A Look Back: Nora’s High School Journals

26 Aug

Since I’ve been back at my parents place, I’ve been doing a lot of cleaning up/cleaning out of things and stumbled upon a huge box of my journals from high school.

First of all, my handwriting? Apalling. It’s so messy, big and just ick. I can’t believe I used to write that way and that in high school I had the prettiest handwriting among my friends! I do give myself a bonus because I managed to use legible ink, not pink like a lot of my friends did.

Secondly, the words I used for things is hilarious. Examples:

Life Juice = Coca Cola
Rat, Ring, Parrot= Rat, the nickname for a person I didn’t like; Ring nickname for a guy I had a crush on with a tongue ring; Parrot, the nickname for a friend who talked way too much
CLAA= a group I “created” to help me get over a guy I had a Crush on. I don’t even remember what the letters stand for nor could I find them in my journal!

I love that I included random facts about my day or reminders for myself, like “Don’t forget to watch the American President this Friday at 8pm,” or “My doctor says I’m 10 lbs under weight for my height/age,” (That was freshman year in high school and boy do I wish that was true now!) I also found emails that I printed out from guys I had crushes on or AOL Instant Messenger conversations and tucked into the pages, “Drawings of the day,” and an insane amount of teenage insecurities over friends. Ah, teenage insecurities. Can’t say that I miss those.  

Looking back, it’s funny what I found to be important to me on a daily basis: grades, clothes, band practice and then yearbook gossip, boys, and an insane amount of concern for what others thought about me. Even funnier is that if someone had asked me to “journal,” my life online I would have laughed at them in their face. I can only imagine how much more intense high school would have been with social media. Maybe something like Mean Girls + Varsity Blues + American Pie + Weird Science/other geeky teenage movie aka way too much drama for a normal person.

A few tidbits from my sophomore year journal mostly because they made me laugh out loud…

July 21st, 1998

MM wrote K an email about his sex life. He’s such a freak.

(MM happens to own a record label now and lives somewhere in ChiTown. Also I’m glad to know I thought people who talked a lot about sex were freaks.)

******

July 26, 1998

Today my brother told my dad that I cursed in an email. He’s being a huge buttface.

********

Date Unknown.
NO MORE SWIMMING IN GYM CLASS!!!!!!

*******

Date Unknown.

Crushes of the day: Ethan Embry. Seth Green.

*********
Your turn! Did you keep a journal pre-blogland? Best secret? Best code name for a crush? Something you thought was a big deal then which is not of concern at all now?

(Also, I think “A Look Back:…:” will become a weekly feature on my blog. Taking suggestions for topics to “Look Back,” on!)

21 Responses to “A Look Back: Nora’s High School Journals”

  1. SoMi's Nilsa August 26, 2009 at 7:45 am #

    Buttface? You have such a way with words. hahaha.

    I kept journals when I lived at home (promptly quit that habit in college). One reason I never clean my room when at home is because if I stumble across those journals, I’ll get lost in them for hours and never get any cleaning done!

  2. Kyla Roma August 26, 2009 at 7:52 am #

    Ha! Love the buttface comment, you’re too cute!

    I kept journals for a long time, and the ones where I’m dating my last boy friend before Jesse are my favourite. There was so much drama, he moved away and then a week after we were saying I love you he was gay! I was torn apart, but especially since he’s one of my best friends now it’s funny to go back through and go “Yep! I remember when he was irresistible to me!” because while I remember I can’t quite see it anymore! lol

  3. Lisa August 26, 2009 at 7:59 am #

    I didn’t keep a journal during high school, but I did keep one when I studied abroad in Australia. It’s packed away somewhere in storage. I need to find it & re-read it!! Would be interesting to read the thoughts of my 21-year-old self!!

    My mom did keep a journal of my senior year of high school and wrote in it nearly every day. She kept track of what I was up to, and told me all the things she wanted to tell me but I was too snotty to listen to. :) She gave it to me the day I graduated and it is by far the best gift I’ve ever received. I re-read it this winter and boy was it an emotional experience to read it. I hope to do this some day if I ever have a daughter.

  4. mandy August 26, 2009 at 8:11 am #

    I have kept a journal since I was literally a kid, I still do. One of my most drama filled journals is the one from the 8th grade, it was a hard year — growing up, my parents divorce finalization, just being 13/14 years old. My most favorite journal is the one where I did an internship in DC, then my senior year of college. That was the year I finally came into my own. I love rereading old journals.

  5. Liz August 26, 2009 at 8:15 am #

    My high school journals are beyond embarassaing. I was a boy-crazy dork.

    But Seth Green? Really?

  6. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair August 26, 2009 at 8:47 am #

    Hahaha, that’s priceless. I love how you called your brother a buttface!

    I did keep a journal and I still do, mostly for stuff that I feel is just a little too personal for my blog and for when I’m angry! If anybody was to read my journal they’d probably think me and Eric have a terrible relationship because I only seem to write in it when I’m pissed at him! Haha – but I do enjoy looking through my old journals and I’m super glad that I kept them now!

  7. Akirah August 26, 2009 at 9:02 am #

    I love this. I remember calling my brother a buttface in my journals too. I used to write about my crushes a lot. I would write poems too. The one guy I was in love with was dating this girl named Peaches. I remember writing a poem about how awful peaches are.

    Gotta love high school.

  8. E.P. August 26, 2009 at 9:19 am #

    I kept a journal, too, and I would print out AIM messages from crushes and put them in there! We were totally meant to be friends!

    Also, I need to find some of my old journals from high school. They would be an amusing read, if nothing else.

  9. amongdaisies August 26, 2009 at 10:43 am #

    i really enjoy your blog! :) When I was in middle school I kept a journal and its rather fun reading them and remembering who you were at that point in time.

    and seth green? (between you and me, had a big crush on him too…im kind of amazed at myself for it lol! what was i thinking at that age?! ;D)

  10. Rebekah August 26, 2009 at 1:33 pm #

    Oh, I wish I’d kept my old diaries! I destroyed EVERYTHING like that when I left for college because I knew my mom would go after them.

    What I really wish I still had was my first blog, from the dark ages of Geocities when I was 14. I don’t even remember what was on it, but I thought it was the shiznizzle.

  11. bellerenee August 26, 2009 at 3:45 pm #

    Oh my gosh, my best friend and I used to pass notebook after notebook back and forth, all four years of high school. The best part is that EVERYONE had code names. My high school bf was Clorox because he bleached his hair. Another guy was Peter Pan because of a costume he wore in a play. One guy was called Evals, which is Slave spelled backwards because his girlfriend bossed him around and her code name was simply The Bitch. All those notebooks are in a bag at my mom’s house and some days I wish they were here so I could do the same thing you’ve been doing!!

  12. AuburnKat August 26, 2009 at 4:16 pm #

    I used to have a journal when I was little but that wasn’t for very long at all.

    I remember that I used to absolutely hate my hair and now I absolutely love it!

  13. ria August 26, 2009 at 7:20 pm #

    it’s so much fun to read old stuff, especially from high school. i have a notebook that my best friend and i used to pass back and forth between classes. we had a nickname for all the boys we had crushes on. i used to keep a paper journal too :)

  14. Jessica August 26, 2009 at 7:39 pm #

    Oh man I used to journal during high school but then stopped. THank god for blogging, so much more interesting stuff is going on now.

  15. mieletcannelle August 26, 2009 at 9:11 pm #

    oh this is so sweet. I recently packed up my house, and found so many day timers and journals. I too had AOL conversations, photos, magazine clippings.. and the stories! We were so funny, so involved, so young. They make me happy, and I can’t wait to hand them down to my kids.

  16. sleepyjane August 27, 2009 at 12:55 am #

    OMG I loved this!!

    Ah! I had a thing for Seth green also. :)

  17. Lauren From Texas August 27, 2009 at 6:33 am #

    This is great! I have been keeping a diary/journal/blog of some kind since I was 9. I’m scared to go back and look at what a huge dork I was!

    KylaRoma suggested your blog to me, and I’m glad she did! If you get a minute, stop by mine. :)

    xo

  18. Morgan August 27, 2009 at 7:15 am #

    I totally kept journals and then when I moved to Orlando after high school to go to college I sat around one night feeling sorry for myself becauase I was all alone and reread all my journals… and promptly burned them. I kinda regret doing that but then again… no one needed to read that crap. Good God was I pathetic! LOL! Thanks for sharing!

  19. Megan/SomewhatVoluble August 27, 2009 at 8:55 am #

    I do “A look at that past” on my blog, in which I post entries from old diaries/journals. I haven’t posted on in a while, though … I need to do that soon.

  20. Andhari August 27, 2009 at 10:13 am #

    Ohh I love old school journals, they’re filled with pictures that I glue to papers too lol. Definitely code names of guys i love and other girls I hate :P

  21. Morgan Coffey January 17, 2011 at 11:36 am #

    This blog popped up as one my ‘potentially related’ posts on a recent post of mine and when I clicked through and read it, I realized that a lot of people are the same! We write about crazy things that are, perhaps, slightly inconsequential and we feel/felt emotions so strongly! Anyway, enjoyed the read – so, Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

