Lessons Learned (Part Two)…

8 Sep

Over Labor Day Weekend

… it is unnecessary to shout out that everything in your former college town is NEW! since you have been gone for five years and clearly almost everything is NEW! Constantly shouting about what is NEW! will prompt your brother and Irish to give you strange looks

… that although there are many NEW! things some things remain true about a college town: the guys wear too much cologne, the girls too little clothing and the temptation to buy more than one thing at the bookstore is overwhelming

… you will walk away with several shirts and a pair of fleece sweatpants even if that wasn’t your intent

… that I am getting a bit old as I had to call it a night by 12am

… falling into the old college frame of mind is relatively easy; watching pointless TV shows, lazing around and just being is a lot more fun than I remember it being

… steroids + antibiotics are a kick-ass mix. Yours truly managed to get strep throat and a sinus infection within one week of each other so I’ve been on a Vitamin C plus lots of rest. Fortunately no hair is growing on my chest.

… it rains on the one weekend you’d rather it not: no pool days for this gal

… cooking is over-rated.

… an extra Sunday is the perfect day to perfect your Wii Wakeboarding Skills

… Rainy days are the best time to curl up with the Japanese book you’re reading for the challenge and get through the more prose-y parts. Still have a l-o-n-g way to go.

What did you learn this past weekend?

15 Responses to “Lessons Learned (Part Two)…”

  1. sleepyjane September 9, 2009 at 2:33 am #

    Aw! Sorry you’re sick! :(

    What I learned this weekend? Mmm. Oh yes. DON’T EVER DRINK AGAIN. EVER!

  2. jnyfritz September 9, 2009 at 6:24 am #

    i learned that getting married is a pretty fun thing to do oh and that maine is absolutely gorgeous!!

  3. mandy September 9, 2009 at 6:53 am #

    I learned over the weekend that my grandmother is almost tolerable as long as I have been drinking.

    I am glad that you had a fun weekend but am sorry to hear that you were sick.

  4. Lisa September 9, 2009 at 7:39 am #

    Ha – I am the same way when I go back to my college town. Every year, a group of us going up to a Hockey game in January and we all talk about how different everything is! I am sure we are super annoying to all the college kids around us! And they probably think we are super old.

    I had a fantastic Labor Day weekend at the cabin. I have been too lazy to upload the photos from my camera & do a proper post but maybe I will find some motivation tonight!

  5. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair September 9, 2009 at 9:30 am #

    Sounds like a great weekend!

    I learned that Scavenger hunts are fun :-)

  6. SoMi's Nilsa September 9, 2009 at 9:57 am #

    I’m not sure I learned anything this past weekend. But, I’m pretty sure I learned by reading this post that a weekend with you is going to be great regardless of whether we kick it up on the town or become hermits and never leave the house. =)

  7. Byron September 9, 2009 at 11:27 am #

    I’ve learned that going to bed earlier than eleven makes me feel freakishly old… and I love it.

  8. ria September 9, 2009 at 11:30 am #

    i learned that i’m a hardworker once i get going and stay focused :)

  9. Kyla Roma September 9, 2009 at 12:26 pm #

    That is a HECK of a sick that you’ve mustered up! I hope you’re feeling better, yikes!

    Reading Japanese books? I’m totally intrgued. And need details.

  10. anne September 9, 2009 at 6:45 pm #

    On our weekend getaway I learned (once again) it’s fantastic to be disconnected from Blackberries, laptops and TV.

    Why does it always take going away to remember it?

    Sorry you are not feeling well, sending healthy vibes your way.

    Miss you !

  11. Andhari September 9, 2009 at 8:07 pm #

    Ohh spending time in college town with your brother sounds great! I know what you mean about always want to splurge for more books :)

  12. Jessica September 9, 2009 at 8:38 pm #

    Wow you made it until midnight? Girl you are my hero. I would have called it in by 11. Me = sad.

  13. Rebekah September 10, 2009 at 7:36 am #

    But everything is NEW in my college town too! I’d be screechy if I went back there – you’re in good company. Kirksville, MO – how you have grown.

    I hope you’re feeling better… news on Maplewood to come :)

  14. Little Fish September 10, 2009 at 8:27 am #

    I learned that I love Newburyport, MA.

  15. Akirah September 10, 2009 at 2:55 pm #

    I’ve learned that sometimes I get really tired. And when that happens, I need to address the issue with lots of sleep.

Leave a Reply

