Road Rage

10 Sep

Before I gave up my apartment I lived a mere two miles from my office. Two miles. No highways required to get from Point A to Point B.

Since moving home: It’s about 25 miles door-to-door. Doesn’t seem super terrible does it? Ah, but MoDOT decided two years ago to close our main highway, the artery of StL as it runs East/West right down the middle of the City & County for extensive construction. It is still closed. Because of this the other innerbelts, highways and outer roads are jampacked everyday from 7am-9am with the exception of holidays.

When I sit in traffic because people are rubbernecking or staring into the sun rather than wearing sunglasses or just being stupid drivers in my mind I’m doing this:

(via)

or this:

(via)

I’m not really a road-rage kind of person but after I’ve been sitting in traffic all morning, no breakfast, still tired, and also ready to get to work and get it done, traffic + bad drivers + slow drivers = annoying. So I’ve been experimenting with routes.

Route #1: Involves three highways, lots of weird drivers, bottlenecking for no reason and can take anywhere from 45 minutes to 70 minutes. Downside: Waste of time, waste of gas, very bad for my sanity.

Route # 2: Little traffic. One side road, two highways. Total time about 25-30 minutes. Downside: I have to leave by 6:55 am and get to work by 7:20-7:30ish which is incredibly early for a night owl like me.

Route # 3: One Outer Road and one highway. Total travel time varies but getting to the outer road is kind of a pain in the butt not to mention more bottlenecking.

Route #2 is the forerunner, assuming I can get my rear-end out of bed early enough to get on the road. The benefits of living at home far outweigh the commute I have to endure. Until StL adapts better public transporation that involves StL County as much as the city, this will be me from time to time:

(via)

What about you? Any road rage stories? Commute gripes or loves?

9 Responses to “Road Rage”

  1. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair September 10, 2009 at 10:10 pm #

    I have to drive on the highway to get to work, too and it drives me CRAZY! People are such stupid drivers. I think my biggest pet peeve is when SLOW drivers are in the outside lane and not the right hand lane like they are SUPPOSED to be.

    There are also a lot of big semi trucks driving on the highway I take and they kind of freak me out. I’ve had them try to merge in front of me more than once while I was driving to work or home from work!

  2. CLo September 10, 2009 at 10:29 pm #

    I bike to class. :) Only thing I have to worry about is getting hit, which is unlikely. Columbia is a bike-friendly town.

    Bummer about the traffic/road rage. Maybe listen to classical music on the way to work?

  3. Andhari September 10, 2009 at 10:47 pm #

    I can’t stand traffic, jakarta people are so used to traffic. My mom said it took her almost more than 2 hours to arrive at her office. My school is actually 10 minutes car ride away but we have to pass this busy train tacks and it drove me crazy in the morning since traffic is full around the area, it takes me more than 20 minutes to get to school these days.

  4. Akirah September 11, 2009 at 6:30 am #

    I feel ya. I hate traffic. It’s mind-numbing. When I worked a temp job a month ago, I’d be stuck for an hour-hour and a half. Ugh! Thank God I have a new job. My hours are typically before and after rush hour. Also, it’s two doors down from Boyfriend’s house, so I can always just hang out there until traffic dies down…if I ever find myself leaving work during rush hour. I hope you find some relief soon! Traffic is not fun…ever.

  5. SoMi's Nilsa September 11, 2009 at 6:50 am #

    I’ve been commuting for 13 years … so, I feel your pain. What I don’t understand is where we, as a society, learned to drive (especially when you’re not passing anyone) in the middle or left lanes. No one seems to use the right lane, unless entering or exiting the highway. Around here, that means the people who want to drive fast use the right-most lane to do so. Talk about contributing to traffic … and accidents! If only people would be honest about their driving. If not passing, pull over to the right. And stay there. I think that would reduce a lot of anxiety and congestion we face!

  6. Lindsey September 11, 2009 at 7:42 am #

    When I first moved to Pittsburgh, I stayed with a friend’s family. My commute to work for those 3 months was 50 miles each way, right through the heart of the city to the other side. The morning drive would take anywhere from 1-3 hours if there were any accidents. The drive home was never less than 2. OH, and I had to put gas in my car EVERY OTHER DAY, while it was FOUR DOLLARS a gallon! I moved, and changed jobs. Now I work down in the city, and take the bus for 30 minutes each way. it’s a dream!!

  7. Kyla Roma September 11, 2009 at 8:01 am #

    This sounds so frustrating!! I’m lucky that my city is small enough that both Mister and I have really manageable commutes, mine’s a 10 min bus ride with one connection, and Mister’s is about 20 mins. But driving into big American cities Mister always gestures grandly and goes “Now imagine this freeway…as a parking lot” lol

    And I’m glad I only have to imagine it!! Can you at least listen to podcasts or something that would mellow the rage-iness? =)

  8. Lisa September 11, 2009 at 8:11 am #

    Totally guilty of road rage. There are alot of idiots out on the road. I get it especially bad when I am driving up to my parents cabin and I get behind a slow person in the passing lane. I feel like the older I get, the more road rage I experience. Now I will actually start yelling at them. I have no idea why – obviously it’s not going to help the situation but I guess it helps me relieve some of the stress I am feeling?

    Commutes suck. When I can sell my place & move, I’m definitely moving to a neighborhood where I’ll have a shorter commute!!!

  9. Erin September 12, 2009 at 7:41 pm #

    Right now my, fairly easy, commute is made infinitely more complicated by the fact that every single road between work and my house is under construction. I literally take 4-5 detours each day just to get to work, and I literally drive in circles. It makes me CRAZY!

Leave a Reply

