Donkey Ote

11 Aug

Friday night Irish and I enjoyed some good ole’ fried chicken, corn on the cob, spinach artichoke dip with delicious pita chips (seriously, pita chips are my new favorite addiction) and entertaining talk at his parents’ place.

Irish grew up on a farm, just 30 miles south of St. Louis, which was once populated with chickens, goats, peacocks, cows and more hay than I would know what to do with. After the Great Flood of 1993, with few cows remaining save a baby one that they purposely rescued, Irish’s dad started a golf course on half the farmland. The rest of the land is sitll inhabited by grass (for hay), barns, sheds, wildlife, wildbrush (I think I made that word up) and a large pasture.

Irish’s mom used to have two horses. Earlier this year, they lost a horse and so JoJo (or Donkey Ote instead of Don Quixote or just Donkey) was adopted from a Donkey Rescue Farm.

Donkey 2

I took these photos on Friday eve to send to Darling, as she’s quite curious about Donkey. He’s a miniature donkey and when you open the barn door, you’ll find him relaxing in the hay.

If you call his name and walk away from the barn, he’ll follow you. He’ll gently nose your behind. He’ll clip-clop behind you, sniffing, munching on grass, never straying far from you or the large quarterhorse (Cody).

If you leave Donkey outside without supervision, he’ll just return to the pasture to hang with Cody, perhaps to stand on top of a mulch pile and bray. (I have yet to witness this but it sounds pretty adorable.)

He also poses for pictures:

Donkey and Nora

Should you happen to find yourself wandering around the farm late at night  just to make sure Donkey is indeed back in the pasture, a bag of carrots in hand, you may see a shooting star.

A shooting star bright enough to light up the entire area in which you stand, something I, Miss City Girl, find mesmerizing. The shooting star, like they so often do, came out of nowhere, lasting at least four seconds ending with a final huge flash of white/blue/orange light before disintegrating into the atmosphere. Donkey was oblivious as he was busy eating baby carrots out of his “mom’s” hand.

And so with Donkey well-fed, Cody at peace since he was not alone in the pasture, and the bag of baby carrots empty, we conclude our night.

The whole way home we discuss the shooting star, what kind of voice Donkey would have if he could speak (I am convinced he’d sound like Donkey from Shrek; Irish thinks it would be slightly twangy), and the whole while, I gaze at the starlight until they are no longer visible due to the StL lights and haze.

(Don’t forget to enter the $25 Famous Footwear Giftcard Giveaway! Entries must be received by Thursday, August 12th at midnight!)

14 Responses to “Donkey Ote”

  1. SoMi's Nilsa August 11, 2009 at 7:43 am #

    When I travel to my parents’ beach house, one of the things I love the most is seeing a sky full of stars. It’s something we city girls definitely miss by living amidst the urban lights!

    That donkey is adorable. Wonder what it would do if it took a field trip to see you in the city for a day! hahaha.

  2. bellerenee August 11, 2009 at 7:48 am #

    Donkey Ote is probably the cutest name EVER. Sounds like a lovely, soul-filling evening for you.

  3. mandy August 11, 2009 at 7:59 am #

    Evenings like that warm my soul and make me feel so at peace. The farm sounds like a lovely place for Irish to grow up (and a great place for you two to visit). Donkey Ote is an awesome name.

  4. anne August 11, 2009 at 9:04 am #

    Ahh who knew donkeys could be so cute?

    What a great place to visit…. shooting stars and all.

  5. Lisa August 11, 2009 at 9:53 am #

    What a clever blog post title!!!

    I have actually never seen a shooting star. Which is ridiculous since I grew up in the middle of nowhere! I’ll see one someday…

  6. Habbala August 11, 2009 at 10:03 am #

    Donkey Ote made me LOL. Such a great story.

  7. Jamie August 11, 2009 at 10:29 am #

    Okay Donkey Ote may be the best name ever. I love it!

  8. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair August 11, 2009 at 12:42 pm #

    Awwww!! So cute. My grandparents used to have a shetland pony that was the same colour, I LOVED riding that pony!!

  9. Lys August 11, 2009 at 1:47 pm #

    oh my gosssshhh!! i want a mini donkey cleverly named after a famous literary character!! so jealous :)

  10. Jessica August 11, 2009 at 8:24 pm #

    OMG I love that picture of you and the donkey. That is awesome (same with this blog post title)

  11. Margarita August 12, 2009 at 5:44 am #

    Aww, that’s such a cute donkey! I agree, I’m obsessed with looking at the sky when out in remote areas, when there’s no lights, no city, just you and the sky. I think I’ve seen a shooting star once… hoping to see more one day ;)

  12. ria August 12, 2009 at 6:37 am #

    i love donkey, how cute. i wish i grew up on a farm sometimes lol. shooting stars are amazing!

  13. E.P. August 12, 2009 at 9:48 am #

    Aww, that sounds like a wonderful night! What a fun animal to have around and to be able to hang out with!

  14. Kyla Roma August 13, 2009 at 8:44 am #

    DONKEY OTE?!
    You guys make my life. =D

Leave a Reply

