Nora Confessions Part II

27 Aug

* I really, really like the TV show “The Nanny,” with Fran Drescher. Don’t ask me why because I don’t have a valid reason. Now that it’s on the late night slot on Nick at Nite, if I can’t sleep, I watch it.

* I haven’t been working out every day lately (or even three times a week on occasion) and guess what? I kind of don’t care.

* I cheated on a vocab quiz a few times my senior year in my Honors English class. It was the end of the semester, we had already learned about 1200 vocab words and our troll of an English teacher decided to put some words on there from the beginning of the year. So I shared answers with a friend.

* I still love Tyler Perry’s movies. If no one will go to the theater with me, I put them at the top of my Netflix queue as soon as they are available.

* I get super annoyed when we don’t receive Thank You cards from the weddings we’ve attended. Whatever happened to etiquette?

* Every few weeks I daydream about quitting my job without a new one lined up and just going with the flow.

* Living with my parents has been easier than I thought, however, seeing Irish less frequently has been harder than I thought.

* Occasionally I “borrow” stamps from work.

* Some of my “real life” friends pale in comparison to the friends I’ve made through blogging. (Side Note: I’m no longer calling my readers blog friends because, um, you are my “real life” friends too.)

* I own all of seasons of Sex & The City, Friends & Gilmore Girls. I’ve seen the last episode of each show when they aired and with the exception of the final Sex & The City episode, I won’t re-watch the last episode of the show on DVD. Makes things feel too final even though I could watch them again and again and again if I wanted. I know, I’m weird.

26 Responses to “Nora Confessions Part II”

  1. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair August 27, 2009 at 4:18 pm #

    Hahaha – that last one IS weird. I also own all the seasons of Friends but I watch them over and over and OVER again!! Haha

    I daydream about quitting school/work and just going travelling sometimes. But I know that I would regret it (at least the school part) maybe one day I will quit work… Although, I’m not sure my type-A personality could handle that much flexibility!!

  2. Liz August 27, 2009 at 4:33 pm #

    And I’m just going to lump myself into that second to last bullet point ;) Don’t mind if I do! Ah, thank you. And? Ditto. (BTW, am I really the only person that still says ditto? I think that I am.)

  3. katelin August 27, 2009 at 4:46 pm #

    i hate writing thank yous, but i agree that i get offended when people don’t send them out after weddings, seriously where’s the etiquette people?

  4. Lisa D August 27, 2009 at 7:31 pm #

    The thank you thing bugs me as well. Big time. People get less and less polite as the years go by, it seems.

    I have all the SATC discs as well. Love them. That is funny that you don’t watch the final episodes!!

  5. AuburnKat August 27, 2009 at 7:38 pm #

    I haven’t been working out at all lately either! Today I walked 3.5 miles and it felt great…I really need to get my butt back in gear!

  6. SoMi's Nilsa August 27, 2009 at 7:53 pm #

    Well, I know what to get in September if it’s a rained-in weekend! hahaha. And I am so with you when it comes to wedding thank yous. It’s not just an acknowledgment that you went out of your way to attend … but it’s also acknowledgment that they received your gift!

  7. Becky August 27, 2009 at 7:54 pm #

    I just found your blog and love it! (I’m trying to catch up on past posts when I have nothing to do at work). I completely agree about the wedding thank you notes as well – I am a huge stickler for etiquette when it comes to that. I also have all the seasons of Friends and Gilmore Girls – I could watch those shows every single day!

  8. Caz August 27, 2009 at 8:32 pm #

    Borrowing stamps from work is a given right of being an employee I feel. I mean c’mon its 50c! :-)

  9. Andhari August 27, 2009 at 11:53 pm #

    Lol we’re so similar, esp. For the last point. I never really watch the last episode of the show I like in dvd too. But I play the pilot a lot.

  10. sleepyjane August 28, 2009 at 3:02 am #

    I’ve watched SATC so many times even J knows most of it by heart. So yeah…that’s a LOT!

  11. jnyfritz August 28, 2009 at 6:08 am #

    holy crow!!! i do/own the same dvd tv shows and rarely watch the last episode! oh and i totally “borrow” stamps, or just slip in something for the meter and ‘forget’ to give the money for it…hummm

  12. Lauren From Texas August 28, 2009 at 6:39 am #

    I love these confessions. So funny/entertaining. I should do something like this! Oh and I LOVE LOVE LOVE SATC. :) Drives my hubby nuts though.

  13. mandy August 28, 2009 at 8:11 am #

    I love this post. Dammit why do we not live closer to one another. I wholeheartedly agree with this one “Some of my “real life” friends pale in comparison to the friends I’ve made through blogging. (Side Note: I’m no longer calling my readers blog friends because, um, you are my “real life” friends too.)” I may or may not have cheated my way through Geometry and maybe an economics class in college.

  14. AshleyD August 28, 2009 at 8:44 am #

    These confessions are too funny! I love that you’re sharing this little secrets with us in the blogosphere. Yay for real life friends!

  15. oh August 29, 2009 at 10:26 am #

    well all I know is your vocabulary is excellent and you continue to grow as a damn good writer.

  16. wishcake August 29, 2009 at 1:09 pm #

    “Every few weeks I daydream about quitting my job without a new one lined up and just going with the flow.” – Um, I’m doing that right now. Seriously. I want to be brave, but I don’t know what I would be risking, really.

    “Some of my “real life” friends pale in comparison to the friends I’ve made through blogging.” – I feel awful saying that, but I agree. So much. I like the fact that the people I’ve connected to online see MORE of me…because I tend to express myself better through writing, I guess. That’s why I secretly hope that “real life” people read my blog more than they admit. Heehee.

    Also? You are amazing. It’s true.

  17. bellerenee August 29, 2009 at 3:57 pm #

    I got caught cheating in honors biology in high school but cried my way out of it.

    Also, totally agree on the blog friends vs. real friends thing. TOTALLY.

  18. Kyla Roma August 30, 2009 at 12:15 pm #

    Love this post- and I cheated in chem in grade 11! I entered all the formulas into my TI-89 and just referenced them. So bad!! lol

    And here here about blog friends being as good as (at least) IRL friends. You are a case & point.

  19. Erin August 30, 2009 at 2:32 pm #

    I hate when people don’t write thank you notes! Drives me crazy.

    I also own all of the seasons of Gilmore Girls, Friends, and Sex & the City. Plus, I own all the seasons of Buffy.

  20. carina August 30, 2009 at 4:28 pm #

    I loved loved gilmore girls. Why did they stop making episodes?

    Ah, fran! My friend Megan was such a fan! She new the theme song by heart and would sing it all the time when we were younger! lol… “she is the lady in red, when everybody else is wearing taaaan!”

  21. Little Fish August 30, 2009 at 6:17 pm #

    “I get super annoyed when we don’t receive Thank You cards from the weddings we’ve attended. Whatever happened to etiquette?” and “Every few weeks I daydream about quitting my job without a new one lined up and just going with the flow.”… Could not agree more with both!!

    I still miss Gilmore Girls.

  22. Jessica August 30, 2009 at 7:31 pm #

    Lady I also “borrow” stamps from work. In fact, I’m doing that tomorrow ;) No judgement.

  23. mel August 31, 2009 at 6:44 am #

    oh, lord. the nanny is on nick at nite? i must now watch… :)

  24. ria August 31, 2009 at 6:57 am #

    i love the nanny too :) sometimes i feel guilty for missing workouts, but in the end there are sometimes more important things to do and that includes just relaxing. i wish i had the guts to quit my job and go with the flow. i agree, friends i’ve met blogging are my real life friends too and sometimes i think they understand me better.

    i need to buy the gilmore girl series ASAP! :)

  25. E.P. September 3, 2009 at 8:38 pm #

    I agree! Some of my real life friends pale in comparison to my bloggy friends. (:

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Nora Confessions, Part IV « Walking through the Rain - December 1, 2009

    […] Part IV December 1, 2009 You can view the first three installments of these posts  here and here  and […]

Leave a Reply

