My Brother & Me

1 Sep

21 years ago today I was about to turn five and my brother was about to enter this world.

I don’t remember much about the anticipation of having a younger brother but I do remember…

…. the day I came home from kindergarten to find out my parents were at the hospital waiting for my brother to enter this world.

…. sobbing uncontrollably when visiting hours were over because I didn’t want to leave my mom at the hospital. My dad bought me a doughnut at Krispy Kreme to try to make me feel better.

…. receiving a button that said “I’m a Big Sister,” which I still have to this day. I sported it on my mini-jean jacket that I had back in the late 80s.

…. getting in trouble for watching my little brother sleep because he just fell asleep.

…. how for two years of my brother’s life he’d greet me at the door after school, drag me to the TV with his bottle hanging out of his mouth, to watch the Mary Martin version of Peter Pan. Everyday, without fail. We wore the tape out.

…. the “scary” faces he would make with my dad when all his front teeth came out.

…. the incessant amoutn of costumes he’d create/find/make out of his toys. Pirate and Ninja were the most common.

…. sticking up for him when my friends didn’t want to be nice to him. I usually unfriended people who weren’t nice to my brother.

…. New Year’s Eves spent baby-sitting him, eating pizza, watching Grease, Guys & Dolls and other musicals.

…. the year he went to Boy Scout camp for the first time. And when he was part of the Order of the Arrow ceremony.

…. his orchestra concerts, plays and Pit Orchestra performances.

…. his high school graduation. Senior Prom. First girlfriend. First break-up.

…. late night chats about how silly girls can be after break-ups, college life, dorm life, and how inconsiderate roommates can be.

….watching him grow up to be a fine, handsome, strong, independent-thinking young man.

…. that even though we have had our fights, days of silence and distance between us, we’ve been there for each other through thick and thin.

Happy Birthday, little brother!

CR_goof

(His goofy graduation face, three years ago)

14 Responses to “My Brother & Me”

  1. jnyfritz September 2, 2009 at 9:45 am #

    That is the Best!! i had an Im the big sister shirt that was sparkly!!

  2. Little Fish September 2, 2009 at 10:05 am #

    The Mary Martin version of Peter Pan is STILL one of my all time favorite movies!!

  3. Liz September 2, 2009 at 10:05 am #

    Aw, happy birthday to your baby bro!

  4. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair September 2, 2009 at 10:56 am #

    Aww this was such a sweet post! Even though me and my brother aren’t nearly as close as you and your brother I can totally relate to so much of it – like him meeting you at the door when you got home from school and watching endless hours of TV together!

  5. mandy September 2, 2009 at 12:33 pm #

    Littlel brothers are the best. I dont remember my brother coming home from the hospital (I was only 3) but I can recall a lot. I am so glad that the two of you are close!

  6. Lisa September 2, 2009 at 12:44 pm #

    Awwww, it is so fun having a younger sibling.

    I vividly remember the day my little sister was born. I was 7 at the time. She was born on a freakishly warm day in February. So warm that we were riding our bikes through puddles, wearing shorts! I remember we were all dirty when we went to the hospital to visit Abby. Whoopsies! I remember bringing her to school for show & tell.

    What a sweet post. Happy Belated Birthday to your brother. It was my eldest brother’s birthday yesterday – he turned 38!!

  7. Ashley D September 2, 2009 at 9:21 pm #

    This is so sweet! You make me want to have a little brother too!

  8. Andhari September 3, 2009 at 8:20 am #

    AWWW, and I THOUGHT I’m close enough with my brother, you and yours are definitely awesome :)

  9. bellerenee September 3, 2009 at 6:33 pm #

    This is too sweet. I love that pic of you guys.

  10. E.P. September 3, 2009 at 8:37 pm #

    Aww! Happy belated to your brother!

    I remember going through some of the same things when my little sister was born!

  11. Erin September 6, 2009 at 12:43 pm #

    Awww, too sweet. Happy Birthday to your brother!

  12. Kyla Roma September 7, 2009 at 2:06 pm #

    Oh too cute- happy birthday to him!

    You can remember stuff from when you were 5?? That blows me away, I have almost no recollection of my early years, but what I do remember was playing with my little sister. =)

  13. Megan/SomewhatVoluble September 8, 2009 at 6:56 am #

    Little brothers are the best. (And I totally had shirt like that “I’m a big sister” photo.) I’ve often unfriended people who weren’t nice to my siblings.

  14. CLo September 10, 2009 at 3:06 am #

    Thanks, sis. Didn’t see the blog dedicated to me last week. Playing catch up, kinda. I don’t remember the musicals on New Years, but I do remember “The Adventures of Pete and Pete” marathons we watched on Nickelodeon all those December 31sts.

Leave a Reply

