-aholic

15 Sep

I’m a…

….bookaholic. Shopaholic. Cheeseholic. Sleepaholic. Pictureholic. Animalaholic. VictoriaSecretaholic. Struggling to be a runningaholic.

Normally these “addictions,” don’t cause me a lot of problems since I’m pretty good at keeping them in check. (Unless there are amazing sales, coupons for Barnes & Noble in my email, my favorite cheese in the fridge, or a rainy day.)

Well, that was until this past weekend when I was browsing dogs from various rescue shelters online with Darling since they are ready to begin the search for a new addition to our family. There were big dogs, little dogs, puppies, middle-age, old-age, short, fat, tall, skinny dogs. All for ADOPTION!

Some were for free (oh, how I want to go rescue that 12 year old dog who has limited time left, just so she can be loved for the remainder of her days. Oh, the heartbreak), others were on special since they are black and have a stupid societal stigma associated with them, and others yet were close to $200 to take home.

Darling and I diligently got up early on Saturday morning to visit a PetSmart adoption event to view some of the dogs we’d been keeping tabs on.  And I fell in fast, insane, puppy love.

I made the mistake of holidng a three month-old terrier mix pup who was white, with black spots on his back, floppy ears, blue eyes and a brown/black face. He licked me. He put his head in my hand. He followed me to the other side of his cage after I put him down.

I fumbled for my phone to get Irish’s opinion of the pup but forgot he was at a bachelor party and couldn’t talk so I had to deal with sporadic texting and realized I can’t make a decision like this without his input. I walked away, mopey, but told myself that if he was there on Sunday morning, he was meant to be mine. (He wasn’t. A family with kids adopted him, or so they tell me.)  Unfortunately the puppy bug has been planted firmly in my brain and despite the obvious obstacles and challenges to being a Dog Momma again, I can’t quite turn off the thoughts of adopting another one soon.

For the time being Darling and I are turning our backs on our animalaholic tendencies and instead attending the volunteer orientation that will hopefully allow us to be Ranch Hands, once a month, at a nearby animal rescue farm where there are thankfully no dogs. We’ll be surrounded by horses, donkeys, pigs, goats, geese, ducks, chickens, roosters and any other possible farm animal that needs to be rescued. We’ll be cleaning stalls, feeding and watering animals and leaving covered in mud, poop and straw I’m sure. We could have opted for a position at the various dog and cat shelters in the area but we would surely wind up with more dogs than we could handle, so farm animals it is! I’m excited to see and work with goats & pigs; Darling loves horses and donkeys. I have no idea what this adventure will hold for us, but I’m excited to support an organization I believe in.

Oh, and it helps that we receive some perks like discounted adoptions which we had no idea where were eligible for.

Confession time: What’s your biggest addiction and what sets it off?

29 Responses to “-aholic”

  1. trishothinks September 15, 2009 at 10:42 am #

    I’m a chocoholic….chocolate….is my “Achilles heel”

  2. Kyla Roma September 15, 2009 at 10:46 am #

    Oh, as much as I know that puppy fever I’m glad you and Irish are waiting- having a puppy where you’re not living there & if his hours can be odd would be extremely difficult- a dog would be maneagable, but puppies are holy terrors. Maybe one would be a good housewarming present to you and Irish when you move in together? =)

    Or maybe I’ll just send you my puppies for a week to see how they work with your routine? ;)

  3. Doniree September 15, 2009 at 10:56 am #

    Cheese. Definitely cheese. And lately I’m in love with the Crystal Light packets you shake up in your water bottles, particularly the peach mango green tea flavor.

  4. Liz September 15, 2009 at 11:04 am #

    Oh great. Now you’ll be coming home with a pet pig, I just know it. :)

  5. Little Fish September 15, 2009 at 11:25 am #

    1. I want to be a ranch hand there too.

    2. Oh I want a puppy so badly too- I get it, but you and I will both have our puppies one day.

    3. Nora, my fellow cheeseaholic, if you lived in NYC I’d make you come over for a wine cheese and allergy-friendly cracker/snack party!

  6. SoMi's Nilsa September 15, 2009 at 11:32 am #

    Now that we’ve gone through the process of adopting a rescue dog, I’ve got to admit that I don’t think I’ll ever buy a dog from a breeder. There are so many amazing dogs just aching to be adopted. What kills me are the dogs who were given up by someone else. Or hurt/abused by someone else. Those dogs will always have my heart. It’s probably why I had to walk out of a shelter years ago when I wasn’t yet ready to adopt (I was there with a friend who was) and why I can’t yet bring myself to volunteer at one of the local shelters. I’d want to bring all of them home.

  7. SoMi's Nilsa September 15, 2009 at 11:34 am #

    Doniree – I love those Crystal Light packets. Though, I add them to a much bigger water bottle than recommended … and they’re still sometimes too strong. You should also look into the Ocean Spray ones. Cran-Lemonade just might be my new favorite!

  8. Habbala September 15, 2009 at 11:48 am #

    I’m a people-aholic. Does that count? I have a really hard time saying no to anything social– even if I’m sick and exhausted, or shouldn’t be spending the money. I just can’t NOT get together with people.

  9. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair September 15, 2009 at 12:16 pm #

    Aww, that sucks the pup was gone when you went back!

    SO cool you are volunteering at a farm. I grew up on a farm so I can tell you it probably won’t be glamourous but I’m sure you’ll have SO MUCH FUN! I LOVE horses too! Are you allowed to ride the horses there?? If so, definitely go horseback riding!! Can’t wait to hear the recap of your first day!

  10. Kathleen September 15, 2009 at 12:40 pm #

    I’ve always wanted to volunteer for an animal rescue shelter. Once I get a little more time on my hands I hope to do so!

  11. Lisa September 15, 2009 at 1:14 pm #

    What a cool volunteer opportunity! I am sure you are going to love it. Being around animals really refreshes a person’s soul. You can’t help but feel a little more relaxed when you are around them!

    Let’s see, I have lots of addictions, but the worst has got to be books. It can be spurred by anything. Reading a great review. Checking out best seller lists. Having an off day at work. Treating myself when I have accomplished something. Anything and everything can set me off on a book-buying binge!

  12. nicoleantoinette September 15, 2009 at 4:37 pm #

    Probably travel. And iced tea. Traveling while drinking iced tea = perfect.

  13. katelin September 15, 2009 at 4:41 pm #

    we share so many aholic tendencies, haha. say reading, cheese, victoria’s secret? yeah all of them. i’m a sucker. but i’ve been doing better at the cheese thing for sure. woo.

  14. Jessica September 15, 2009 at 7:12 pm #

    OH man. I’m definitely a shopaholic and TVaholic. The shopping part gets aggravated by stress and my stepmom. Plain and simple.

  15. Carina the Blogarina September 15, 2009 at 8:05 pm #

    Oh lord! I’m probably addicted to all the things you mentioned! Add pepsi light-aholic, forever-21-aholic, anything mad with potatos-aholic, blogg-aholic: You got me!

  16. mandy September 15, 2009 at 8:12 pm #

    My dog was a rescue dog too! The idea of getting a dog from a breeder isn’t something I’m interested in. I couldnt volunteer with dogs wither because I would want them all too.

  17. mandy September 15, 2009 at 8:15 pm #

    Your volunteer organization sounds like a really fun one! Its so cool that its all sorts of farm animals, so many people focus on dogs or cats and often forget about others that are abused/neglected.

    I am a bookaholic and a sleepaholic too.

  18. sleepyjane September 16, 2009 at 3:05 am #

    The thought of adopting another dog is always in the back of my mind. Ugh.

    Oh, reading a blog about a book triggers my need to buy books. Lots and lots of books. :)

  19. ria September 16, 2009 at 8:37 am #

    there are too many doggies that need homes, but it’s awesome your mom is going to adopt :) we saw rescued pugs in a park this weekend and i wanted to go look, but since we have 3 i’d say it’s a pretty full house!

  20. Margarita September 16, 2009 at 8:43 am #

    Man, I get puppy fever like crazy. Seriously, and even J was reconsidering getting a puppy, but the rental property in Vancouver allows NO PETS. And no exceptions (I even threw in a sob story about my toddler and her puppy to no avail!).

    Anyway, perhaps working with those animals will feed your fix!

  21. Rebekah September 16, 2009 at 2:10 pm #

    My addiction is sloth. Or is that one of the seven deadly sins? Whatever it is, I always give in to it when left to my own devices.

  22. AuburnKat September 16, 2009 at 6:57 pm #

    My biggest addiction….my iphone! Seriously, I’m addicted to the games on it!!!

  23. oh September 16, 2009 at 7:03 pm #

    loved this post (learned a few things about your “aholism”) which made me laugh. And geez, you have such great blog-commenting friends (above.) i gotta say i enjoyed reading their comments as much as this post – and you know you come by the bookaholism honestly, right?

  24. Cate O'Malley September 16, 2009 at 7:46 pm #

    Adoption Days at the pet store are totally dangerous for me too – I stay far, far away.

  25. Megan/SomewhatVoluble September 17, 2009 at 8:29 am #

    I have this huge addiction to shopping for baby things. Since I have no babies of my own (nor do I plan to for a while), I have to wait until someone around me becomes pregnant … and then I can’t stop buying! It’s a little ridiculous.

  26. LiLu September 17, 2009 at 2:36 pm #

    I SO hear you on the VictoriaSecretaholic. I had to chop up my card!

  27. Erin September 18, 2009 at 5:04 pm #

    I would bring home all the dogs in the world if I could. It’s a real problem!

    Otherwise, I’m definitely a bookaholic, cheeseaholic, and TVaholic!

  28. E.P. September 19, 2009 at 8:08 pm #

    Aww. I would love to bring home lots and lots of puppies and love on them so much. It makes me sad that puppy love didn’t work out, but there will be another puppy who needs you more sometime in the future. And I think it’s great you and Darling are going to volunteer at a local rescue organization! That’s awesome!

    I’m a baking-aholic. And a sweet-aholic. And a bookaholic. And a lot of other -aholics.

  29. Little Miss Obsessive September 20, 2009 at 10:20 pm #

    I’m a choc-aholic, cheese-aholic, tv-aholic, puppy-aholic

    The boyfriend and I were bored on Saturday and decided to stop in a puppy store and I completely fell in love with one of them :(. She was the sweetest thing ever but I can’t buy one until I move out! I think when I do, I would definitely like to adopt one though.

Leave a Reply

