2009 at 12:44 am #

    Ooh! The haunted tours sounds like SO MUCH FUN! I’m a sucker for things like that. ;)

  9. mandy August 7, 2009 at 8:20 am #

    I think the haunted tour sounds like so much fun. I’ve always wanted to visit NOLA, the place has such an amazing history and culture.

  10. oh August 7, 2009 at 5:24 pm #

    hey, you have a lot of pictures, too, that I DON’T have! we must do a swap! I’m sure you want to post the one of your Hurricane-d red tongue! And you and Irish in Jackson Square garden. I think I have 300 pictures from the trip. Come on over!

  11. Kelly August 7, 2009 at 7:39 pm #

    It sounds like you had a lot of fun and got a lot of work done at the same time! That Haunted History tour sounds too neat. I love weird history-ish stuff like that. The pic of you and Irish on Darling’s blog made me laugh, randomly, at work while it was dead silent. It was awesome. :] Have a good weekend!!

  12. Jessica August 9, 2009 at 7:42 pm #

    Wow I’ve never been to NOLA but that sounds like a lot of fun! My brother just went there and loved it too.

  13. ria August 10, 2009 at 11:24 am #

    i’ve always wanted to visit NOLA. how much fun you got to spend it with your mom and irish :)

  14. Erin August 10, 2009 at 3:14 pm #

    Your trip looks like so much fun! I have always wanted to go to NOLA…and now I really want to go!

  15. Margarita August 10, 2009 at 9:10 pm #

    Your trip looks like it was so so much fun!! I would love to go. And I can’t enter your contest. Because I’m non-US. Bleh. Well, there you go.

    But your trip looks great ;)

Leave a Reply

