GIST 42/365

14 Sep

1. Nailing a work presentation on Friday night thus freeing me to ignore work all weekend.

2. A blessing in disguise when my Blackberry stopped receiving work emails meaning I could really ignore work all weekend.

3. Going to a bar to see my dad’s band play with my mom & Gram. Bonus: my mom got on stage and sang an Irish ballad with the band. Double Bonus: my dad introduced the “three generations of women,” that he’s proud to have support him & his music career.

4. Puppy shopping with Darling. She’s looking for a new dog to add to the family, preferably a Border Collie Mix. We didn’t find the right one this weekend, but we are on the right track. I may or may not have fallen head over heels in love with a Terrier Mix puppy but wound up not adopting him because he was spoken for come Sunday morning. (I really wanted him but trying to be a responsible adult wanted to discuss it over with Irish who was at an all-day bachelor party.)

5. Enjoying the huge Art Fair StL puts on each September. Four or five streets are filled with Art vendors, music (live & DJ), food and of course, amazing people watching. Best person watching: Adult male, mid 50s, long white curly hair, non-descript hat. Ladies short shorts and black high heels with a white tank top. The reason I noticed him? He has better legs than me and walks in heels better than most girls I know.

6. Finding a birthday present for Irish and a unique wedding present for our friends who are tying the k not in less than a month. Irish is nearly impossible to buy for so I always go out on a limb with some of the presents I get him; I think he’ll like this one.

7. Taking an afternoon nap with Jack while listening to Felicity (almost done with the show!) in the background followed by a brisk 2-mile walk.

8. An hour long chat with Kyla. Eye-opening, inspiring, heart-warming and lovely. (Those words describe both Kyla & our phone call.)

9. The quiet of my parents’ house which I find rejuvenating.

10. Seeing Irish after being apart for five days.

What’s your Grace in Small Thing from this past weekend?

15 Responses to “GIST 42/365”

  1. Lisa September 14, 2009 at 10:50 am #

    I can’t wait to find out what you bought for Irish. Picking out gifts can be so hard sometimes, but it’s such a good feeling when you come up with something that you know they will love!

    I think my GiST for this weekend was running a 5k in memory of my Grandma. I do it each year and it’s a nice way to honor her!

  2. SoMi's Nilsa September 14, 2009 at 11:33 am #

    Sounds like a really wonderful weekend! My GIST: finding out it’s going to cost a fraction of what I thought it would to paint some rooms in our condo; spending time with my niece and her mammas; surprising Sweets with tickets to U2. Awesome weekend for both of us!

  3. Habbala September 14, 2009 at 11:57 am #

    Aww, what a great weekend. My GIST: Glorious friends, and long drive down country roads after seeing a HORRIBLE community theater production of high school musical 2; where instead of Zac Efron we got an overweight Asian man. :)

  4. Kyla Roma September 14, 2009 at 1:57 pm #

    Aw thank you for the mention, you made my weekend- and I went back and looked at the pictures from that very difficult session and they looked a *lot* better than I had thought, and the funny thing was that the only thing that had changed between my first look at them and my second look was talking to you =)

  5. nicoleantoinette September 14, 2009 at 2:07 pm #

    Kyla is so lovely, I totally agree. But I mean, so are you lady!!

  6. Margarita September 14, 2009 at 4:11 pm #

    Aww, what a great weekend! I think getting drunk with J on Sunday and staggering through Toronto after eating crabcakes and caesar salad…. Oh, and finding out definite plans to move to Vancouver!

  7. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair September 14, 2009 at 4:37 pm #

    Definitely the not receiving work emails thing. That happened to me when I was on holidays in FSJ and it really was a blessing in surprise – zero stress for those six days :-)

    Glad you had such a fabulous weekend! SO cool you went out with your mom and gram AND that your dad is in a band!!

  8. Erin September 14, 2009 at 6:03 pm #

    Sounds like you had a lovely weekend! I love watching TV while snuggling with the pups.

  9. Little Fish September 14, 2009 at 6:22 pm #

    Puppy shoppping!! I’m so jealous!

  10. Jessica September 14, 2009 at 8:05 pm #

    Way to go nailing that presentation. You totally deserved that free weekend!!!

  11. mandy September 14, 2009 at 9:38 pm #

    I love that your dad is in a band and gave you all a shout out AND that your mom sang with them. Sometimes talking to a friend is exactly what you need at that moment. (Let’s talk soon!). My grace in small things — having a quiet house and a glass of wine while snuggling with my dog.

  12. Amanda September 14, 2009 at 11:18 pm #

    I love Felicity :) I have all the seasons. Her angst makes me feel better about myself, because I’ve never quite worked myself up to Keri Russell worthy levels of young 20something woman freak out.
    My GiST? My car may have broken down but my friends have stepped up to give me rides and gathered class notes/handouts for the classes I missed when I had to take it in. Makes me feel very blessed and appreciative of how great they are…

  13. andhari September 15, 2009 at 2:25 pm #

    Congratulations for acing a work’s presentation :) And puppy shopping sounds great, I always want one :) Your parents are super cool, btw.

  14. ria September 16, 2009 at 8:38 am #

    congrats on your work presentation! that art show sounds amazing. it makes me want to look and see if there is one in michigan any time soon :)

  15. E.P. September 19, 2009 at 8:13 pm #

    Aww, this makes me so happy for you. These all sound wonderful, especially the getting to ignore work that weekend. That’s one of the best things. And finding the perfect present? Also wonderful!

    I hope you’re having an amazing weekend, love!

Leave a Reply

