C’est La Vie

11 Sep

Following Tabitha’s lead it’s time for me to stop slacking and write a proper post. About Me (duh). Specifically, what’s new and what’s up with me:

* Happy! Happy! Joy! Joy! Two of my best friends brought me good news this week. One is moving in with her boyfriend this weekend which is a great next step for them. The other one called to say that she and her husband are taking a walk down Baby Lane. I literally did happy dances for both friends when I found out.

* I’m hooked on phonics. I have a book glued to my hand as much as possible. I’ve started taking one to work for the rare occasions I enjoy a “real” lunch hour, leave one stashed in my purse and have at least four ready-to-read books at Irish’s and a large pile at my parents.

* Follow your Feet. (Can anyone name what movie that line is from?) I haven’t posted a lot lately. The biggest reason is stress some of which is from work, some of which I bring upon myself. When I feel like that I don’t want to overshare or be a debbie downer, not to mention my creative juices are totally sucked out of me by the end of the day. Over the last few weeks I’ve been acutely aware of the fact that I can indeed control my stress and anxiety levels so I’m taking it one day at a time. I don’t make myself feel bad if a project takes longer than I thought or if something unexpected takes place. I make my daily to-do list in the morning, rather than the night before. The result: I’m sleeping better, planning less, thinking more positively and breathing easier. I’m just reminding myself to put one foot in front of the other and taking it one step/day at a time.

* Fall. It’s coming. Leaves are changing from green to yellow, orange and red. The mornings are crisp, car windows are fogged up and evenings call for sweatshirts and jeans. Jack is extra cuddly. Irish and I are making grand plans for the next few months (trip to Chicago, visit my best friend & her husband for a fall winery weekend, MU Homecoming and more). The social calendar is pleasantly filling up and I’ll be taking a look at my graduate school options too.

* Slim Gym. So my body, which is normally pretty cooperative, decided to get one whopper of a strep throat/sinus infection combo (which is 90% of the way gone now) and has killed my exercising efforts for the last two weeks. Starting next week I’m reorganizing my health & fitness goals. Irish and I are challenging each other, in the most friendliest of ways, to each give up one thing we know we enjoy a bit too much/too often. I’m going to the gym four days a week again and if I have time for more? Great. If not? I won’t make myself feel bad about it. I’m contemplating starting Bikram Yoga to help with the relaxation of the mind and body. I’m a bit behind on my 5k training as a result but I’m still going to give it a go in October especially because this particular 5k benefits the school one of my favorite kids that I used to watch. Above all, I’m going to remember to take it nice and slow. Change won’t happen over night, but attitudes can.

* Twenty Faux Birthday. My birthday is in less than three weeks.  I’ll be 26 on the 29th. I kind of want to hold onto to 25 because it’s been one hell of a year for me. I’m not really sure how I feel about this birthday; I have no big plans other than having a mini-party at my parents house with Wii games, beer and delicious dinner cooked by Darling. 26. Weird.

And no, I didn’t forget what today is. I just know that even eight years later I still can’t do what/how I felt (feel) justice in a post but suffice to say:

 

8 Responses to “C’est La Vie”

  1. Kyla Roma September 11, 2009 at 7:32 am #

    You and I should talk this weekend, I’m in totally the same boat as you, nerves/anxiety wise. Maybe we can practice yoga breathing together? =)

    And I’ve been reading at work lunches too- when you can find a sunbeam it’s especially perfect =)

  2. Lisa September 11, 2009 at 8:09 am #

    Thanks for bringing us up to speed with what you’ve been up to!

    I’m hooked on reading these days as well. I kind of was a slacker this summer on the reading front, but I am def making up for that this month!

    I’ve been stressed out lately, too. I wasn’t handling it so well at work. Then I gave my notice and pretty much don’t care what happens at work. Bad attitude, but everyone understands since I am a ‘short timer’. I’m definitely have the feeling of a ‘senior slide’ to the finish line. Next Friday can’t come fast enough!

  3. SoMi's Nilsa September 11, 2009 at 8:19 am #

    This summer was all about my cardio workouts. This winter, I plan to add in toning … and part of that will involve becoming more serious about yoga. In fact, next week, I plan on checking out a yoga studio that comes with lots of rave reviews…

  4. Margarita September 11, 2009 at 8:30 am #

    I can’t think of what movie that line’s from. It totally sounds familiar but I can’t think of it. It’s going to bug me all day.

    Anyway, I hope you don’t get too stressed out. Hopefully your workout challenges workout, and totally do Bikram Yoga, it’s so amazing, I love it.

    Have a good weekend!!

  5. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair September 11, 2009 at 8:48 am #

    I’ve been struggling with anxiety, too. It’s been hard to get back into a routine since my life has been so all over the place lately. But I also feel if I over plan – constantly make to-do lists, analyze my planner/schedule etc. I get even MORE stressed so I think the advice to follow your feet is GREAT advice!

    Yay for another September birthday! I celebrated my birthday at home with family by bbqing, playing wii and sipping on bellinis. It was totally perfect in so many ways!

  6. Erin September 12, 2009 at 7:39 pm #

    I always make sure to have a book with me…you never know when you might have time to read!

    Happy Almost Birthday! End of September is a busy birthday time….nine months after Christmas and all.

  7. Jessica September 13, 2009 at 8:20 pm #

    Wait, what? a trip to Chicago??? OMG yay!!!! I can’t wait!!!

  8. E.P. September 19, 2009 at 8:16 pm #

    Your birthday is six days after mine! Too funny!

Leave a Reply

