Lessons Learned…

24 Aug

…over the weeekend:

1* I’m at my happiest when I have little or no obligations, plans or monotonous chores to get done. This also means I laugh a little louder, stay up a little later, and feel genuinely rested.

2* Getting up at 9am and taking an afternoon nap is preferred to sleeping the day away.

3* I thrive in 70-something degree weather.

4* It is possible to finish an entire book from start to finish in one weekend provided the first thing learned is present. What did I read? Dead Until Dark, by Charlaine Harris. I may or may not have purchased the second book on Sunday, though I haven’t started it…yet.

5* It’s also possible to start a new book in the same weekend and become so enthralled by the writing and imagery that you are 50% of the way through it by Sunday night. (The book in question: Chocolat, by Joanne Harris. Yes, I’ve seen the movie but I want to read this book before I move onto the Girl with No Shadow, the sequel to Chocolat by Joanne Harris.)

6* There is wine named after me! Nora wine! How cool is that?

7* Impromptu picnics complete with wine, cheese, crusty bread, blanket + pillows, as well as a few books and my fabulous man are my new favorite thing. Bonus for finding some amazing cheese at a local smokehouse.

8* Quentin Tarantino is seriously disturbed but has an amazing cinematic eye just the same. Go see Inglorious Basterds. It’s worth the 150 minutes of your time.

9* It’s okay to make a meal out of appetizers while watching True Blood with my boyfriend.

10* Jack is more of a cuddle whore than ever. He is now attempting to cuddle with me while holding his new toy (a stuffed goose) in his mouth.

11* Irish & I have a book buying problem. We’ve made a pact to not set foot into nor buy another book until my birthday which is in one month and five days.

12* Watching Six Feet Under before you go to bed is a bad, bad idea. Cue insane nightmares and waking up gasping for air.

13* Staying in on a Friday night is totally acceptable.

14* There are never enough hours in the weekend but a perfectly unscripted weekend is much needed at least once a month.

19 Responses to “Lessons Learned…”

  1. mandy August 24, 2009 at 1:39 pm #

    I couldn’t agree more with this, especially #1. I am so glad that you are relaxing, taking time to enjoy life, and relishing your summer of Nora. I want my fall to be like this as well. It really is a wonderful thing, no?

  2. Habbala August 24, 2009 at 2:37 pm #

    I love this post!!!!

    1. Isn’t it amazing how a weekend of no obligations recharges us? Even if we get less sleep than normal– I always feel ready to take on anything.
    2. Naps are ALWAYS preferable.
    3. 70 was about how warm it was in San Fran this weekend- and it was utterly perfect.
    4. I LOVE reading like this. I read all four Twilight books in four days… one a day, for four days. It was perfect.
    5. I love Joanne Harris!! I haven’t read Chocolat (I know I need to), but I highly recommend Five Quarters of the Orange.

    Ok. I think that’s enough. :) Glad you had such a great weekend. You deserve it. :)

  3. tbrooke August 24, 2009 at 2:41 pm #

    i absolutely loved this entry :) it sounds like a perfect weekend and im so jealous! i think i’m going to follow your lead and leave a little less “to do’s” and plans for the weekends and spend a little more time relaxing, reading and enjoying myself.

  4. Kyla Roma August 24, 2009 at 2:46 pm #

    No obligation time is brilliant- it forces you to do whatever you like! Whoever imagined that when we were adults we would have to work at having fun and free time! I’m so glad for you Nora, it sounds like you were exhausted before you dropped off your brother and I’m sure that rounding off physical exhaustion with emotional exhaustion is more than enough to thoroughly knock one off one’s feet.

    You so needed this!! Congrats on taking the time you need for you!

  5. jnyfritz August 24, 2009 at 2:52 pm #

    you just described my perfect weekend!! complete with book buying and making pacts not to buy said books…at least for a while!!

  6. Lisa August 24, 2009 at 2:59 pm #

    Love the list! I’m w/ you on #1 (and so many others). I was home this weekend & intended to have a plan free weekend. But it didn’t really work out that way. But that’s ok – there is always next weekend I guess!

    I love that your bf also loves to buy books! I have a huge book buying program, but have put myself on a hiatus, and it has been working pretty well. I’ve only bought 2 since May which is impressive since I can usually buy about, oh, 6 at a time when I go to B&N? I am totally their target market!!

  7. tabithablogs August 24, 2009 at 3:13 pm #

    absolutely love this list. i can relate to almost every point. :)

  8. Andhari August 24, 2009 at 3:57 pm #

    I like the lessons, especially appetizers with true blood and picnic with all those amazing meals ;)

  9. Carina August 24, 2009 at 4:42 pm #

    I am so on board for number one! That’s why I wrote a thank god it’s monday post today. I m doing my best to keep next weekend completly open!!!

  10. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair August 24, 2009 at 5:26 pm #

    Your weekend sounds perfect. And I completely agree that afternoon naps are much, much better than sleeping the day away! I love to take naps on the weekends!

  11. AuburnKat August 24, 2009 at 7:53 pm #

    I definitely have a book buying problem as well!!!

  12. nicoleantoinette August 24, 2009 at 9:01 pm #

    Um, I want a Nicole Wine!!

  13. Jessica August 24, 2009 at 9:15 pm #

    Wow this is a great key learning post! Yeah Quentin Tarantino is insanely deranged but his vision and storytelling is impressive. I agree with that.

  14. Margarita August 24, 2009 at 9:26 pm #

    I love relaxing weekends!! It sounds like you had so much fun. I can’t wait to see Inglorious Basterds… hopefully I can check it out this week :)

  15. sleepyjane August 25, 2009 at 12:46 am #

    Ah! I love these posts! :)

    I also want a Nicole Wine, like nicoleantoinette!

  16. SoMi's Nilsa August 25, 2009 at 8:32 am #

    I’m finally caught up with all I missed while on vacation. Your posts about your brother going off to college were heart-wrenching and a walk down memory lane for me, too! And I love your list of lessons learned – unplanned weekends are the best. Especially when you’re out of town on vacation. hahaha. Yes, still in vacation frame of mind. =)

  17. oh August 25, 2009 at 9:58 pm #

    I adore unscripted weekends. sometimes, when they are scripted in fact, i unscript them!

  18. ria August 26, 2009 at 6:28 am #

    i’m happiest when i have no obligations too. and i love staying in on friday nights :)

  19. E.P. September 3, 2009 at 8:40 pm #

    If it’s any consolation, I have a book buying problem, too. I’m trying to frequent more used book stores, though, to make it easier on my bank account.

    And have you read the second of the Southern Vampire series?!

Leave a Reply

