Brotherly Love

13 Aug

(Hanging out with my brother last week, bonding and enjoying every minute of it before he jets off to college.)

Me: It’s going to be really weird not having you around to hang out with when you leave.

Brother: Well, now you know how it feels. Don’t worry though, Mom & Dad will buy you anything you want.

Me: What? That’s how it works when a sibling goes away to college?

Brother: Yup, I got everything I wanted and then some after you left for undergrad.

Me: Hmmm… I wonder if I can play that card even though I have a full-time, well-paying job.

Brother: Oh. Yeah. Probably not. So I guess you’ll just have to miss me.

And that is when I hugged him and walked away so that he wouldn’t notice the tears welling up in my eyes. The next day he asked me to help him move into the apartment; I quickly secured a personal day. I guess I better have the tissues ready.

13 Responses to “Brotherly Love”

  1. Doni August 13, 2009 at 7:44 am #

    how quickly they grow, huh?

  2. Kyla Roma August 13, 2009 at 8:41 am #

    Aw, so sweet! My sister is doing a semester in France next year and I’m sure I’ll be a total wreck while she gets ready =) I’m right there with you!

  3. ria August 13, 2009 at 8:42 am #

    aw you might need a whole box :) it’s great you are close

  4. mandy August 13, 2009 at 8:44 am #

    Aren’t brothers the best? I wouldn’t trade mine for anyone. Enjoy helping him move. My brother and I actually became friends when I went to college.

  5. Habbala August 13, 2009 at 11:06 am #

    Aww, how cute!

  6. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair August 13, 2009 at 2:10 pm #

    Awww! So sweet. I’m not very close with my brother. Actually, not at all. I don’t even really talk to him when I’m gone – only ever 3-4 months when I go home :S

    I should probably work on that.

  7. katelin August 13, 2009 at 6:00 pm #

    aw your such a cute big sister.

  8. Jessica August 13, 2009 at 8:03 pm #

    OMG that is so cute. I cried when I went to college and my brother was staying behind. So cute and sad.

  9. Andhari August 13, 2009 at 11:03 pm #

    I think its beautiful how close you two are, I am too with my brothers. I’m the oldest so definitely know how it is being the big sis. He’ll be alright. I hope he visits you a lot :)

  10. sleepyjane August 14, 2009 at 12:54 am #

    Awww, that is so sweet! My sister also cried when I moved out. :)

  11. Carina the blogarina August 14, 2009 at 3:39 am #

    Cute!

  12. SoMi's Nilsa August 14, 2009 at 7:59 am #

    I love this bond you have with your brother. I am very close to my brother, but it took us until full adulthood to get there. As in, I never would’ve had that exchange of words (or tears) when I went off to college … special special bond you have.

  13. Megan/SomewhatVoluble August 14, 2009 at 12:09 pm #

    Little brothers can be the best. :)

Leave a Reply

